We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, enjoyed the birdlife”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Braemar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cranford Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Braemar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Great location, enjoyed the birdlife”
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Very warm welcome with tea and homemade cake on arriving.
Cosy room with all facilities.
Enjoyed watching the birds and a red squirrel on the feeders at breakfast time
Thanks Sarah and Alister for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melville027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    23
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
70
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

The owners were helpful & very friendly & knowledgeable about the area. Skiing counditions ok & location great for Glenshee. Rooms comfortable & home cooking & baking great - loved the chocolate brownies. Will definitely be going back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen0nHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed at the Cranford Guest House on Sept. 1st for one night. Very modern and nice location. It was great to see a computer in the main floor for us to use as well as wi-fi throughout the house. They even had ipod docking stations in all the rooms! Some of the B&Bs we stayed in Scotland were no where near as "technologically advanced"!
The rooms were nice and the breakfast very tasty. The hosts are some of the nicest people you will meet and the price is very reasonable. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albbruck
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed at Cranford guest house for 2 nights. Host were ewlcoming and helpful, gave as some recommendations for the places to go for Dinner. The room was nicely decorated, but a bit small.

Bramear is a small village, a excellent starting point for hiking in the Grampian higlhlands.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Cranford Guest House is a very nice decorated B&B in Braemar - all rooms are very modern, clean and beautifully decorated. But when we arrived noone was there so we went down Braemar (very small) and tried again an hour later. Bathroom facilities are all very noisy. Breakfast was okay but contained a lot of prepacked things. As this was the most expensive accommodation we had during our trip it was not fully worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaundTorsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfordbraemar, Owner at Cranford Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Thanks for your positive comments on the bedrooms, decoration and cleanliness.

However, we are perplexed by some of the other feedback. The only pre-packed breakfast items we serve are butter and cheese portions. All other items - jams, marmalade, sugar, cereals, condiments, sauces etc are not. We are very mindful of unnecessary packaging. All our fresh meat comes from the local butcher, eggs come from our own hens and are supplemented from local free range chickens. Bread and cakes are baked daily by us.

Our literature states that check-in is from 4pm. However we are normally available from 3pm onwards to receive guests.

All our bathrooms except one are en suite, by design therefore, you may have some noise from your bathroom in your bedroom, but this is not something other guests have mentioned before.

Our room rates are competitive compared with other guest houses offering similar levels of service, comfort and facilities. For example we include free WiFi, laptop, private parking plus FreeSat TV and ipod docks, homebakes and fairtrade drinks in all rooms. There is a free laundry service, map and guide book loan and drying room.

Once again, thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback and hope that on the whole your trip to Scotland was an enjoyable and rewarding one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
162 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Had to drive a way to get there and got in about 7:00 PM. Lady of the house told us where we get supper and gave good directions. Room was fine and breakfast was great. She was friendly and helpful. Braemer is very small but it was on the road to Balmoral Castle which is only about 9 miles away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brrkshire
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Cranford is a super place to spend a few days peaceful days relaxing, walking and seeing the local castle. The rooms are very comfortable and our hosts were always friendly and on hand with local information. The breakfasts were huge and delicious, they set us up for the day, I particularly enjoyed the scrambled egg, but there was so much else to choose from I didnt get round to trying everything. It was great to be able to go on walks straight from Cranford without needing the car. Also in the evening we walked to local bars and restraunts rather than needing the car. The scenary is stunning we watched the birds whilst eating breakfast and saw herds of red deer when walking. All in all: highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A1Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.6 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
13.0 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranford Guest House

Property: Cranford Guest House
Address: 15 Glenshee Road, Braemar AB35 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deservedly popular guest house in Braemar, providing a home from home experience, in the heart of the stunning Cairngorms National Park.Contemporary ensuite bedrooms and a range of wholesome and healthy breakfast options await you. Alastair is a keen mountaineer, always happy to advise on the local area and Sarah is a great homebaker. The dream ticket! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cranford Guest House Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing