We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minmore House Hotel - Wonderful food in an exquisite setting”
Review of Minmore House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenlivet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Minmore House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenlivet
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Minmore House Hotel - Wonderful food in an exquisite setting”
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Original home of the founder of Glen Livet Distillery, Minore is smack bang next to the distillery on the beautiful Glenlivet Estate.

A beautiful but comfortable old house, it is a great location for fishing which can be done on the A'an or the Spey and walking. Lynne will provide you with a map of the estate.

Our room was very comfortable and very nice with a bath rather than a shower (much better after a long walk or a long `fish'). We were also allowed to take our dog which was great. The hotel does also boast some suites which are plusher and so no dogs allowed in there (quite right too).

We had vowed not to have the much admired afternoon tea and to save ourselves for dinner but after a 15 mile walk in the rain,I needed some sustenance so joined the others in the drawing room. Afternoon tea is beautifully presented in silver teapots and dainty cups and saucers along with a choice of salmon sandwiches and a sumptuous array of home baked cakes. MMMM. Didn't seem to affect my appetite either as I ate every morsel of Vicotr's beautifully cooked five course dinner that night.

Dinner is a social occasion with guests gathering in the bar ahead of the 7.45pm sitting. Fishing exploits are shared and there is a chance to meet people from other places in the world or just keep yourselves to yourselves if preferred. The bar is comfy and cosy - the sort of place that you could settle in for the night if you weren't lured into the dining room by Victor who tells you in advance course by course what he is preparing. Both nights' dinner were wonderful.

We are going to book for next year and take our friends - a great place!

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing that I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorskhire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

From the instant we walked in, we we're treated like we've been there a dozen times. Very intimate setting, in a beautiful part of Scotland.

On learning my wife has nut allergies, Lynne, a most gracious host, ensured Victor knew immediately, so he had time to bake separate bread for her. As we had a few hours till dinner, and my wife was a bit peckish, Lynne provided a wonderful tea tray for her in the lounge.

The lounge feature a small bar with some 100 whisky's available, it made for a fine and relaxing setting after a busy day touring the region.

Victor is a serious chef, the dinner was, by far, the best we enjoyed in Scotland, it was loving prepared, and served with great care- frankly, you might pay the same amount ofr a dinner of this quality at a "starred" restaurant, so it's like getting a room for free.

One thing I observed, we we're the only "first-time" guests, that too me speaks volumes.

  • Liked — The food is beyond anything you could expect outside of Michelin starred dining
  • Disliked — Tie: Waking up to the sounds of nature/ no TV in room (oh wait, those we're pluses too!)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

I booked the Minmore House as a surprise for my husband's 40th Birthday, staying in the Tomitoul Suite. The room was beautiful, right at the top of the house so excellent views out of all windows. You can lay in the cavernous bath and enjoy uninterrupted views across the hills. We were fortunate to have sunny weather for the 3 days we were there, which added to the experience.
The food was delicious, 4 courses every night with an extensive wine list. We paid the extra £35 per person and tried the whisky tasting / nosing which was great fun, and well worth booking.
We could not fault the Minmore. Its hosts Victor, Lyne and their family work extremely hard, and make you feel very welcome. If you want peace, tranquility and beautiful surroundings, then you need look no further. We will definitely be back.

  • Liked — The Location, outstanding views
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank R+J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

The food really is quite outstanding (one of the best in scotland), the hosts are friendly and very welcoming (even the two wee dogs welcome everyone). There's some interesting fishing on the Avon, if you are looking for a smaller and I think more interesting alternative to the mighty Spey/Tay. The location is perfect for touring Speyside and the whisky distilleries. I could go on...

Hurrah! At last.... a hotel which is breaking the old mould of the "we don't serve lunch after 1pm and we lock the front door at 11pm...welcome to scotland".

Well done minmore...keep the standard flying.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys, Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

We arrived quite late in the afternoon for a 2 night stay & on arrival was warmly welcomed by Lynne. After a brief chat she showed us to our room & offered us tea which we took in the sitting room, served in delicate china cups on a silver tray & teapot .The sitting room was delightful, a typical country house, warm, gracious & cosy with oak panelled walls & a roaring fire in the hearth.Before long the two stars of Minmore arrived, Jock & Bella two delightful Jack Russels, such characters, so friendly & impeccably behaved, I wanted to take Jock home Our room was spotlessly clean & although perhaps not modern, was cosy. There were fresh flowers from the garden placed in a china teacup & saucer & a small plate of chocolates to nibble on. The bathroom was small & did not have a shower but everything else was catered for. The evening meal was superb. Victor, Lynne's husband & chef, personally came round each guest to introduce himself & describe what the nights meal was going to be.The food & service was superb as was the breakfast. I had the scrambled egg with smoked salmon. Perfect. Nothing was too much trouble.Coffee with choc fudge was served in the sitting room & along with a huge choice of whiskies was a perfect end to an evening. It was a lovely opportunity to chat to other guests & because the hotel was not starchy everyone felt relaxed & comfortable even though we were sitting with people we had not met before. We wished we had booked a longer stay.

  • Liked — The food & the Jack Russles
  • Disliked — No shower
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvenstadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Having just finished a 4-week holiday all over the UK, Minmore House is easily, and by a large margin, the favorite hotel of our trip. Our family of four had two adjoining rooms, both of which were very spacious, bright and pleasant, with nice views. The common rooms, from the dining room, to the fireside bar, to the drawing room, are so comfortable and charming that you could spend hours just relaxing.

Dinner at Minmore is a fixed-menu, multi-course event. We had two very memorable dinners here during our stay. The food is fresh from the farm, and Victor’s cooking is simply extraordinary. Breakfasts and tea were also generous and delicious. The bar has an enormous selection of scotch whiskies, and the bartenders (who also double as fishing guides, porters and waiters) provide expert tasting recommendations.

The hotel is located in the Glenlivet estate, right next to the distillery (worth the tour) and convenient to lots of local sights, with excellent walking opportunities.

Our hosts, Lynne and Victor went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable experience. Thanks to Lynne’s efforts, my husband was able to arrange a day of fly fishing with a guide on the River Avon on relatively short notice. It was a stunningly beautiful spot, and a great experience for all of us.

And then there’s the hotel staff. To a person, their friendliness, sincerity and helpfulness were head and shoulders above the service we received anywhere during our holiday.

This is a very special place. We wish we could have stayed on and on, and wish we could give more than 5 stars! We’ll be back to Minmore.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Wireless internet didn't work
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EWKSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Minmore House is a delightful country house located on the Glen Livet Estate.

It is very personably run by the owners, who formerly lived in Durban South Africa.

The food is especially delectable! Don't miss the very very British high tea...which included an amazing Pavlova.

Wonderful, comfortable rooms, not overly fancy, but homey and charming. Lovely bar with hundreds of single malt liquors to select from. A wonderful, relaxing stay in the Scottish Highlands, and recently discovered by Andrew Harper newsletter, high praise, indeed.

  • Liked — Casual chic...genuine warmth
  • Disliked — Liked it all
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Taosgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenlivet
0.0 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thistle Dhu Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glendalloch House
Glendalloch House
#3 of 4 in Glenlivet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Minmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minmore House

Property: Minmore House
Address: Glenlivet AB37 9DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Glenlivet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Glenlivet
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Minmore House Hotel Glenlivet
Minmore Hotel Glenlivet
Minmore House Glenlivet, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing