We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected - a positive surprise”
Review of Braemar Castle

Braemar Castle
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a guided tour of 12 furnished rooms in this 17th century Castle. Ghosts and villains, Jacobites and high fashion, the story begins in 1628 when the Earl of Mar built Mar Castle as his Highland hunting lodge. Associated with all 3 Jacobite uprisings, the castle was burned by the infamous Jacobite, the Black Colonel, and was the base for the Earl of Mar as he planned the 1715 uprising. After the 1745 rebellion, it was a garrison for Hanoverian soldiers stationed there to make sure that no-one dared break the law and wear tartan or carry weapons. In the 20th century, the castle was home to American fashion journalist, Editor of Harper's Bazaar and wife of the Chief of Clan Farquharson, who decorated the rooms in her signature Schiaparelli pink. English and German audio guides and tours with friendly local guides who enjoy sharing their knowledge and stories of the area. There are hidden teddy bears for the children to count as well as a small gift shop which also sells teas, coffees and hot chocolate.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Coming here, I expected a castle with some cold empty rooms and maybe a display of some sort - I should have done my homework better...The castle is furnished and made into a "real" home. Lots of stuff in the rooms and stories about all of them. The guided tour lasts for about 45 min but it is worth every minute since almost nothing is labelled or marked with explaining texts. Without a guide, it wouldn't be so interesting at all. Photos allowed is a BIG plus and that you actually are allowed to sit down in the furnitures while the guide talks also adds to the positive feeling. The guide was very enthusiastic and it really shows how the community cares for their castle.

Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemarcastle, Member of Community Management Team at Braemar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thanks for visiting. The exterior of the Castle does look bit austere and it's sometimes hard to convince visitors it is worth coming inside. We really appreciate your encouraging words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 364 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

Very interesting old castle/home. Lots of interesting history old and not so old. Steep stairs, and parking quite a long way from the castle might not suit people with walking difficulties. Facilities are a little limited, however bearing in mind this castle is being run by the local community it is a fine effort.

1  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemarcastle, Member of Community Management Team at Braemar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thanks for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit. We plan to provide much better facilities for our visitors in due course and as soon as we'ver raised the money we'll have more toilets and a proper cafe for our visitors. We just need people to keep visting and enjoying the castle while it's "work in progress".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Braemar Castle has an amazing history. From hunting lodge, to fortress to charming home. A guided tour through will show you examples of each of the guises the castle has gone through

The guides are very knowledgable and take you through the colourful history bit by bit from the 1600's to the present. The tour also includes info about the history of the Braemar area. There is even a little hands on in an exhibit about the local Highland Games.

The castle is run by a bunch of dedicated locals who seem really passionate about maintaining the Castle for future generations.

If you are in the area make sure you pay them a visit. You won't regret it.

Thank Shugggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemarcastle, Member of Community Management Team at Braemar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We're delighted you enjoyed your visit. You're right, we're detemined to make sure the Castle survives. As well as showing visitors round, we're actively fund-raising to do the repairs and provide a Visitor Centre, with proper facilities, so that visitors will have an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We visited Braemar Castle last weekend and where shown around on the guided tour by one the the excellent German student guides. The guide was both charming and informative and this coupled with visiting a castle with a chequered and interesting history made it a very enjoyable visit. The castle is now run by the Braemar community and is in a ongoing process of refurbishment / repairs (I guess as fast as monies allow).
Please help support this worthwhile cause by visiting, it's a lovely place and maybe someday the extra hidden rooms that aren't currently available to view can also be opened to the public.

Thank smithn05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemarcastle, Member of Community Management Team at Braemar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Our brilliant German students have now gone back to university, we're hoping they'll be back next year. Having now raised the first £150,000 needed for the restoration, at this very moment scaffolding is going up at the front of the Castle so that the first phase of the urgent roof repairs can begin. Thank you for visiting, every £ helps.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very knowledgable guide.
Not an easy climb up through castle if you have any disability or ar elderly.

1  Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braemarcastle, Member of Community Management Team at Braemar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Hi, I wish we could make it better. The stairs, I'm afraid, are a bit challeging if you're not 100% fit. We are of course very happy for you to take them slowly. Unfortunately there's not too much we can do to help - they are the original 1628 stairs of the castle and Historic Scotland would not permit major changes to such a historic building. We do plan to install a better handrail and hopefully that will help a bit. Thank you for visiting and taking time to give us feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Braemar Castle also viewed

Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 
Ballater, Aberdeenshire
Braemar, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Braemar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing