We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reasonably priced eatery”

Lochter Activity Centre
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Oldmeldrum
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: this is the restaurant inside an activity centre, but it is used by the public as a whole not just the patrons of the activity centre. It offers standard cafe food with some scottish dishes
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

Eaten here several times and found the food well priced, good sized portions, salad, coleslaw and couscous served with some meals. Nice little extras. Specials board an added bonus. Staff pleasant and service swift. Will be on my regular list for lunch when in the area.

Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochter, Manager at Lochter Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2018

Thank you Michelle, we do try to mix up our specials board quite a bit and glad this has been noticed :)

The Lochter Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 99 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2018

Lochter is a great place for lunch. Don’t be put off if the car park looks full as it’s often just people driving there to do activities, so not all the cars are for the restaurant area.

There’s a good variety of food - from filled baked tatties to sandwiches and proper meals like scampi and mince & tatties. Always has a ‘specials’ board too.

Your experience of service will depend on who’s working.

You always get a nice welcome and great service from the more mature staff. However, some of the younger ones could do with a wee bit of advice and extra training as they can be slow when it comes to dealing with folk waiting to be seated and in taking orders. Need to learn to prioritise but we were all young once and they’re normally always very pleasant anyway.

All in all, Lochter’s a really good lunch venue (or even for coffee and a cake) and can be found just outside Oldmeldrum on the Colpy road.

1  Thank globetrotting168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017

We visited yesterday 14/10/17 at 11.25 was told it was too late for breakfast and too early for lunch. Two people came after us and got bacon rolls. Won't be having a return visit.

1  Thank 430bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

So for my dads birthday we opted for the half day package for £80pp and were told this would be a 3.5 hrs package with each activity approx 45 mins each which seemed a reasonable deal.

Good bits
Great site with good facilities - large facility which is not cramped together and a very exciting race track for this type of affair (long and pretty fast sections mixed with some more technical sections in middle). Karting was good fun and the guys not too strict so can have a bit of fun which was great.
Amy was very friends and helpful and great on archery section & karts as was the other guy at the karts.
Restaurant also nice with good food.

Bad bits
Some of the activities were very poor value. For example on the Segway course we both got 2 practice laps then 1 timed lap. Each lap was less than 1 min so you can quickly see that this was a very short exercise ie less than 10min inc instruction!! The clay shooting was also very quick. We had 2 rounds of 8 shots and that was it - guy was speaking about other shooting angles so expected another round then he just said your done so head backs o clubhouse! Couldn't believe it as no one else was shooting!! Archery lasted around 25 mins so lasted a little more time (that was enough) and karting was ok (ie about 30mins all in inc change overs)
All in all we were finished 45 mins before our time was up and we had a 40 minute break between Segway and karts so realistically we were max 1.5 -2 hrs doing activities inc walking time between.

In comparison to Deeside (done stag dues) I feel this doesn't represent as good value as this certainly lasted a lot longer per activity and did not have the feeling we were being rushed from one activity to next like Lochter.

What was most disappointing for me was they even admitted it was quiet! So no idea why we couldn't get longer on likes of clays and segways! It was also not an option to have a double session on karts for example (unlike deeside who allowed us to do this) despite paying for 4 activities and it being quiet so felt we were forced to do an activity like Segway which we didn't really want to do (which lasted 10mins!)

So has a lot of potential but for me customer service needs improving and more time on the activities which is what the day is all about!

2  Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

The setting is lovely and although the main theme is the activity centre they are open for lunches and" fly cups". Their home baking is excellent and their scones are first class. Their lunch menu is limited but the food is always excellent. They also cater for events and they cater for large numbers very well. Again the food is always piping hot and lovely and the staff are efficient and friendly.

Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochter, Manager at Lochter Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017

Hi Hazel,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review on here, hope to see you at Lochter again soon.
The Lochter Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lochter Activity Centre also viewed

Inverurie, Aberdeenshire
 
Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire
Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire
 
Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire
Oldmeldrum, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Lochter Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing