We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for our mountain biking trip!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Braemar, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephanie...
1 review
“Perfect location for our mountain biking trip!”
Reviewed June 10, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

The accommodation was excellent, providing everything we needed. As well as space to park our car, we were also able to store out bicycles in the owners garage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelicityD...
Dumfries
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautifully appointed studio.”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed the accommodation. Its high ceilings and windows made it feel bright and airy and it had everything needed for simple self catering. The owner has thought of everything and used every inch of space to its best advantage e.g. great hidden hanging space behind the huge and very comfy bed. Everything felt very clean and high quality. The kitchen area was exactly as described with everything you need on a small scale. The compact shower room was pristine - loved the hand wash and body lotion! There is a little covered outside area - too cold for us this April but could see it could be lovely on warmer evenings or for a lazy coffee. Can see that the car parking space would be invaluable in busier times as well.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
squintyfr...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect studio cottage for 2”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We stayed here for 5 nights over Hogmanay and it was fantastic. The Bothy is small but perfectly formed and had everything we needed for a short stay.

On our arrival our host showed us into the cottage which was warm and cosy (much appreciated given the freezing temperatures outside!) and pointed out the main features and where things were etc.

The bed was very comfortable (and massive!) and there’s a good size wardrobe space behind the bed which is curtained off and out of sight. The kitchen is quite tight as it’s very small but everything you need is there.

There’s a single car parking space right next to The Bothy (handy for loading/unloading luggage) and the property is on a nice quiet street. All of the windows also have blackout blinds and heavy curtains for those who like to sleep in complete darkness :)

Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy and it’s clear that Jennifer takes great pride in her property!

My only small quibble is that the radiators must be on a timer to go off at 11pm and on again in the morning (not sure what time). Due to this I woke up feeling very cold in the middle of the night on 2 nights as temperatures outside were below freezing. It would have been nice to be able to leave the radiators on even on a low setting but they were completely off. I do realise this is probably to save costs etc and in warmer weather it wouldn’t be such a problem.

We’d definitely go back and stay here again and would highly recommend it to everyone :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willowyma...
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed quality accommodation”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a find The Bothy was. Ideally situated in a quiet street in the heart of the village and just a short walk to all shops and drinking/eating places. All aspects of the accommodation are of the highest quality and everything we ever needed was there. The small kitchen area had all that we required to cook our usual simple holiday meals. The bed was very comfortable and spacious. We are definitely considering a return visit next year. Yes, I would highly recommend a stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mr.john w
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 17, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location in the centre for everything you need, Near to shops and restaurants, Has lovely places for walks.
Jennifer was pleasant very helpful, The Bothy was immaculate and had everything that you needed. Had very good holiday would come again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenW2...
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great little gem of a place. Just absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed here. The delightful owner works so very hard mentaining the incredibly high standards she has set herself. The quality of this wee gem as to be seen to be believed. Top quality through out. Some changes since last year, new curtains and a new head board. The log fire is a wonderful treat. But the central heating is very efficient, we had to turn the radiators off to enjoy the joy of the log burner.
Many thanks for a wonderful time in The Bothy. Yes we will be most certainly booking again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing