We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just spent a night in the loevly Invercauld arms, first impressions were very good, Building lovely and grounds clean, The staff were friendly and welcoming, got to our room where we were pleasently surpirsed the pictures do not do it justice, Tea, Coffee and plasma on the wall in the room, Beds very comfortable to sleep in and everything very clean throughout. Good food, Drink and a friendly atmosphere, Both my wife and I think it was money well spent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for writing a cracking review of you recent stay with us, we have a great team here, who go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable, hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    205
    90
    53
    37
See reviews for
58
303
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Just had a weekend at this lovely hotel and can thoroughly reccomend it. On arrival first impressions were very good. Hotel was lovely and warm got booked in quickly and went to our room. It was a good size, lovely and warm. nice bed linen and towels, loads of tea, coffee and milk, and a view to the mountains to die for. The price we paid included four drinks per night per person at the bar so that was an added bonus. The meals were excellent with several choices for starters main and dessert. Coffee was served in the lounge where we also enjoyed the entertainment on the Friday and Saturday nights.
On the Saturday we had a good look round Braemar which didn't take long as ofcourse it is now out of season. I am sure it would be very different in the summer months. We then took a bus into Ballater which was most enjoyable. The weather was very cold but it was a lovely sunny day and we had come prepared.
The staff at this Hotel are excellent and cannot do enough for you. Would love to go back in the summer and go on some of the walks although I must say the scenery on the way there was fantastic with all the autumn colours of the trees.
Go there if you can there are some great deals with Shearings at the moment!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeniffer011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a very positive review of your recent holiday with us, it’s always nice to know that you enjoyed your break, I will pass on your comments to my staff, hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night half board weekend break which included a 4 drinks package and was the best value break i have ever had.Stayed in a premier room which was enormous nice and warm due to large radiators on each wall.Food was good with cooked breakfast and 3 course evening meal with several choices.Staff were attentive and friendly eastern european, would have been nice if there had been more locals employed who could have helped as to what the area had to offer.Weather was good had some lovely walks most started right in the village.All in all had a great time and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a good review, I’ve past your praise onto my staff, it’s always nice to know that you had an enjoyable break with us, look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Travelodge, eat your heart out - this is what you call value for money!! 3 nights half board plus 4 free drinks a night for £84 pp. Wonderful old hotel in the middle of the Highlands. Open fires, friendly helpful staff, lovely cooked breakfasts, good choice for evening meals (3 courses). Room was good-sized, nice big double bed, lovely view, big bath, tea/coffee, TV/radio, no noise from adjacent rooms. I'm sure the whingers would find something to moan about, eg decor a bit tatty in places, some of the portions were a bit small and vegs were tasteless., but at these prices it would be hard to beat. Me and Maggie had a wonderful time and will be back again once the skiing has started up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a very positive review of your recent stay with us, we try and offer value for money, I have a great team who love reading these review it makes our job worthwhile, look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just back from a Shearings 5 day holiday from 5th November. Unbeatable value with 3 nights of entertainment, which were singers with a bit of comedy thrown in. An included drinks package of 4 drinks a day that can be a pint beer or a glass of wine or a short and mixer as well as soft drinks and tea or coffee. The staff at the Hotel are first class mainly from eastern Europe but so attentive. The food is good plenty of variety and always hot with breakfast of cereals, orange juice, fruit, kippers and the full cooked breakfast with toast tea or coffee. The Hotel is clean and comfortable not 5 star and not posh but we had no complaints and had everything we wanted with tea and coffee facilities in the room and a flat screen TV. We had a nice view of the surrounding hills and road but did pay £24 extra each for scenic view room for the 4 nights. Braemar is only a small village to look round but there are walks at the back of the Hotel through the woods and hills. We went on 2 included excursions one to Aberdeen and paid for 2 more at about £10 each per excursion. The weather was kind and we had a nice break that was very good value for money and we were well looked after.

Room Tip: Second floor near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for posting a cracking review of your recent break with us, we have a great team here, they go that extra mile to make your stay enjoyable one, we offer value for money hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

we stayed from 2nd to the 5th of Nov.2012 .the staff were excellent the food was great and the rooms were very comfortable and clean,Bar and the lounges with coal fire were atmospheric and so relaxing and friendly-a feeling of times past,we will be back!

Room Tip: room 4 had a small conservatory and although near the front it was a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alba186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank for posting a fantastic review, it’s always nice to know that you enjoyed your break with us, I will pass on your prise to my staff who love reading these reviews, hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for Easter this year as part of a Shearings coach holiday and decided to do it again two weeks ago as we enjoyed it so much. It is an old hotel and there are parts of it that need attention, but for a small village in remote Scotland, I have to say it is full of character and welcoming. If other people want modern plastic hotels, then perhaps they should visit a city centre.
Fantastic value and the food was good. This time we upgraded to a premier room which was quite modern and very large with a large bay window. Well worth the extra £23 per night !! We found the staff to be excellent and couldn't do enough for us. We were sorry to leave. Oh and well done 'small Bob' for another five days of beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank douglasattyneandwear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for posting a review, glad you enjoyed your second break with us, it’s always great to know that you enjoyed your stay, I will pass on your praise to my staff, I’ve past your comments on to wee Bob, hope to see you again in the not so distant future.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
268 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
580 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
846 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing