We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cosy winter break”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Braemar, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Weefearti...
Lancaster, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy winter break”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

This was our second stay at Castleton and once again it was a delight. After a day in the snowy hills it 's the perfect place to come back to and sit by the wood burning stove. The stove was burning brightly when we arrived and that was just part of the warm welcome we received. We'll certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Compact, cosy and comfortable cottage
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vancouver
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sussex_Re...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage with great hosts”
Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We travelled to Braemar to visit family a couple of weeks ago. After seeing previous positive reviews on Trip Advisor, we opted to stay in this lovely cottage That was the best decision of the whole weekend. The cottage is surrounded by incredible views with a children's play park at the end of the road. The owners had provided us with some essentials in the fridge which was a lovely personal touch. The woodburner is lovely, especially at night to watch it crackling away. The bedroom is a good size and the cottage is immaculately clean throughout. We certainly had no issue with parking and the owners were helpful throughout our stay. We will definitely be staying here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpfulness of the owners and the surrounds
Liked least: The fact we couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel L
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
“the loveliest break in ages, can't wait to get back!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Shocked to see the negative review, we couldn't fault this cottage or the owner. She bent over backwards to have a cot set up ready for use- a real one not a travel one, complete with beautiful bumpers! Nothing was too much trouble, and yes, the electric meter is paying, but that was not much ( could that have been a printing error?) We had a roasting log burner to keep us cosy and there was snow at the time. We only needed one car being a small family with a baby's kit so parking wasn't a problem. We slept like babies and felt so relaxed and rested. Great scenery, lovely walks, plenty to do around the area. Even saw red squirrels, deer and an eagle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the relaxation
Liked least: leaving!
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terri M
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic for an anniversary weekend”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend in this lovely little cottage, the surrounding areas are so picturesque - it was perfect for our wedding anniversary. The owner was very welcoming and extremely helpful with regards to local amenities.
There was a welcome pack of food in the fridge which we very much appreciated as we arrived late on the Friday night.
We enjoyed our stay so much that we are going back in October of this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Not enough shops
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ania U
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Cottage with an open fire - unforgettable”
Reviewed July 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

It has been a dreamed long weekend at Castleton Cottage. The cottage is just lovely! Amazing location, wonderful fireplace, warm and welcoming owners. The cottage was super clean and nicely decorated. We receive complimentary wood to the fireplace and groceries (incl, tea, coffee, sugar, milk, cereal and any other essential you can think of).

It was so nice that for first two day we just stayed in to relax and rest in the comfortable living room in front of the fireplace. There are plenty of resources to use, games, cards, tv, dvds and big book full of information on what to do and see in the local area. And there is plenty to see and do.

The local area is just stunning and so quiet. We did horse riding in the forest – unforgettable experience. It was lovely escape from a busy city and kindness of the owners and local people made our holiday. The owners were extremely helpful and welcomed us very warmly, giving us full introduction to the place and local area. They responded to any questions promptly and were available for advise at all times.

We are planning to go back but this time for longer! Thank you so much to Sandra and her husband!

Ps. I was impressed about how well organised was the place and prepare for hosting parents with children (all the children accessories including bed and chairs are available)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cattage and an open fire
Liked least: everything was just perfect
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing