We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“definitely recommended”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Braemar, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
S R
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“definitely recommended”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Castleton Cottage could not have been better for our recent stay in the Cairngorms. The location in Braemar is convenient for great local walks and trips further afield, and there are a number of good options for dinner out or evening drinks all within easy walking distance. The property itself really did have everything we could need and more, it was lovely and clean, the bed was so comfortable and the wood burner was a real treat. The owners, too, gave us a lovely welcome and were very helpful in suggesting places to visit during our stay - many thanks to them!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay at Castleton Cottage, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday there. It is wonderful to hear that you had everything you needed to hand, plus that wood burner to cosy up to! How lovely to have the owners available to point you in the direction of all the great places to go in the area too! We certainly hope you return for another stay soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin R
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed October 24, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very pleasant week's holiday. The cottage was as advertised and was absolutely fine. The basket of logs for the stove was especially welcome as Braemar can get chilly in October! The owners, Sandra and Derek, who live next door could not have been more helpful and friendly - super hosts.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robM4171P...
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Holiday”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed for a week at the end of July 2015, the cottage was every thing we could ask for, for two people, it was lovely and warm (not brilliant weather), the bedroom was large with lots of hanging and drawer space, the rest of the cottage was excellent and had everything we could need. The owners Sandra and Derek were very friendly and helpful with information on where to eat, visit, walks, local history etc - can't wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosyness of the cottage and location
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John2905
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Castleton Cottage for a week from 17th August 2014. The cottage itself was cosy in its own way, I guess decorated to the taste of the owner rather than being more neutral as we normally find holiday cottages to be. To our taste it vas very cluttered. When we arrived the log fire was lit and we were left some basic supplies which were very welcome. We were given a full explanation of where things were and how they worked as well as suggestions of good places to eat locally.

Comments:
No Place Mats
No Bread Bin
No Cheese Grater (there is a Zester)
No Pizza Tray
No Pizza Cutter
No Colour Coded Cutting Boards
Hot Water not quite hot enough for a hot bath
Bathroom Mirror not high enough for someone of six foot
Plenty of board games but no coffee table big enough to play them on

Criticisms:
Towels very worn and need replacing. Only one tea towel provided.
Cutlery a mishmash of different styles
For the small cost of electricity it should be included in the rental

Best points:
Location
Log Fire
Quietness

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Clutter of cottage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage for two”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage was cosy, well equipped and had a lovely log burning fire, lit for us on arrival. Extremely helpful and friendly owners, willing to lend us anything and who provided great information about the surrounding area along with things to do.The location was breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful. If you have a busy life, this is such an ideal holiday choice. The 17 mile mountain bike circuit MUST NOT be missed. One of my favourite holidays so far.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weefearti...
Lancaster, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy winter break”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was our second stay at Castleton and once again it was a delight. After a day in the snowy hills it 's the perfect place to come back to and sit by the wood burning stove. The stove was burning brightly when we arrived and that was just part of the warm welcome we received. We'll certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Compact, cosy and comfortable cottage
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing