We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A walking weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay whist walking the Lairig Ghru. Great hospitality comfort and food. This was my second trip there and it won't be my last. Excellent place to eat too - very accocmodating of our requests. Thanks Ronnie and co - you are a great team. Will be back. Alison

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Very Scottish and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 200 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here on a 3-day break, when we visited Balmoral Castle and Pittenweem Arts Festival and paid £10 extra for a four-poster bed - well-worth it as it was very comfy. The room was bright and spacious as was the en-suite (incl. bidet). Old-fashioned style furniture but totally befitting the Lodge. It was quiet and relaxing. Residents were mostly walkers (from what I could see).
The hotel also has lodges available for larger groups.
The restaurant offered a modest menu, prices slightly high, reflecting the touristy attraction of Braemar, a very picturesque village. We were disappointed with our T-Bone steak £23 each and one as sinewy.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the fourposter bed if you want something a bit unusual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canisp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We can`t say enough how much we enjoyed our short but memorable stay at The Braemar Lodge Hotel . Nothing at all was too much trouble for Ronnie or his staff , all very friendly and helpful to a fault .
Great rooms very comfortable and clean, only there two nights but cleaned and fresh towels during our stay, Hotel location very good and free parking was a plus, We had an evening meal which was excellent, well presented and very good value. Arrived on our first night and we were offered evening meal as above nothing was too much trouble.
We hope to return for many more visits.

Dave & Tracey Newcastle upon tyne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just had a wonderful weekend break at the Breamar lodge the staff made us feel welcome from the start,the room was spotless clean with a four poster bed a full ensuite bathroom tea and coffee machine,great views of the Cairngorms from the bedroom windows,had a full English breakfast piping hot on sparkling clean dishes,the evening meal was also spot on even with the hotel full and 6 in our group the waitress managed to bring all three courses as we required them a big thankyou to the host Ronnie and Fiona and staff well done.

Room Tip: ask for a double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Landed lucky when searching for a room for the night with our two pooches. Having called in on spec at the two other main Hotels in Braemar each not being suitable for our needs I popped into the Braemar Lodge. At first it did'nt look like they would be able to find us a room but as luck would have it there was a lodge available for the one night. This was perfect for us with our 2 dogs. This was spacious, clean, and comfy. We had a really nice meal the hotel, good food, well cooked and presented at a reasonable price.
Only slight dissapointment was the lack of draft beer / lager / cider etc in the cosy bar. Was very impressed the following morning when I turned up for breakfast 15 minutes late having got the times wrong. This however was not a problem and the owner asked the chef to prepare a full breakfast which was very tasty indeed. We would have liked to have stayed another night but the Lodges are normally let on a weekly basis it just so happened they could fit us in for the night. Would definately recommend this hotel if you are in the area looking for a good nights sleep, great service, tasty food, and all with a smile at a realistic price. !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Having suddenly got two successive days free, decided to have a night away. Settled on this small hotel and it made an excellent choice. A well decorated room included two comfy armchairs and a large four poster bed made our time in the room very enjoyable. Ordered dinner in the bar observed by several stags' heads. The meal was served in a very pleasant well proportioned dining room, my companion particularly admired the carpet. The food was excellent. The cooked breakfast next day was cooked to order, no just keeping food warm. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Childeric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were warmly welcomed and taken to our high quality comfortable rooms. The decor is wonderful, with four poster beds and beautiful antique furniture. The rooms are spacious and warm and spotlessly clean. The ensuite was huge(even had a bidet) with plenty of hot water for the shower over the bath. The bar was cosy with roaring log fire. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, all meals beautifully cooked, delicious and well presented. Breakfast was equally as good. Would definitely return and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chappyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
285 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
389 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
633 reviews
24.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braemar Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braemar Lodge Hotel

Address: 6 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range: $114 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Braemar Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in an old Scottish hunting lodge two minutes from the center of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Braemar Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braemar Hotel Braemar
Braemar Lodge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing