We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glenlivet Smugglers - One Life Livet Tour.”

Glenlivet Hill Trek
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Glenlivet
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a Visit Scotland 5* specialist off road touring company based in the Scottish Highlands. We use Land Rovers and environmentally friendly Argocat 8 wheel drive vehicles to transport clients on a selection of whisky smuggling themed tours within the Cairngorms National Park. Although our tours specialise in whisky smuggling, they include distillery visits, wildlife and stunning scenery. We cater for corporate events to a maximum of 40 persons. We provide high quality picnics of Scottish Fayre to compliment your experience. We were 2015 Highlands and Islands Tourism Awards Finalists in the 'Best Outdoor Adventure' category and 2017 winners of the Spirit of Speyside Awards 'Best New Event' category. We are currently a finalist in the 2017 Highlands and Islands Tourism Awards for the 'Best Heritage Tourism Experience'. We are proud to be Green Tourism Gold Award recipients and endeavour to improve our 'Green' credentials at every opportunity.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 10, 2017

We had a fantastic day on the smugglers trail. Visiting some really great historical sites, learning about the local history of the area and doing so while drinking whisky, can it get any better than that. The tour up Carn Liath in Argocats was freat fun and the views from up there just breathtaking. The lunch at the Peat Reek Bothy was delicius. Charlie and his team really gave us a brilliant day on the smugglers trail and we will most definitely come back again next time in Scotland.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Morf318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review us and thanks for the great comments. We hope to welcome you back to whisky country in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"picnic lunch"
in 2 reviews
"the perfect host"
in 3 reviews
"charlie"
in 10 reviews
"bothy"
in 8 reviews
"smugglers"
in 2 reviews
"charles"
in 2 reviews
"peat"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 2 reviews
"vehicle"
in 2 reviews
"wildlife"
in 2 reviews
"dram"
in 2 reviews
"tour"
in 7 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2017

What a great way to spend an afternoon!!!, From the local knowledge to the argo drive up the mountain this is a must do if you are in this area!!! Accommodating, fun, and memorable. You won't want to miss this tour.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank epiticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again for another smuggling adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

really nice people a great day out easy to find, i would wrap up if a bit chilly it was interesting and a very nice dram on the way views at top stunning

Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trek, our guide was very knowledgeable, thoughtful and good at making us feel comfortable and well taken care of -very nice people. The ArgoCat is, I can't lie, very bouncy and slow going but pretty much what I expected going over the hills - they are after all wild and natural! I can't imagine trying to walk up so the ArgoCat was exactly what was needed and did the job well. The views from the top were simply amazing, the whole valley stretched out below, the misty hills off in the distance. We love Scotland and this was a wonderful way to see it. After the hill ascent we had lunch in the bothy. The bothy was so cute and decked out with all manner of comforts, they hosts really thought of everything. We dined by candlelight, a little stove giving off plenty of heat in the corner. The lunch was AMAZING! Hot delicious soup, cheese and pickle sandwich on wonderful brown bread, hot tea and coffee followed by some very excellent cake. I highly, HIGHLY recommend this trek. Enjoy! I know we did!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Thanks for your great review, with such stunning scenery around us it really makes my job easy. I'll pass your compliments about our food to the Chef. I'll maybe have to deflate the tyres on the Argo to give a softer ride ;) Thanks again, Charlie and Susan (owners).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The trek was AWESOME. I would definitely do it again. Met some amazing people and drank some amazing scotch! :)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thanks for the great review Chris. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Truth be told the tour sells itself with the stunning views and the whisky helps of course. Thanks and we hope you'll join us on tour in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenlivet Hill Trek also viewed

 

Been to Glenlivet Hill Trek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing