We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and completely charming host”
Review of The Redgarth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oldmeldrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Redgarth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for one night. Our host was charming from the moment I called to book. We stayed in two rooms - one for our grown up daughter and one for us. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We swapped rooms with our daughter as the double bed in "our" room was too small for us, but the twin beds were extremely comfortable and we all slept well. Our bathroom was somewhat old fashioned but plentiful hot water made for a lovely bath.
We dined at the hotel and had excellent food, well prepared and served with charm. Breakfast the next morning was delicious: a superb fruit salad followed by a vast basket of bread, toast and croissants, plus delicious ham, cheese and jams etc and very good cafetiere coffee. In no way did we miss a cooked breakfast.
Highly recommended and we would definitely recommend. Particular thanks to Stuart who is clearly on duty (and completely charming) 24 hours a day!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebeccajago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great pub with a friendly landlord, well kept beers (especially the 'Island Hopping'!) and really good portions of delicious food. We were staying locally for 2 nights at another place (which recommended here as a place to eat out!) and returned the second night for the amazing 'Mixed Grill' which I watched my husband savouring the night before! A place you instantly wish was your own local.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

the redgarth is a hidden treasure. it all begins with the proprietor, stuart, who is present at all times with his magnificent conversation and help. the room is most comfortable and the food is perfect. dining with the local bar crowd is an attraction that makes one feel part of the local scene. i would recommend this inn to anyone and hope to personally return sooner than later!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arthur222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for partly business, partly relaxation.
What a wonderful surprise this place is. On arrival you think it is just a standard rural bar with accommodation, don't be fooled! When you are shown to your room by the ever attentive owner, you are blown away by the room. Completely state of the art, bang upto date, luxurious, clean and bright, to say I was surprised is an understatement. Beatiful bathroom, with complimentary Radox, pristine bedding and soooooo comfortable....
Will definately be back there.
We ate dinner there with some of my local family, and we were all agreed about how good the food was, plentiful (but not too much) and the staff were lovely too.
Breakfast was my only drawback, however, my partner loved it, Continental, not my preferred choice.
That apart, it was fab!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms in the extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here for lunch expecting a tasty meal. Very disappointed with the food - no flavour at all.
One would think that batter made from beer would have some flavour but even the salt seemed bland . Needed a lot of salt but still lacked flavour. I guess the chef could do with a little education on seasoning. Almost ten pounds for something which I would class as low end pub grub is excessive although service was efficient and the meals were served promptly. Ale was excellent. Nice place to drink but I would not go back to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank reas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stuart is a gracious host and always welcomes you enthusiastically. We had stayed here several times and had always enjoyed our stay, as we did this time. It is an ideal location for us to meet friends and it is also not too far from the airport. The room is spacious, with lovely modern decor. Our favourite feature is the skylight just above the bed for star gazing at night. The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. Our room also had a balcony. For breakfast we always choose the continental with fruit salad. Don't miss the lovely fresh fruit salad which is crammed with various berries, mango, grapes etc. And there is always a large selection of bread rolls, buns etc. We would certainly be using The Redgarth again when we're next back in Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuffKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Attentive host - Stuart, very pleasant young lady serving an behind the bar - Debbie. Beautifully clean and well appointed room. Super atmosphere and friendly locals. A welcome change from " big " hotels

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Howard-Bellaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
642 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meldrum House Country Hotel & Golf Course
0.3 mi away
Morris's Hotel
Morris's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oldmeldrum
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redgarth

Address: Red Garth Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our bar/lounge we have a variety of malt whiskies including a selection from our village distillery, Glen Garioch. In addition to a choice of draught lagers, stouts and cider we have three hand pumps providing some of the best cask conditioned ales in Scotland and the UK. We have a wine and ‘fine wine’ list for those looking for something special. There is free wi-fi available throughout the building.The Redgarth Bar opens seven days a week from 11am-3pm and 5pm-11pm (11.45pm Friday and Saturday)-RESTAURANT-Our menu is international in flavour with a strong hint of Scotland including a vegetarian selection. Menus are changed fortnightly and all meals are home cooked using fresh local produce.In addition to our main lounge we have a dining room which can be converted for use as a meeting/conference room.The Redgarth restaurant is currently open seven days a week from 12- 2pm and 5.30-9pm (9.30pm Friday and Saturday)ROOMS Our accommodation comprises of one twin and five double rooms all of which are furnished to 4 star Visit Scotland standard. Rooms are all non-smoking, en-suite and offer the usual refinements including colour television with hair-drying and tea making facilities including free-wi-fi. Situated on the first floor the rooms are self contained providing guests with ease of access at all times, our front rooms enjoy unsurpassed views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Redgarth Hotel Inverurie
The Redgarth Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing