We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solo female traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Solo female traveller”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Landed in Aberdeen airport 7.00pm taxi (very informative driver) to the Braemar Lodge Hotel arriving approx. 9pm received and a warm welcome at reception by the . Shown to my single room which for a change wasn't a box room and had a true single size bed not a divan, radiator (always hot), large wardrobe, dressing table, desk, tea & coffee making facilities. On suite bathroom with all you would expect to find in one!. A suitable size, warm and decorated room with views over the bowling green towards the village.

There are extremely popular with the locals so do let them know if you would like dinner in the evening. Hard to describe the food apart from ab fab.... I could manage breakfast then nothing until 7.30 ish for dinner. The bar is for those who are either staying in the main hotel (not lodges or bunk room) or eating in the restaurant for pre dinner drinks great place to meet the locals.

The area is beautiful I am a walker and having purchased a map from local TI set out exploring the local mountain sides. We had a fair snow fall over one night which did mean the snow gates were kept shut until 10.30 - 11am.

As a solo traveler I felt safe (locals actually leave their cars running whilst in the shop) I met some lovely informative locals on my wonderings.

Caught the local bus from Braemar to Aberdeen and then the link bus to the airport.

I will certainly return when the heathers are out.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frognorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    57
    24
    7
    14
See reviews for
32
78
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
icucme
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Arrived to a 'you booked in' question, rather than a 'welcome to Braemar Lodge!'. Otherwise, staff were helpful, especially considering the Chef was away, so no evening meal was available. But we'd been advised of this in advance, so expected this and they helped to book us in to a restaurant elsewhere. Booked a night in a 4 poster bed room (Room 2). The bed was more functional that 'special' and it could have been more luxurious if the frame had drapes or had been upholstered. Bedroom furniture was mock mahogony and the bathroom dated with green bath (several hairs greeted us) and fitments and salmon pink carpet. If a wee bit was spent on the fixtures and furnishings it would have changed the atmosphere considerably. Shame, as it's got a lot going for it in terms of location and facilities. But lovely views from the bedroom and it was toasty considering the Baltic temperatures.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a 4 poster bed, best for views rather than decor or furnishings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icucme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Given how difficult it is to keep everyone happy at Christmas Braemar Lodge did a fantastic job. All the courses whatever you chose were perfectly balanced. We all loved the poached pear, Stilton and pickled walnut salad - just right and nicely delicate before a more substantial main course. Chef was very kind in accommodating our no meat preference and the monkfish with Cullen Sink was superb. Many compliments from meat eaters for turkey and beef (which looked very succulent!). Desserts were divine! Chocolate marquise left one feeling spoilt but not stuffed and the Clootie Dumpling with brandy ice cream was well worth the extra inches on the waist. Also must mention the charming service - all with a smile and very efficient. At under £40 per head excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portknockie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were provided with a home from home for the sixth overnight stop on our charity walk. The accommodation is beautiful, the atmosphere is very homely, the room immaculate and the food is awesome. We were very hungry when we sat down at the dining table and pleasantly full when we left it!
We could not have wished for anything more and would highly recommend anyone wishing to stay in the Braemar area.
Fantastic hospitality, thank you very much for a great overnight stop :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Help_for_Heroes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Braemar Lodge is even better that I thought. Shame the restaurant was closed at that time, but anyway the malt bar is really enjoyable: with a great atmosphere thanks to the fire and a wide range of whiskies (also local beers). Delicious breakfast

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ultreia_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for 2 nights from the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome. The room had a nice four poster bed and the views were outstanding. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the Saturday night the meal was beautiful and afterwards we went into the whisky bar where there was the biggest selection of whisky I had ever seen. Lastly I would like to say how friendly the owners and the staff were. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be returning next year with all my family. Wonderful hotel)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night last weekend. We had a superior room with 4 poster bed, furniture was dark and old fashioned but in keeping with age of hotel, bathroom was small with sink being in the bedroom. We had a comfortable nights stay. Now the food, that is something to write about. My husband went for the game pie whilst I had the Balmoral chicken which was chicken breast stuffed with haggis, and I have to say they were the tastiest plates of food we've enjoyed in a long while. We liked the idea that your food order was taken from you whilst enjoying a drink in the bar and then when the food was ready you were taken to your table. Equally impressed with breakfast the next day, having the food cooked for you compared to 'kept warm' buffet styles found in too many hotels these days makes such a diffence. Friendly staff and good service and would probably stay here again if in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 259thompsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
13.0 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Lodge Hotel

Property: Braemar Lodge Hotel
Address: 6 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in an old Scottish hunting lodge two minutes from the center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HRS so you can book your Braemar Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Braemar
Braemar Lodge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing