We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dalmunzie Castle(Spittal of Glenshee)
$232
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deeside Inn(Ballater)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Clova Hotel(Milton of Clova)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
$165
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Mountview Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (597)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
143
220
114
66
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
220
114
66
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself drivedining roomshearings holidaycoach driverscenic viewthe ground floorshearings hotelsevening entertainmenthalf boardbraemar castlereception areaexcellent driverexcellent value for moneypublic roomsheated towel raila la carte menutea coffee
Filter
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 597 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a 5 night trip.Last stayed here in the mid eighties and i swear its exactly the same.Very tired bedrooms.Food reminded me of school dinners but with substantially less of it.Truly awful.B'fast ok if you keep your eyes shut,Dinner inedible.Restaurant and Bar staff trying hard-Manageress should return to working in the prison service-wont even stand up when talking to guests,very poor.Also had a 'false' Fire Alarm at 4.15am.No explanation offered.All the same Braemar lovely-have heard good things about the Breamar Lodge Hotel so maybe try there next time.Used the Braemar Butcher for packed lunch baking every day-excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dando2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Disappointing to read your review of your recent stay with us, I totally disagree with your comments regarding our food been inedible, if you had brought any of this to my management team we would have been able to resolve these issues rather than now on trip advisor. The hotel lounge and restaurant have recently been refurbished and so have some of our bedrooms we try to update where we can.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from a weekend stay at the invercauld, we were put in room 37 where we had previously been allocated two years ealier, it was very tired looking then , When we walked in we noticed nothing had changed so went back to the reception and were offered room 3 as an exchange but decided to stay in room 37 because room three was very near the kitchen and you had to pass through the dining area to enter the area, The stained walls, flaking and patched wallpaper along with frayed carpets which were so dirty and stained my wife refused to walk barefoot on the carpet. The bathroom had brken tiles and did not smell very nice.

Like similar reviews i would say the staff are a credit to Bay Hotels and visitors but feel Bay Hotels are poorly crediting visitors expecting them to stay in this condition of room. is this really representitive of what you want our over seas visitors to see ? i feel sorry for the lady who greeted us on check in on Saturday and when we vacated this morning she seemed to be working morning noon and night but always had a smile and was curtious . Bay hotels need to start investing to improve this property .

Room Tip: Ask to view room being allocated and avoid room 37
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sc0tland1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry your room was not to your satisfaction, you were offered a move to room 3 which had been recently decorated, we try and decorated when and where we can. I have a great team here I’ve past your comments onto them.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of the staff particularly the restaurant staff. However to be served pasta on three occasions was just such a disappointment. My non veggie friends found the food far from what they would expect. Sadly would not go back to that hotel purely on the basis of the food. ML

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

It’s good to see you couldn’t fault the staff but sorry to read you did not enjoy your dinner with us this is bit unusual. I have passed on your comments to our chef and waiting staff.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband booked a weekend at the Invercauld Arms as a Birthday Treat. Our room,No.52,was twin bedded,mismatched shabby furniture,and the carpet was not clean.Shower only, no bath,Shower clean, but no Shower Cap,no shower gel etc,got shower cap from reception and a sliver of soap!!. Food was fairly good,dining room service good.
I must comment on the fact that what appeared to be "cleaning cloths" over radiators does not create a good impression either.
I could not recommend this hotel to friends coming from overseas later this year.
Booked through Shearings ,have used them before,but doubt if we will again
Mrs C Morrison

Room Tip: View from Room 52 very good, but room furniture shabby
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Firstly thank you for your comments; we appreciate praise and criticism as it ultimately improves our service. I am pleased you enjoyed the meals in the restaurant and found the service to be good. I must apologise for the cloths been on the radiators and I have spoken to housekeeping regarding this as it is not a good impression.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just back from weekend at the Braemar Arms in Braemar Boyd & Betty Hamilton ML3 7A
Staff excellent
Room fantastic enogh space to hold a party
Food really good value
Wine cost more than reasonable
Bar prices very good for a hotel
Lift needs to be found not too clear but it does go at a reasonable speed Strathpeffer pay attention
Entertainment on the Fri was with Young Harry good country music with wry humour well done dont know how he survives at the top of Glen Shee in that tin can of his
Sat evening excellent programme from Robbie Carran kept us in fits with his music and humour---watch the 4 door action really hilarious
People complain but at this service quality for the price it cant be beaten go elsewhere if you weant to complain
Werll done Bay hotels again
We are off to Obann to see if they can beat trhe Braemar will take a lot

Room Tip: I think you will be happy with the large room accommodation we stayed in 11 but view was at the rear but it was for sleeping not looking out of window all day
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Many thanks for leaving such a great review. It’s great to receive a five star review, glad you enjoyed your holiday with us, look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews