We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place shame about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice place shame about the breakfast”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This place has been renovated and it has a lovely reception and lounge areas. We wanted a bedroom with a bath but it hadn't been renovated yet - the room was perfectly acceptable, although mattress was a bit lumpy and the bathroom was as expected for a room not yet renovated.

Good location.

The staff were very friendly and obviously hard working.

What lets this hotel down very badly is the breakfast! I was embarrassed to be in a Scottish hotel serving such cheap nasty food. Cereal was all cheap versions, tinned fruit, no yogurt. The cooked breakfast was pitiful, served on small plates to look big! No croissant or pastries. It really was woeful. It was like going back to Scottish tourism of the 1980"s.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    206
    97
    54
    42
See reviews for
62
313
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kilmarnock ayrshire Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

No real complaints at all, great value for money, pleasant staff,
food good, clean rooms ect.
Most staff foreign, like most hotels these days these though quite
able too communicate, with patrons.
The staff were spotless, and very well dressed, immaculate.
Exellent managment, keeping staff on their toes, at all times,
which is good for all, including staff, getting properly trained.
Having been twice, the only difference i found, was the portions
on the dinning room plates, were slightly smaller.
wes/ jacky.

Room Tip: No real complaints, we have too keep in mind this is an old but elegant building. wes/ jacky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just back from holiday stayed at the invercauld hotel , braemer is a lovely place a walkers dream the hotel is fine to a point nice lounge area good bar the rooms are somewhat dated the bath rooms need tlc breakfast is fine but the dinner oh dear frozen veg the rissoto that was vile pudding rice used ? to make a plate of gruel the rest of the menue was boring it looked like packet mash was used needs to improve must tell you this when ordering a pint of guinness at the bar they have it on draught right but you get it from can pour it a glass then froth it up onthe guinness pump then you get charged draught price cant make it up can you.enjoy your holiday .....

Room Tip: one that is not near the kitchen or over it too noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a mixed review of your recent stay with us, our lounge has been recently refurbised and the bar is lovely to sit and relax at the end of day, the bathrooms are clean and have everything your require, we are going thorugh a refurbishemnt programme. Sorry to read you did not enjoy the Rissoto, I have checked with the head chef and it is not pudding rice. As for the Pint of Guinness we do not sell draught it is Guinness surger this should have been explained to you at the time, it was not topped up to a pint as we do not have draught Guinness.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The selection of eateries in the Highlands is pretty slim, even more so to find a place that serves really good food unless you already know where to go. The Invercauld wasn't our first choice as it was a bit of a walk from where we had parked but I'm glad we found it! We were famished and probably would have eaten anything to be honest!
The lovely young gent at reception showed us to the bar and advised that it would only be sandwiches as lunch serviced had finished for the day - however after getting us our drinks he nipped off and came back to let us know that we could have any of the main meals if we liked.
The selection wasn't great - very much Highland pub grub - nothing fancy, but there was something for everyone I'm sure. We went for a burger and chips, and fish and chips - both arrived promptly and were well dressed/garnished and although we were ready to bite a chunk out of our own arms we were so hungry, I have to say both dishes were absolutely gorgeous - I would even go as far to say it was one of the best fish and chips I have ever had - not the freshest but definitely one of the tastiest! I was very impressed, and the portions were so generous that I couldn't finish mine!
Not the best place I have ever eaten, but it was exactly what we needed, the service was great and we left happy - will definitely be back if we are over that direction again and I can highly recommend. The bar also had a great selection of drinks - we didn't sample any but if that's your thing you would be more than happy!
Great spot - a definite hidden gem and not a cream tea in sight!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a cracking review of your recent lunch stop with us, glad you enjoyed our food, next time your in the area please pop in for lunch.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying here recently during the Braemar Games. One of the worst rooms I have ever slept in ( small, shabby, dark and smelling of fried food ) followed by some of the worst food I have ever attempted to eat. A disgrace and expensive to boot !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent break with us, we try and offer value for money and as you can see we receive some nice reviews on our rooms and food, sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Braemar hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is a sign outside the Invercauld Arms declaring "Food Available." What it doesn't mention is the word, " inedible," which is what it is. A breakfast dish described as a tasty slice of gammon with poached eggs, turned out to be a pair of re-heated pale yolks sidling up to a slice of wafer thin ham - with none of the expected toast. The room was faded and falling to bits in many ways. Poor bathroom and stained bed covers. The inflexibility of the staff was out of line with the season and potential trade to be gained. A grand building with huge opportunity but little in the way of fine hospitality management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WernerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us but i disagree with your comment regarding our food as inedible and am surpised about your comment regarding our staff as they go out thier way to make guests stay enjoyable and receive excellant reviews for thier friendliness and helpfulness.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Didn't stay here, attempted to eat!

After arriving in Braemar after a 6 hour drive, we went to this hotel for a spot of lunch as it had two signs outside stating "food served here". We were starving and looking forward to lunch however, we were advised by man on reception that lunch is only served until 2. At 2.10, we found this quite ridiculous.

Braemar was full of tourists and holiday makers but this hotel are clearly doing very well to be able to turn people away!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LL_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm very surprised to read you did not get a chance to eat with us as we serve hot food from 12pm-2pm and light lunches after that, we do not turn potential customers away, i've looked into this further and find it strange you tried to eat at the Fife Arms hotel at the same time, next time your in the village please pop in for lunch with us.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
280 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
19.5 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
359 reviews
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing