We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic day!

Charlie took us to many off the beaten path historic sites that we would not have found otherwise... read more

Reviewed October 2, 2019
FionaD12345
fantastic adventure

You can not miss this adventure. Thanks again for the many individual explanations and tips! We... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed July 17, 2019
sschubert2019
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
33
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews picnic lunch love scotland his knowledge great trip castle ruins land rover charlie bothy smugglers charles peat susan adventure scenery outing reek summit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 33 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2017

What a great way to spend an afternoon!!!, From the local knowledge to the argo drive up the mountain this is a must do if you are in this area!!! Accommodating, fun, and memorable. You won't want to miss this tour.

Date of experience: May 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank epiticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again for another smuggling adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

really nice people a great day out easy to find, i would wrap up if a bit chilly it was interesting and a very nice dram on the way views at top stunning

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trek, our guide was very knowledgeable, thoughtful and good at making us feel comfortable and well taken care of -very nice people. The ArgoCat is, I can't lie, very bouncy and slow going but pretty much what I expected going over the hills - they are after all wild and natural! I can't imagine trying to walk up so the ArgoCat was exactly what was needed and did the job well. The views from the top were simply amazing, the whole valley stretched out below, the misty hills off in the distance. We love Scotland and this was a wonderful way to see it. After the hill ascent we had lunch in the bothy. The bothy was so cute and decked out with all manner of comforts, they hosts really thought of everything. We dined by candlelight, a little stove giving off plenty of heat in the corner. The lunch was AMAZING! Hot delicious soup, cheese and pickle sandwich on wonderful brown bread, hot tea and coffee followed by some very excellent cake. I highly, HIGHLY recommend this trek. Enjoy! I know we did!

Date of experience: October 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank D E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2016

Thanks for your great review, with such stunning scenery around us it really makes my job easy. I'll pass your compliments about our food to the Chef. I'll maybe have to deflate the tyres on the Argo to give a softer ride ;) Thanks again, Charlie and Susan (owners).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2016

The trek was AWESOME. I would definitely do it again. Met some amazing people and drank some amazing scotch! :)

Date of experience: June 2016
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank clugodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSGHT, Owner at Glenlivet Hill Trek, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2016

Thanks for the great review Chris. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us. Truth be told the tour sells itself with the stunning views and the whisky helps of course. Thanks and we hope you'll join us on tour in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2016 via mobile

We had so much fun on this tour. We first went out in a Land Rover to the Old Glenlivet Bridge, then to a castle ruins on the estate. We then switched to an 8-tire all-terrain vehicle called an ArgoCat., which was the unique highlight of the tour. The ArgoCat is truly a remarkable machine, it goes anywhere Charlie wants to take it, which is straight up to the top of the mountain, through the heather on the moor. The vistas are superb, 360' for miles out. Dress warmly, it is very cold up there. Surprisingly we did not see Julie Andrews twirling and singing, but it felt like she should be there. Stunning! Coming back down we were provided a tasty lunch at a bothy, plus a whisky tasting stop. Charlie was a great host, and knows his machine, so while we were going up, down and sideways, it still felt safe. The day ended at the distillery for a tour and tasting. Highly recommend this adventure!

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank Destination399378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews