We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible little manager”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 2 Oldmeldrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My overall stay at Meldrum I have yo say was great but at night at the wedding we were at we came across a young small gentlemen who was working behind the bar but I think he was a manager as he got into all the things that we're going on, he was so rude when asked for our drinks as someone else had been arguing with him and he wouldn't let it go and as he served us he kept looking at this other woman calling her names to the other staff who were also not impressed with him and ignored him. So when I said you should not call people names in front of other guests I was shocked when he said "it's nothing to do with you you should mind your own business and worry about getting your makeup right. I was so upset I left the wedding And vowed never to go back. A guy like that will bring a very nice hotel to its knees, I only hope something is done

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely wherever you are. You can hear the music in the function suit .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Gemma

I appreciate that Trip Advisor is an open forum, for sharing positive as well as negative comments/feedback and would of appreciated the chance to talk to you about this before seeing it on the internet however, I can honestly say that i am genuinely upset having read your review.

I can only apologise, personally, and whole heartedly for the way you were spoken to, and that it made you feel so bad you had to leave the wedding. Please be assured that i will personally investigate this matter, and deal with it in the necessary manner.

Hopefully, you will return to us someday, so that we can try and rebuild your confidence in us. Once again, i am dreadfully sorry for this ever happening, as we spend so much of our time being customer focussed, and instilling the "customer is king" culture into the team.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 506 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I are delighted we chose to hold our wedding ceremony and reception at Meldrum House hotel last year. The service, surroundings, food and experience were all first class and we couldn't be happier with our day there.

Lucy was great helping us in advance of our day and ensuring things were well organised. Our master of ceremonies on the day, Mhairi, was fantastic, she was on hand all day to help in any way possible and really couldn't do enough to help us, a real credit to Meldrum! The care and attention shown to our elederly guests was really appreciated and the use of the golf carts etc to move people across the courtyard was superb, as was the assistance you gave to guests who stayed in the local area after our reception had ended.

Our meal was excellent and we had alot of comments from guests on how much they enjoyed it aswell.

A huge thank you and well done from us, another happy couple married at Meldrum house.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review here on Trip Advisor.

Am delighted that my Team here, looked after you so well, and that the run-in/organising and on the day went so well.

Thank you for taking the time to mention the girls individually, although its a team effort, this will give them a huge boost also.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and thank you for choosing Meldrum for such a significant family event.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Appears to date from 1625 and has some vaulted rooms.With many later alterations.
Contains some fine fireplaces and a 1930's main stair.
Fine pair of 17th century two-story towers, east of the house which were originally accessed by wooden bridges to the first floor.
Very smart staff and a comfortable group lunch was had.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your brief thoughts here on Trip Advisor.

Its a shame that you're group was on such a tight time schedule, and that you didnt get a chance to explore our property properly.

You are more than welcome to come back and have a wander round at your leisure if you are close by again in the future.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We ate both nights in the restaurant and couldn't fault any aspect of the food. Service was excellent with staff going above and end beyond to ensure our stay was memorable.
The room was of a very high standard with bottled water and fresh milk in the fridge for our tea or coffee,such a nice touch.
Staff ever where in the hotel was friendly, attentive and happy to chat or give information.
Golf course and club were great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts here on Trip Advisor - its very much appreciated.

Am glad that you had such an enjoyable experience and that you had time to experience our golf offering - we have been exceptionally lucky with having a great summer last year, no snow over the winter, and a pleasant spring, so we are all looking forward to the season ahead - perhaps you'll manage to come back again soon.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing stay one year after getting married here.
Such a lovely warm welcome from Peter and the team and Mhairi that ran our day, it was lovely to be recognised when we went back. The service really is outstanding!
Beautiful meal in the restaurant, the food was so delicious and amazing night in the Lairds Suite (which we stayed in on the night of our wedding).
Fab memories and look forward to coming back - hopefully for our next anniversary!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us - much appreciated.

Doesnt time fly, cant believe it's a year already!!! Incredible.

Am glad that meldrum continues to hold fond memories for you - and we look forward to welcoming you for many years to come.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Luxury, great service, 10/10

sirloin of Aberdeenshire beef - out of this world,

fantastic wine list; all across the board with styles and price points

Golf course - challenging, immaculately maintained.

Golf groups - go for the lodge!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lindum20C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts here on Trip Advisor - its much appreciated.

We try our best to look after our guests to the best of our abilities, and its nice to read positive comments on such an open forum like this.

Hopefully, you'll make it back for some more golf later in the season.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here a night for a wedding. Wedding meal was lovely. The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated, very clean and well equipped ( plenty toiletries, safe ,iron ,bathrobes,slippers,fridge, kettle with coffees and teas,bottled water , small decanter of complimentary whisky,fudge) Bed was firm and very comfy and pillows were decent. The breakfast was a buffet of cereals,fruits ,juices pastries etc and a selection of hot breakfasts were available to order from the kitchen- full breakfast was very tasty.
The wedding was held in the chapel in the steading building and the reception was in a marquee attached to the hotel building- I expected it to be cold but to the contrary it was lovely and cosy! Drinks prices were extortionate - but we expected that. The hotel is set in lovely grounds close to the golf course, and is a lovely setting for wedding photographs.
Staff are professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Hi

Many thanks for taking the time to publish your thoughts/feedback from your recent experience of Meldrum.

Am delighted that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay - its nice to know that what we are doing is right, and adds to an experience.

I appreciate your positive comments on our wedding offering/marquee as well - its such an important part of what we do, and nice that its also recognised.

Personally, i dont feel that our drinks prices are extortionate when compared to other hotels in our market place, we are actually very competitive, but take your thoughts on board all the same.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
6.9 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
643 reviews
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
624 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
150 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
23.6 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oldmeldrum
Price Range: $121 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst beautiful countryside, the 4 star Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course offers unrivaled quality. Only a few miles from Aberdeen, this is one of the finest luxury hotels Scotland has to offer. For a weekend break, Scottish wedding reception, conference or luxury golf vacation, you can enjoy great Scottish hospitality, fine dining and the tranquility of the magnificent Meldrum Estate. If golf is your passion, we offer a range of golf vacation packages and golf breaks at our spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing