We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby and overpriced”
Review of The Meldrum Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meldrum Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Oldmeldrum B&B and Inns
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Shabby and overpriced”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The beds were clean and comfortable.
The floors of our rooms were unvacuumed, the lino in the bathrooms peeling and turning up, the shower fittings cracked and a towel rail broken. The walls were so thin our neighbours voices were clearly audible. The whole place is very shabby with old and ill-fitting floor coverings and chipped furnishings.
Had we had time to go and find somewhere else for the night, we would have, simply not what you should expect for the price.
Breakfast was basic and adequate but not appealing; the coughing coming from the kitchen put us off.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verity6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    2
    5
    5
    27
See reviews for
3
6
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We cant say that it was bad, but for the same price, the B&Bs we stayed at where much better value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandraMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

The staff here are friendly and helpful and everywhere is nice and clean. The facilities in the room are adequate but I was disappointed with the size. I felt I was really let down with the food. I ate with them on the first night when I arrived and vowed not to again. I had to endure breakfast each day though which, despite trying a different option for each of my three days, was poor each time.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I stayed at this hotel over New Year to attend a ceilidh nearby. The rooms were exactly as they looked on the hotel website & tea, coffee, aero hot chocolate & toiletries were all provided in the room - which was fab.

The beds were very comfortable, the meatballs and rice are fantastic (a must if you're eating there). The bar staff were lovely and the management looked after our every need!

I'd definitely recommend this to anyone heading up to Old Meldrum!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and management
  • Disliked — N/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburgh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

Myself and 3 friends stayed in the Meldrum Arms over the Hogmanay celebrations and completely disagree with the other reveiws. The accommodation was basic, but it was clean and comfortable and the food is top notch. However, what really made it for me was the kindness and friendliness of the staff and management, nothing was ever too much trouble and Craig and Bruce were the perfect hosts! This hotel may not be for everyone, but I would challenge anyone with a good sense of humour and some life about them not to enjoy their stay here - a great start to 2009, thank you and we will be back soon.

  • Liked — Friendly, homely and a good laugh
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank returning_karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2006

Very shabby, not flexible, and the manager was rude! Overall a terrible experience. We found far better places to stay in Old Meldrum.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — We refused to stay the night = thats how bad it was = but he still cashed our deposit !!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try anywhere else
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank rmdp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnletters, General Manager at The Meldrum Arms, responded to this review, October 11, 2006
The ladies responsible for this revue booked 3 twin rooms with us. only three guests arrived at the hotel looked at the rooms available and decided not to stay with us. I believe that because their partners did not travel with them they did not intend staying at a hotel and were primarily concerned with not paying for the rooms booked. We do not ask for deposits on booking. However we do reserve the right to charge for rooms cancelled within 48 hours of arrival. In this case only half the correct charge was taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oldmeldrum hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
4.3 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
141 reviews
5.8 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
620 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
605 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meldrum Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meldrum Arms

Property: The Meldrum Arms
Address: South Road, Oldmeldrum AB51 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oldmeldrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meldrum Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small but comfortable country inn nearby the Glen Garioch Distillery in the town of Old Meldrum. Set amidst beautiful countryside. An ideal base for exploring the Aberdeenshire countryside. Shooters, fishers and golfers are made most welcome by the friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Meldrum Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Meldrum Arms Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing