We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Redgarth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oldmeldrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Redgarth
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We spent a long weekend at the Redgarth to use it as a base for exploring Speyside.

It is clean, the rooms are spacious and the food in the pub is excellent. Above all, however, the owner makes you feel really welcome and I would recommend the Redgarth to anyone looking for a place to stay in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank ths0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at just how good this was.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious, with separate entrance from the bar/dining area, and the hotel is quietly located although not far from the main road and the centre of Oldmeldrum.
Breakfast was excellent, with juice, a superb fresh fruit salad/cereals, wide selection of savoury and sweet rolls, toast, cold meat and a selection of cheeses, together with tea, coffee, etc.
At dinner time there is an extensive menu, with a few tasty specials from the Hungarian chef Miklos.
This is a well-run establishment offering high levels of customer service and is very good value for money. We would certainly return here.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wdcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed for one night as we were attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. I am not very good at writing reviews but just cannot recommend this hotel enough. The room was absolutely pristine, very comfortable bed and the bathroom was lovely and modern with nice touches like lovely fluffy absorbent John Lewis towels! Breakfast was a particular high point if you don't want a full fry-up. You will get a [particularly warm welcome from Stewart and his other staff. We will find an excuse to go back sometime!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Redgarth is possibly the best B&B we have ever stayed at, not only were the staff friendly, extremely helpful and really nice but the room was gorgeous and the food was superb. 5* service!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamieC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We visited this area for the 1st time and found the overnight stay at the Redgarth Inn to be relaxed , friendly and made us wish we had a similar place in our local area. Stuart was friendly, efficient and obviously very enthusiastic to ensure his customers had a great time whether staying,eating or simply enjoying a drink. The rooms were spacious and the view beautiful. Meal was best we have had for some time. Old meldrum was friendly and very clean. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rash0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Our family have just returned from staying in the Redgarth,very pleasant comfortable rooms with lovely views across the countryside.Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for Stewart and his staff,a great asset to Scotlands tourist industry.If ever we tour the area again we would not hesitate to book in.Bar meals available,reasonably priced and tasty,breakfast was contiental served to your room and was more than adequate,not to mention healthy,for most peoples needs.If you are looking for a good hotel with a relaxed atmosphere,warm welcome assured then try the Redgarth we are sure you won't be disappointed.Special thanks Stewart from our girls.Drew Carmichael.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toyata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We were flying out of Aberdeen on holiday and had originally tried to book one of the Aberdeen airport hotels for ease of access but, despite trying to book the hotel many months in advance, the oil companies have most of these block-booked in case they need to accommodate their off-shore workers.

So we looked further afield and fortuitously came across the Redgarth Hotel in Oldmeldrum which is about 15 - 20 minutes from Aberdeen airport or 30 - 35 mins during the early morning rush-hour.

Reception was in the bar, and although busy was quick and efficient. Rooms were spotlessly clean, large and decorated in quite a 'unique' but pleasing style. The views over Aberdeenshire - at least from the front of this small hotel - were magnificent.

Dinner was served in the bar and was very good indeed with a wide choice of local produce. The lamb was magnificent!

Breakfast was continental, but plenty of choice.

In the event that we had to fly from Aberdeen again which meant an overnight stay in the vicinity, we would not hesitate to stay at the Redgarth again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldmeldrum
5.9 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
643 reviews
7.4 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
624 reviews
4.6 mi away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Inverurie
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Kintore Arms Hotel
Kintore Arms Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
220 reviews
16.4 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
5.0 mi away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Inverurie
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redgarth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redgarth

Address: Red Garth Kirk Brae, Oldmeldrum AB51 0DJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Oldmeldrum
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oldmeldrum
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our bar/lounge we have a variety of malt whiskies including a selection from our village distillery, Glen Garioch. In addition to a choice of draught lagers, stouts and cider we have three hand pumps providing some of the best cask conditioned ales in Scotland and the UK. We have a wine and ‘fine wine’ list for those looking for something special. There is free wi-fi available throughout the building.The Redgarth Bar opens seven days a week from 11am-3pm and 5pm-11pm (11.45pm Friday and Saturday)-RESTAURANT-Our menu is international in flavour with a strong hint of Scotland including a vegetarian selection. Menus are changed fortnightly and all meals are home cooked using fresh local produce.In addition to our main lounge we have a dining room which can be converted for use as a meeting/conference room.The Redgarth restaurant is currently open seven days a week from 12- 2pm and 5.30-9pm (9.30pm Friday and Saturday)ROOMS Our accommodation comprises of one twin and five double rooms all of which are furnished to 4 star Visit Scotland standard. Rooms are all non-smoking, en-suite and offer the usual refinements including colour television with hair-drying and tea making facilities including free-wi-fi. Situated on the first floor the rooms are self contained providing guests with ease of access at all times, our front rooms enjoy unsurpassed views of the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Redgarth Hotel Inverurie
The Redgarth Oldmeldrum, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing