We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocooning and a great scottish feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 2 Oldmeldrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yvelines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cocooning and a great scottish feeling”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

It's just perfect, except for a missing fitness room, especially during the Scottish winter, that doesn't allow to go for a run when the day is spent in a meeting room...
The rooms are beautiful and perfect for the frame and everything needed at hand, the service is great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    91
    17
    12
    13
See reviews for
107
182
7
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a one night stay at Meldrum House and really enjoyed the experience. We were allocated a room at the far end of the stable block which was comfortable and well appointed. We had lunch with members of our family and found the experience satisfactory albeit the service was on the slow side.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRMacKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent two days here, organising a small work conference.
It's a great venue, with an atmospheric approach through the gates, up a long tree-lined drive which breaks into a glorious view of the house across a pond.
The facilities in the converted stable block exactly what we needed (14 people) with projector, refreshments, and little touches like the underfloor heating.
All stayed in the rooms above the stable block, which are quirky, luxurious, modern and homely, all at the same time. Fantastic bathrooms, and really comfortable beds.
Evening meal was served in a private room and was also exactly what we were looking for, they have a great chef providing baeutifully presented Scottish cuisine.
What lets this fantastic venus down was the service. Not one of the events organisers appeared, despite me going to look for them, the table service at meals was as if every waitress was on their first night. We were asked to meet for a pre-dinner drink in the loungs and then no one looked near us to take a drinks order. We had to serve ourselves at dinner at times, and I'm still waiting for my coffee from breakfast.
It's a shame because this really let them down in my view. They were maybe having an off month (November, between weddings and Christmas) but it was disappointing. If we ever went back, I'd make sure I took over a lot more of the organising that I would expect from such an impressive-looking hotel.

Room Tip: Stable block rooms are away from the house, but super-luxurious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us.

Personally, its disappointing for me to receive such feedback, however, I am also grateful, as all to often in our industry guests depart us without providing such feedback, and as hoteliers we can only improve our offering when we are advised things arent right.

There has been a tremendous amount of effort and investment in Meldrum of late, and i do hope that i get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and you have my personal assurance that you will be looked after as you had/should of expected.

Please feel free to contact me directly regarding any future bookings.

Kind regards

Peter Walker
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Special birthdate meal organised by the Hotel for 12.12.12. Fantastic, the table was just perfect, the food was excellent and the staff were most attentive. One of the best evenings in the northeast for ages. Thanks to the organisers at the Hotel..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Spent two nights here as part of a wedding party. The first night in the self-contained Chain Lodge which housed three families splendidly. It is a self-catering option but the crockery and cutlery were a bit of a mish-mash of odds and sods and the instructions for the cooker were for a previous model. Nevertheless, it was very comfortable and the lounge was more than enough for all the people there. The second night was in the main hotel and the room was superb. It was one of the largest and best appointed that we have seen. The food was good, if not inspired, but the service was first class.

Room Tip: If you are intending to stay here then check if there is a wedding on as the noise from the marquee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Walker, Manager at Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Hi

Many thanks for your constructive feedback following your first nights stay in the Chain Lodge.

On the back of your comments, my Housekeeper has conducted a review of the crockery/cutlery stock and a purchase plan has been implemented to bring this back to an appropriate standard.

I would like to thank you for your thoughts, as too often in our industry, guests depart with negative opinions, and as a hotelier, i can only strive to improve our offering by taking contructive comments like yours on board.

Hopefully I will get the chance to welcome you back to Meldrum soon.

Peter Walker
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed only 1 night in the room located in the stable block and I can only say that it was the best room I have ever had in UK. Very comfortable bed, very nice room and with a modern and superb bathroom.
Service was excellent, as well as the dinner. On the other hand, the breakfast was rather standard.
All in one, an excellent exclusive hotel

Room Tip: If you can, go for the stable room (the 400s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corbuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Could not be faulted...not cheap, but I would have paid anything for this experience. The food was out of this world, and the service brilliant....

Can't wait to go back, and planning it already...

Please note that this review is for the restaurant only. We live locally, so only used the restaurant...

Room Tip: We only went for dinner, so I have only commented on those areas, and not the other hotel facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
6.9 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
7.8 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
594 reviews
17.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
138 reviews
23.6 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
21.9 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 3 in Banchory
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Oldmeldrum AB51 0AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Oldmeldrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst beautiful countryside, the 4 star Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course offers unrivaled quality. Only a few miles from Aberdeen, this is one of the finest luxury hotels Scotland has to offer. For a weekend break, Scottish wedding reception, conference or luxury golf vacation, you can enjoy great Scottish hospitality, fine dining and the tranquility of the magnificent Meldrum Estate. If golf is your passion, we offer a range of golf vacation packages and golf breaks at our spectacular and challenging course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing