We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of The Redgarth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oldmeldrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Redgarth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We had a brilliant time staying here recently while attending an event locally. The room was of a very high quality and immaculate with everything you need for a comfortable stay - we stayed in the new part of the hotel. We had a great meal in the bar and have subsequently returned to have lunch and supper on different days- every time the food has been great. Stuart is a brilliant host and I have observed him spending time with all his customers - something you don't see very often these days. We look forward to returning again soon. Would highly recommend the Regarth to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'new' part of the hotel, very high quality and felt new.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperLAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

Whenever I have business in the area I always make a point of staying here. Rooms have everything required including the essential wi-fi and there is plenty of choice on the menu.
Also has decent hand pulled beers!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CardKingPJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We found this cosy inn by accident seven years ago & have gone back every year for short holidays ever since. The welcome from Stuart is always friendly & genuine. The rooms are very well appointed, the food is always good & the beer is expertly chosen & looked after. If you are in the region why would you want to stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: any room will do you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kw b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This is how all hotels should be. A great weekend enhanced by very friendly hospitality. Our room was perfect, the attention to detail was obvious and everything was of very high quality. We really felt welcome and that enjoyment of our stay really mattered to the staff. We would definately recommend you visit the Redgarth which is certainly a cut way above the rest.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captayannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our first time in this area and the Inn was a great experience. The food, the accommodation, the hospitality (first rate) and the our host, Stuart, made it all a memorable time. Next time we venture out from Canada, we shall surely come again, and plan to stay for more than the one night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This I think was an amazing find. Sometimes it is difficult to find reasonable accomodation in small towns when one is visiting an unknown area. The Redgarth was of a standard you would expect from a 4* hotel. Everything was carefully designed - we had the Ash room - and very upto date fittings eg electric blind closed with a remote above the bed. The oak furniture made the room light and the door out on to the balcony was a bonus. The only thing missing was tea/coffee making facilities but with the bar down stairs not a great thing.
Stuart, mine host, looked after us - showing us to the room and pointing out details. He was also a mine of information on the local ales on sale in the bar. Restaurant is Gastro pub - I had an enormous mixed grill and my wife the catch of the day both delicious and reasonably priced
Breakfast is continental
We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kevinclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

A charming hostelry well maintained inside and out, excellent catering, attractive location and gardens with the best, most accommodating, 24/7 landlord we have ever found - especially to 'one off/one night' guests. Thanks Stuart.
Alan and Bette Shellard

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
5.9 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
643 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
624 reviews
4.6 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
220 reviews
16.4 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
5.0 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redgarth

Address: Red Garth Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our bar/lounge we have a variety of malt whiskies including a selection from our village distillery, Glen Garioch. In addition to a choice of draught lagers, stouts and cider we have three hand pumps providing some of the best cask conditioned ales in Scotland and the UK. We have a wine and ‘fine wine’ list for those looking for something special. There is free wi-fi available throughout the building.The Redgarth Bar opens seven days a week from 11am-3pm and 5pm-11pm (11.45pm Friday and Saturday)-RESTAURANT-Our menu is international in flavour with a strong hint of Scotland including a vegetarian selection. Menus are changed fortnightly and all meals are home cooked using fresh local produce.In addition to our main lounge we have a dining room which can be converted for use as a meeting/conference room.The Redgarth restaurant is currently open seven days a week from 12- 2pm and 5.30-9pm (9.30pm Friday and Saturday)ROOMS Our accommodation comprises of one twin and five double rooms all of which are furnished to 4 star Visit Scotland standard. Rooms are all non-smoking, en-suite and offer the usual refinements including colour television with hair-drying and tea making facilities including free-wi-fi. Situated on the first floor the rooms are self contained providing guests with ease of access at all times, our front rooms enjoy unsurpassed views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Redgarth Hotel Inverurie
The Redgarth Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing