We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions - lasting impressions”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craiglea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We were advised to park at the back of the house. On approaching the house the first we saw was a room filled with clutter. Garden was overgrown and not well kept. The entrance/reception area is very small and unwelcoming. The host certainly needs upgrading of his interpersonal communication/conflict skills. (On entering a private area - kitchen-, due to no attention bell, I was abruptly, first escorted out to the entrance area and then my problem was addressed, instead of first, diplomatically addressing my problem and then politely being advised of the notice on the open door, which clearly was missed by me.) The room and en-suite, although very spacious, was clearly a DIY job. It needs a professional hand to upgrade and decorate the room. For a 3 star rating, I found the following unacceptable. Curtains inferior and needed stretching to the limit to cover the windows - why a circular (plastic) rail if it is a square window? No net curtaining. No valance sheet. No hand mirror in the bathroom. Windows frames moldy. Mirror light in the bathroom not working. One bulb missing in bathroom roof lighting. No mirror close to the hairdryer. Tile chipped and unsightly in bathroom. Why is there a door leading from the bathroom into the corridor? Why is the bathroom not tiled to the top of the ceiling? Brown tiles and green wall paper do not match.
For £45 - £50 per night this would be an acceptable deal but for £72 a night, I expect much more and of better quality.
Charles and Charmaine

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmaine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davetill, Owner at Craiglea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2010

We are very sorry you had cause to complain about your stay. We offer a 3*** standard which is classed as VERY GOOD by Visitscotland and our prices reflect that standard. The guest house is open to our guests but my private house is open to my family and people i invite in. There are 2 signs ( 1 on each door saying private) and a bell on the desk in reception which if rang is answered. Im sure you wouldnt like strangers walking around your house so i did what anyone would do which was to ask you to go into the reception. As for the various comments if you had plugged the hairdryer in in the socket in the wall by the mirror you would have been able to use the mirror. Tiles to the ceiling.........they are upto dado level. The door in the bathroom has been there since we moved in which is locked and at an end of a corridor where only guests to that room would go. If you want ONLY THE VERY BEST as your profile suggests, we suggest you try 5*****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

Friendly welcome. nice family. Reasonably clean - though not to high standard. Breakfast good - plenty (sausages excellent). En-suite too small, very tiny room. OK for one night - wouldn't like to stay any longer though. Parking very tight.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonesWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davetill, Owner at Craiglea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our establishment. We have 6 en-suite rooms of which 2 of them are smaller than the others. These are new rooms of which we were restricted by the planning authorities. We tend to put people who are staying for only 1 night in these because of the room size, however we have been advised by Visitscotland that these are of an adequate size.
Our grading by Visitscotland which has achieved an overall 3*** award has cleanliness as an overall excellent 4**** standard.

We have private parking for 3 cars (+ owners car) on the drive and plenty of space directly in front of the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

A genuinely friendly family run B&B at a reasonable price. Not a big room, but modern, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was brilliant. Try the 'Continental'.....a great big croissant with yoghurt and apple.....mmmmmm. A never ending stream of advice about local hill walks is on tap! For an evening meal I too must recommend the Gathering Place Bistro. Not cheap, but certainly a lovely experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We arrived at 7.30pm and the owner did not come home until 8.50pm. We rang the B&B number many times but it was diverted to a mobile which was turned off. I had warned the owner that we 'might' not be there until 8pm because we were walking and given them my mobile number. The owner was rude and did not apologise when they turned up having kept us waiting. They had made no attempt to call my mobile or home numbers. We left without staying and have not got our deposit of £33 back. They could easily have emailed to agree a convenient time of arrival. After a 30 km walk all we wanted was an immediate shower.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Dissatisfied82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Angela and David were fantastic hosts. Couldn't have been more helpful and have created a clean, comfortable and relaxing guest house with wonderfully comfortable beds and hot, fast showers. An absolute must after a day out in the hills! They also had a drying room with boot dryers!
We were even offered a lift up to Glenshee for a half days ski when the roads were covered with snow and our little car stood no chance! The breakfasts were extremely generous and very tasty and you were even offered a choice of breakfast times, something which seems increasingly rare now.
We did not even know there was a school nearby as it is a small village school with a play ground that can neither be seen or heard from the house...so there are no worries there.
There is off road parking which makes unloading less of a chore and includes a short walk through their lovely garden.
The location is nice and quiet with stunning views from our window over the village to the hills. It took us less than 5 mins to walk into the village centre. (Would recommend 'Taste' for a great range of coffees in a contemporary and relaxing setting.)
I think Angela and David are the kind of hosts that would bend over backwards for you and their young family are polite and charming.
We only meant to stay one night but stayed two. Would have been longer if we had the time.
Would highly recommend you book here if you are planning a stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Tip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

My husband had business in Aberdeen but we wanted to see some of the Scottish countryside as well. A nice drive, 2 hours exactly from the Aberdeen airport, brought us to the town of Braemar. The town is tiny but pleasant and gives access to wonderful hikes and scenery, the river Dee and several old castle ruins.
The Craiglea B & B was well located and very quiet although I did notice they were located next to a school which during term time could make it much noisier. Our room was very clean and nice and the shower was the best one I have found, pressure-wise, in the whole UK the past year. Breakfast was substantial. Several nice walks leave from very near the B/B.
Several restaurants in town - which fill up quickly and stop serving very early, so plan to eat early and arrive at most restaurants before 8pm and book ahead. Our favorite was The Gathering Place Bistro - book ahead, they were filled each night we were there but it was during the busy summer season.

3  Thank OPtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan En Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Braemar hotels
0.1 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Braemar Youth Hostel
Braemar Youth Hostel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
42 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Craiglea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiglea Bed & Breakfast

Address: Craiglea Hillside Road, Braemar AB35 5YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Price Range: $60 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly family run Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. We provide comfortable en-suite rooms with fresh linen, hotel quality white fluffy towels and a substantial breakfast. Try our renowned delicious porridge or smoked salmon to start your day, before you explore in and around our traditional highland village of Braemar. Plan your day in our quiet cosy snug where we serve a welcome drink and home bake on arrival. We are ideally located for outdoor activities or just a relaxing weekend away in beautiful Royal Deeside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craiglea Bed & Breakfast Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing