We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with friend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were lucky to be invited by a friend for lunch at Meldrum House. We had had an excellent lunch a few months before which would have been hard to better. Our friend and myself had been looking forward to braised beef with fois gras, mushroom ravioli, and truffle infused potato cake for a couple of days but I found it disappointing. I found the beef very dry and the fois gras tasteless. My husband had steak and was happy with that. The cheescake was delicious and my friend thoroughly enjoyed the crumble,sorbet and dumpling.
The staff were attentive,friendly and helpfull. All in all a nice meal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank anned D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hi

Many thanks for your response on Trip Advisor - its much appreciated.

Im glad that you chose to return to us for lunch, and can only apologise for your disappointment with the beef dish.

I have spoken to Walter and the team in the kitchen, and are working on ways to improve the beef dish.

Hopefully I'll get the chance to welcome you back soon.

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 538 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

staying here to avoid the city centre traffic heading to dyce - drove up driveway and thought "wow" - wonder why I have never heard of this hotel before - the room is lovely - very tastefully decorated and beautiful location - wish i had brought my golf clubs - only thing I would say is that it is not very clear upon arrival where reception is located

Room Tip: if you have heavy cases get a room downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valeriemac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi

Many thanks for your kind words here on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us, and am glad you were pleasantly surprised.

I take on board your comments about signage for reception, and will discuss with the team to see if any improvements can be made.

I hope to welcome you back again in the near future, and dont worry about forgetting your golf clubs, we have sets for hire if you want to play a round, or even hit balls in the driving range.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a great experience at Meldrum house hotel on Saturday for Champagne Afternoon tea, Sandwiches and cakes were lovely. Staff were very attentive and even gave us our left over cakes away.. great value for money in a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhairi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, General Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hi

Thanks very much for your kind words in relation to your afternoon tea.

This is an aspect of our business that we have worked on quite hard to perfect, and its great for my team and I to hear such positive feedback.

Fingers crossed we'll get the chance to welcome you back to Meldrum House in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

a well run and friendly hotel with excellent service. rooms vary in size and shape but comfortable. say in the main house, not the lodge if you can. nice bar and the restaurant serve healthy dinner and breakfast. ca 40 mins out of aberdeen in the rush hour.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi

Thanks for your kind words and comments following your recent stay with us - its much appreciated.

All too often guests like to post negative comments on social network sites, and it gives the whole team a boost when publicly praised.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic meal for two, three courses, all were superb, great service!
Enjoyed sitting beside the open fire in one of the reading rooms before and after the meal, could not fault anything!!
Beware this is quite pricey, but worth the treat!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi

Many thanks for your kinds words following your recent dining experience with us.

Glad you enjoyed, and look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Wow! what a lovely hotel. Our room overlooked the golf course and came compelte with it's own turret. Beautiful four poster bed and elegant furniture. Massive bathroom complete with roll top bath. Complimentary local Whisky which went down well!
Food suberb and good choice of wine. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. Will definately be staying there again and will try to make an excuse to be in the area!

Room Tip: rooms in the main building are full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We picked this lovely hotel as our wedding venue back in 2010. We loved it as soon as we walked in and the staff were very friendly. They stayed in contact with us the whole time we were planning. On the wedding day 10/11/12 the staff were fantastic, everything ran smoothly and they could not be faulted at all. I give this hotel 10/10 for everything. the rooms are very clean and tidy. All our guests were amazed when the walked in and the pictures we have of the day are amazing. A++++ hotel. Thanks Guys. xx

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hi

Thanks very much for your kind "public" words.

The Team here at Meldrum we're delighted to have played a part in such a significant family occassion, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
648 reviews
6.9 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
687 reviews
17.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
5.4 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
155 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#24 of 65 in Aberdeen
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Price Range: $120 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MELDRUM HOUSE IS QUITE SIMPLY UNIQUE... A stay at our award-winning hotel is the perfect combination of luxurious accommodation and inspired, relaxed fine dining. Steeped in history, the original manor house dates back 800-years. Each bedroom is unique and individually designed with stunning Scottish interiors. Go on a food and drink journey. Starting in our Cave Bar you’ll find over 120 whiskies including some rare malts before heading to our Dining Room where menus reflect the finest, freshest seasonal ingredients available locally. Only 30 minutes from Aberdeen, we also have an award-winning golf course open to hotel residents with a range of packages. Stay in one of the finest luxury hotels Scotland has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing