We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Travelled with shearings.. More snow this week than i have ever seen. Minus 22 on coldest night but lovely and warm in hotel. Coach trip made enjoyable by our driver WEE BOB. Food in the hotel was very nice. Ample for me and i have a good appetite. Hotel is a little dated but this is in keeping with the old building. Definately recomend and we will return. Braemar village is small but quaint, tea rooms, gift shops, good pub. If you like scenic walks this place is great.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyhutchison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 570 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2010

Travelled with Shearings 1st Feb 2010. Splendid hotel and we had a superb room in the centre of the hotel, top floor. Lovely staff, always a smile. Good food and service and comfortable seating in bar area. There is an adjacent room (music room) and a relaxing area by the foyer. A space for all tastes.

Braemar village is a delight, and within minutes of walking from the hotel you are in the full blown wilds of magnificent scenery. There is a pub in the village, a post office and several shops and eateries.

If you are not sure about booking, well, book it. It is delightful. Good hotel, good food, good views, good staff. And good luck! enjoy it. Whether you are 30 or 90 go to Braemar.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank argyleMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

It was one of the worst hotels have ever stayed at, its very tired the decor and in a good need of a complete refurbishment. The food was awful and portions were very small, myself and several other guest's complained nearly every evening, yet the standards never improved during our stay. The deserts were served still frozen, the lamb was very fatty more was thrown away than eaten. The only good point was the barman Michael who was very helpful. Would never go near the place if it was offered to me free.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frimo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

what a lovely hotel, great staff, lovely room, great dining room with lovely views, food great, lovely breakfasts and a sweet little village, very pretty and fantastic scenery, we would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyholidayer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We have just returned from a four night break in this hotel, having booked through Shearings. The hotel is very much aimed at the older customer and this should be taken into account when booking. We had no problem with this at all and found our fellow residents extremely friendly.

The main problem in the hotel lies in its owners' unwilling to modernise. We paid extra for a room with a view, and while the views were great, the room itself failed to impress. The carpets were threadbare in several places and the room had a generally dingy feel to it. The layout was poor, with a large dressing table being placed right in front of the main window making it pretty much impossible to safely open and close windows. The room felt cluttered and was made worse by the fact my partner was confined to a wheelchair. Access to the small bathroom was unnessacarily difficult and we had to keep moving the bed in order to successfully navigate around the room. Sockets are sparse. There was one behind the afore-mentioned dressing table which was pretty difficult to access and one next to the door. With all of this in mind, I would definitely think twice before recommending the hotel to wheelchair users. There is a lift, but it only fits three people in comfortably and that becomes one when using a wheelchair.

The restaurant has a set three-course menu each evening. The food was average, seeming to have been reheated and the portions are definitely on the small side. This was a small grouch though. For the money paid the food is pretty good value. The desserts were good and full marks for variety. (There is a choice of dishes each evening). The staff were helpful and efficient.

The hotel bar only served two beers; Fosters lager and John Smiths bitter. There were a few bottled beers and ciders available and the selection of wines and spirits was good. The bar staff were particularly friendly and I felt very welcome. The bar does cultivate a nice atmosphere and is quite cosy.

The hotel does offer entertainment on some evenings. As you would expect, this is aimed at the old customer. We found some of the acts to be quite entertaining and it certainly kept some of the old folks happy. The entertainment takes place in a separate room anyway and can be easily avoided should you wish!

The Invercauld is in an excellent location, has good staff and adequate food, but the management need to put some money into modernisation to make this a hotel worth recommending.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamano_kaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in February.

The hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming and friendly. First impression was good.

Getting from the rear car park to the reception was not an easy task with luggage. No problems checking in and the girl on the reception was very nice. On the way to the room the stairway carpet and walls had obviously experienced lots of traffic and it left us wondering what to expect when we reached our room. We were pleasantly surprised with the room, however the bathroom was a bit dated.

We found at this time of year that it was mostly older people who were staying at the hotel and the hotel was obviously more geared up for them.

As already mentioned the food portions were small, but i would say they were ample and the weekend package was good value for money.

There is a nice hotel bar in the village called the Fife Arms, which is more suitable for the younger age group (Under 65).

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stwblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Hotel is in need of redecoration through out. Meals were small in quantity, main course served on a large teaplate. Breakfast was cold on the saturday.The heating in the rooms was not adequate at the best of times and on returning from a trip out on the sunday we arrived back at the hotel to find that the heating had been turned off while we were out. The hotel stated that there would be entertainment on it was not entertaining! We travelled with Shearings which involved an hour and ten minute wait at stretton interchange, a 1hour stop at Gretna Green,and a 45 minute stop at Stirling, this made a 6 hour journey into a 10 hour journey.

Stayed: February 2009
Thank Dolly004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
297 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
655 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
377 reviews
22.3 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range: $69 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing