We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Callater Lodge Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay here was lovely. The room was very clean and comfortable. The lounge was very relaxing and cosy. Breakfast was superb. Andy and Liz are great hosts and make you feel relaxed and welcome. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThaifanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakleypilgrim, Owner at Callater Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House and your very kind comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again when we will be more than happy to make your stay just as enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 242 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here for a snowy weekend in April. Liz and Andy were helpful and very welcoming and made us feel relaxed and at home. They were also very accommodating of our request for vegetarian breakfasts. Our room was large, clean and cosy and we slept like logs in the big, comfy bed. Didn't use the electric blanket, but it was nice to know it was there. We felt they had thought of everything, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hareonskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakleypilgrim, Owner at Callater Lodge Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really do appreciate your comments.
We do try to make folk feel comfortable and their stay with us memorable. We look forward to seeing you again...maybe not the snow though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This friendly guesthouse is located within a few minutes walking distance of the town centre on the road leading to Glenshee Ski Centre (about 9 miles away) and therefore made a good base for a few days skiing in the area. It comprises 6 guest bedrooms, a breakfast room and a residents lounge.

There is parking within the grounds and a drying room on the ground floor for storing outdoor gear.

It’s a traditional granite built property, typical of the area and is decorated and furnished in keeping with this style. I had the single room with ensuite at the front of the house which was compact however covered all my requirements. The bed was comfortable; there was plenty of storage space in the chest of drawers, bedside cabinet and wardrobe; tea/coffee making facilities - with Border Biscuits; hairdryer; and the wall-mounted flat screen television had several Freeview channels (although there was occasional break-up with the picture). The ensuite had a shower which wasn’t particularly powerful but served the purpose and there was always plenty of hot water. The secondary glazing helped to maintain a cozy temperature when outside at times it was very chilly - an electric heater was provided for a top-up to the central heating if necessary (although I didn‘t find it was required). The décor and soft furnishings were all fresh and pleasant.

Breakfast was pre-selected the evening before by completing a tick box form. Porridge was an option, as was the full Scottish cooked breakfast, kippers or scrambled egg with salmon. There was also a variety of cereals, fresh fruit juice, etc. All of the food was good quality and very tasty - minor criticism being that on the day I had the "full Scottish" the bacon I had was a bit hard.

Liz and Andy, who own and have run the business themselves for around five years, are very easy to chat with and in my experience this created an informal atmosphere where fellow guests also mixed well - during my stay this included a very friendly, family-orientated group of people.

Apart from the nearby skiing there are also a number of walks in the immediate area. The dining options are limited in the town especially mid-week in winter. I had meals a couple of times at Braemar Lodge (across the road) and at Moorfield House which is a bit out of the way but still within walking distance. Top voted TA option at time of writing, The Gathering Place Bistro, was only open on Friday & Saturday at the time I visited and therefore I didn’t get a chance to experience their offerings.

Add to the very comfortable and friendly surroundings at Callater Lodge a “winter special” rate of £80 for 3 days B&B and I definitely had an excellent value for money stay. No trouble recommending a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer. Very peaceful and comfortable. Andy and Liz were very welcoming and helpful. It is the first time that I have been able to look out of a bedroom window and watch a red squirrel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We love Callater Lodge. Everything Andy and Liz do is just perfect - from the little teddy bear that keeps out intruders (the "Do not disturb" sign), the exquisite breakfasts, coffee, and fabulous selection of whisky. Hot water bottle, and lovely toiletries - this is 5 star luxury, with a B&B price tag.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank WHRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night there but we should have stayed longer.
Very nice welcome, great room and welcome recomandations given by the owners (restaurants and walks).
The breakfast was also very good.
Thank you very much!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twirlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just spent three days using Braemar as a base for exploring the area. Callater Lodge is a charming and characterful building, just a couple of minutes walk from the centre of the village, surrounded by stunning scenery. There are a small number of restaurants in Braemar catering for various budgets, and the three that we went to were all good.

Our hosts, Andy and Liz, were very hospitable. They gave us good and honest advice about the local attractions, where to find walks of various lengths and difficulties, plus recommendations for dinner. Breakfast was excellent, and our room was fine. Would definitely return. All in all, highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Muttley_Van_Belgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
292 reviews
0 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
22.8 mi away
Lys-Na-Greyne
Lys-Na-Greyne
#1 of 8 in Aboyne
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Youth Hostel
Braemar Youth Hostel
#2 of 2 in Braemar
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callater Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callater Lodge Guest House

Address: 9 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a good night's sleep in our newly-renovated bedrooms, start the day with our legendary breakfast - locally-sourced ingredients, home-made tattie scones, fantastic porridge. Set out with a generous packed lunch, including our famous home-baking. In the evening relax in front of the cosy wood-burner with a malt whisky, glass of wine or local beer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Callater Lodge Guest House Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing