We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Spent the holiday weekend ( Friday - Sunday half board ) at the Invercauld Hotel Braemar, Scotland. The hotel is an old period property with lots of character spread across three levels with numerous stairs. One lift serves the upper floors so patrons could have a lengthy walk to their allocated room.
The Staff were excellent and attended to all of our needs, the food was first class, varied, and served piping hot at the table. House wine reasonably priced at £14.99 per bottle.
Our room No.36 was clean and tidy although the bathroom left a lot to be desired with cracked and broken tiles and an extremely annoying noisy overhead expelair fan motor.
All in all, good value for money and would return again.

Room Tip: For people with mobilty problems - choose an upper room near the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plasterer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to read it. I’m glad you found the holiday to be excellent value for money; I have passed your comments onto my staff. Hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    205
    90
    53
    37
See reviews for
58
303
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were on a Newmarket 5 day holiday to Royal Deeside. The Hotel was changed about six week before we went on this holiday. The hotel is large and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. We had a large twin room in the front of the Hotel with a lovely view of the mountains in the distance. The room was clean, beds very comfortable and there were extra blankets which we used as it was cold. The ensuite bathroom had a shower over the bath and was adequate. Unfortunately, the food is not up to the standard one would expect. The breakfasts offered a choice of hot and cold dishes but we found when we ordered poached or boiled eggs they were cold and hard. The quality of the bread was poor as were the juices. Why do hotels have to water down the juice? I would rather have less choice and good quality rather then the opposite. The dinners were really poor, my husband had lasagne one evening which came swimming in fat and another evening he had braised steak which was so tough he couldn't eat any of it. I had a vegetarian dish one evening which included goat's cheese which was the size of a pound coin. We didn't go expecting gourmet food but at least good food cooked well. The Hotel is well situated for discovering this area of Scotland and we had an excellent Tour Guide and coach driver. It's a shame to have to complain but it you were travelling independently and had booked half board you would be disappointed with the food.

Room Tip: Large twin room at the front of the Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbaraWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time too post a review of your recent stay, glad you liked the hotel the scenery is magical, sorry to read you did not enjoy the food this is unusual, I have passed on your comments to chef and waiting staff.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our room had a 4 foot bed which is not wide enough for 2 adults but the radiator worked well to keep the room warm. Indeed we climbed up on the wide window ledge to open the window slightly for fresh air.

The bedroom door closers are too powerful so be careful and the bedroom door do slam.

Unless you are in Braemar in busy week (september) the town is so quiet that you need not worry about a room looking over the road which actually gives a good view over the valley.

There is entertainment 3 nights a week but we were so tired after several days outings that we ate well and went to sleep rather than catch the entertainment. This entertainment is for the older generation.

Food is fair to good and your waisteline will grow here. One idiosyncracy is that they insist on seating you on communal tables if you come in a coach party so order a single table at the time of booking or at least in advance if you want privacy.

By the way the wine waiter is so overworked it is best to buy your alcohol in the bar beforehand and take it into the dining room with you.

There is limited wifi but no public computers so take your own.

Braemar is the home of the highland games and the nearby castle is apparently open only at weekends. It was scaffolded when we were there. A little coop shop sells most provisions nearby and stays open to 10 pm in summertime.

Plentiful hot water in the antequated bathroom. We stayed in bedroom 37.

Regards.

Chris & Anna

Room Tip: If there are 2 of you ask for a bed that is wider than 4 foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a mixed review. Our beds are standard size double beds are not 4 foot. We offer free Wi-Fi in the front lounge. Glad you enjoyed the food and found my staff to be welcoming.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Celebratory break. Very disappointed with hotel. Generally poorly maintained. Bathroom numerous problems. Dated, drab decor.Evening meal not good, breakfast not too bad though. Staff efficient and smiling, Our break is with Shearings holidays, the first time we have used them, don't know if we will use them again if this is the quality of there hotels. Our visit comes to an end on Friday 17th May, what should have been a big celebration for me has been a bit of a damp squib, the hotel spoiling it in many ways.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, im sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, glad you found the staff to be efficient, its hard for me to tell what room you stayed in. as you can see from many other positive reviews our food is praised. Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked this through Shearings Self Drive breaks the night before departure and got an excellent value for money three night trip.
We booked a superior room and for £89 per person we enjoyed dinner bed and breakfast.
The room was clean, tidy and comfortable.
Towels were changed daily, there was a plentiful supply of hot water and very pleasant toiletries.
Meals whilst adequate were certainly not haute cuisine but value for money they most certainly were.
All staff excepting one male waiter in the restaurant were very pleasant and cheery.
The hotel is nicely situated on the edge of the village of Braemar.
Would recommend this hotel with the proviso that if booked as a last minute break it is definitely value for money.....not sure how it'd rate at full price.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room and you'll have a very comfortable and spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiYaHun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a good review, it’s great to read that you found your holiday to be great value for money, hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Two x 3 night stay and, although a year apart, the same, excellent care. The entertainment was particularly good, especially on each Saturday night. We enjoyed a singer with a very easy listening voice who also had a good sense of humour. As for the meals, there was a varied choice, everything was served hot and it was very wholesome. All this for £89 - dinner and breakfast for 3 nights. Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle. This means you will be looking over hills and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
What a super review of your recent stay with us thank you, glad you enjoyed your second stay with us as well. I have passed on all your comments to all the staff, and look forward to welcoming you back a third time,
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from Braemar. Hotel clean but as to age of building needs very slight upgrade
Food was excellent. Good choice and always piping hot. Staff very friendly and willing to give any advice as to local walks and amenities Would definitely recommend it. Difference from night to day as our last experience in Great Yarmouth lest year

Room Tip: Corner suits have lovely view along valley towards Braemar Castle Note no Fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandSuperintendent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the good review, I’m glad you found our food to be excellent, I have past your comment onto the kitchen team. Hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
268 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing