We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome, reasonably clean, breakfast good, room very small”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craiglea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, reasonably clean, breakfast good, room very small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

Friendly welcome. nice family. Reasonably clean - though not to high standard. Breakfast good - plenty (sausages excellent). En-suite too small, very tiny room. OK for one night - wouldn't like to stay any longer though. Parking very tight.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonesWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davetill, Owner at Craiglea Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 2, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in our establishment. We have 6 en-suite rooms of which 2 of them are smaller than the others. These are new rooms of which we were restricted by the planning authorities. We tend to put people who are staying for only 1 night in these because of the room size, however we have been advised by Visitscotland that these are of an adequate size.
Our grading by Visitscotland which has achieved an overall 3*** award has cleanliness as an overall excellent 4**** standard.

We have private parking for 3 cars (+ owners car) on the drive and plenty of space directly in front of the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    24
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

A genuinely friendly family run B&B at a reasonable price. Not a big room, but modern, clean and well appointed. Breakfast was brilliant. Try the 'Continental'.....a great big croissant with yoghurt and apple.....mmmmmm. A never ending stream of advice about local hill walks is on tap! For an evening meal I too must recommend the Gathering Place Bistro. Not cheap, but certainly a lovely experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

We arrived at 7.30pm and the owner did not come home until 8.50pm. We rang the B&B number many times but it was diverted to a mobile which was turned off. I had warned the owner that we 'might' not be there until 8pm because we were walking and given them my mobile number. The owner was rude and did not apologise when they turned up having kept us waiting. They had made no attempt to call my mobile or home numbers. We left without staying and have not got our deposit of £33 back. They could easily have emailed to agree a convenient time of arrival. After a 30 km walk all we wanted was an immediate shower.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dissatisfied82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

Angela and David were fantastic hosts. Couldn't have been more helpful and have created a clean, comfortable and relaxing guest house with wonderfully comfortable beds and hot, fast showers. An absolute must after a day out in the hills! They also had a drying room with boot dryers!
We were even offered a lift up to Glenshee for a half days ski when the roads were covered with snow and our little car stood no chance! The breakfasts were extremely generous and very tasty and you were even offered a choice of breakfast times, something which seems increasingly rare now.
We did not even know there was a school nearby as it is a small village school with a play ground that can neither be seen or heard from the house...so there are no worries there.
There is off road parking which makes unloading less of a chore and includes a short walk through their lovely garden.
The location is nice and quiet with stunning views from our window over the village to the hills. It took us less than 5 mins to walk into the village centre. (Would recommend 'Taste' for a great range of coffees in a contemporary and relaxing setting.)
I think Angela and David are the kind of hosts that would bend over backwards for you and their young family are polite and charming.
We only meant to stay one night but stayed two. Would have been longer if we had the time.
Would highly recommend you book here if you are planning a stay in the area.

  • Liked — clean, comfortable with great showers, drying room and generous breakfasts
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2005

My husband had business in Aberdeen but we wanted to see some of the Scottish countryside as well. A nice drive, 2 hours exactly from the Aberdeen airport, brought us to the town of Braemar. The town is tiny but pleasant and gives access to wonderful hikes and scenery, the river Dee and several old castle ruins.
The Craiglea B & B was well located and very quiet although I did notice they were located next to a school which during term time could make it much noisier. Our room was very clean and nice and the shower was the best one I have found, pressure-wise, in the whole UK the past year. Breakfast was substantial. Several nice walks leave from very near the B/B.
Several restaurants in town - which fill up quickly and stop serving very early, so plan to eat early and arrive at most restaurants before 8pm and book ahead. Our favorite was The Gathering Place Bistro - book ahead, they were filled each night we were there but it was during the busy summer season.

Helpful?
3 Thank OPtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.1 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craiglea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craiglea Bed & Breakfast

Property: Craiglea Bed & Breakfast
Address: Craiglea Hillside Road, Braemar AB35 5YU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly family run Bed & Breakfast in the heart of the Cairngorms National Park. We provide comfortable en-suite rooms with fresh linen, hotel quality white fluffy towels and a substantial breakfast. Try our renowned delicious porridge or smoked salmon to start your day, before you explore in and around our traditional highland village of Braemar. Plan your day in our quiet cosy snug where we serve a welcome drink and home bake on arrival. We are ideally located for outdoor activities or just a relaxing weekend away in beautiful Royal Deeside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Craiglea Bed & Breakfast Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing