We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
kilmarnock ayrshire Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Short holiday”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

No real complaints at all, great value for money, pleasant staff,
food good, clean rooms ect.
Most staff foreign, like most hotels these days these though quite
able too communicate, with patrons.
The staff were spotless, and very well dressed, immaculate.
Exellent managment, keeping staff on their toes, at all times,
which is good for all, including staff, getting properly trained.
Having been twice, the only difference i found, was the portions
on the dinning room plates, were slightly smaller.
wes/ jacky.

Room Tip: No real complaints, we have too keep in mind this is an old but elegant building. wes/ jacky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wes k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    202
    90
    53
    35
See reviews for
57
301
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just back from holiday stayed at the invercauld hotel , braemer is a lovely place a walkers dream the hotel is fine to a point nice lounge area good bar the rooms are somewhat dated the bath rooms need tlc breakfast is fine but the dinner oh dear frozen veg the rissoto that was vile pudding rice used ? to make a plate of gruel the rest of the menue was boring it looked like packet mash was used needs to improve must tell you this when ordering a pint of guinness at the bar they have it on draught right but you get it from can pour it a glass then froth it up onthe guinness pump then you get charged draught price cant make it up can you.enjoy your holiday .....

Room Tip: one that is not near the kitchen or over it too noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank martin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a mixed review of your recent stay with us, our lounge has been recently refurbised and the bar is lovely to sit and relax at the end of day, the bathrooms are clean and have everything your require, we are going thorugh a refurbishemnt programme. Sorry to read you did not enjoy the Rissoto, I have checked with the head chef and it is not pudding rice. As for the Pint of Guinness we do not sell draught it is Guinness surger this should have been explained to you at the time, it was not topped up to a pint as we do not have draught Guinness.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The selection of eateries in the Highlands is pretty slim, even more so to find a place that serves really good food unless you already know where to go. The Invercauld wasn't our first choice as it was a bit of a walk from where we had parked but I'm glad we found it! We were famished and probably would have eaten anything to be honest!
The lovely young gent at reception showed us to the bar and advised that it would only be sandwiches as lunch serviced had finished for the day - however after getting us our drinks he nipped off and came back to let us know that we could have any of the main meals if we liked.
The selection wasn't great - very much Highland pub grub - nothing fancy, but there was something for everyone I'm sure. We went for a burger and chips, and fish and chips - both arrived promptly and were well dressed/garnished and although we were ready to bite a chunk out of our own arms we were so hungry, I have to say both dishes were absolutely gorgeous - I would even go as far to say it was one of the best fish and chips I have ever had - not the freshest but definitely one of the tastiest! I was very impressed, and the portions were so generous that I couldn't finish mine!
Not the best place I have ever eaten, but it was exactly what we needed, the service was great and we left happy - will definitely be back if we are over that direction again and I can highly recommend. The bar also had a great selection of drinks - we didn't sample any but if that's your thing you would be more than happy!
Great spot - a definite hidden gem and not a cream tea in sight!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a cracking review of your recent lunch stop with us, glad you enjoyed our food, next time your in the area please pop in for lunch.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had the misfortune of staying here recently during the Braemar Games. One of the worst rooms I have ever slept in ( small, shabby, dark and smelling of fried food ) followed by some of the worst food I have ever attempted to eat. A disgrace and expensive to boot !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your recent break with us, we try and offer value for money and as you can see we receive some nice reviews on our rooms and food, sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

There is a sign outside the Invercauld Arms declaring "Food Available." What it doesn't mention is the word, " inedible," which is what it is. A breakfast dish described as a tasty slice of gammon with poached eggs, turned out to be a pair of re-heated pale yolks sidling up to a slice of wafer thin ham - with none of the expected toast. The room was faded and falling to bits in many ways. Poor bathroom and stained bed covers. The inflexibility of the staff was out of line with the season and potential trade to be gained. A grand building with huge opportunity but little in the way of fine hospitality management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WernerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us but i disagree with your comment regarding our food as inedible and am surpised about your comment regarding our staff as they go out thier way to make guests stay enjoyable and receive excellant reviews for thier friendliness and helpfulness.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
198 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Didn't stay here, attempted to eat!

After arriving in Braemar after a 6 hour drive, we went to this hotel for a spot of lunch as it had two signs outside stating "food served here". We were starving and looking forward to lunch however, we were advised by man on reception that lunch is only served until 2. At 2.10, we found this quite ridiculous.

Braemar was full of tourists and holiday makers but this hotel are clearly doing very well to be able to turn people away!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank LL_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
I'm very surprised to read you did not get a chance to eat with us as we serve hot food from 12pm-2pm and light lunches after that, we do not turn potential customers away, i've looked into this further and find it strange you tried to eat at the Fife Arms hotel at the same time, next time your in the village please pop in for lunch with us.
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldridge, Walsall West Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I returned to the Inverclaud Arms Hotel for the second time this year the first one in February 2012. This again was a 5 day Shearings break - a Taste of Scotland. The hotel was very much as we reviewed in February but one change was the General Manager had changed. (We did not meet Jane during our stay) We understand that the hotel is reverting to a 'Bay Hotel' from a 'Coast & Country'
We booked a standard room this time as many people in describing their rooms last time gave us the impression that we had wasted out money in booking a better room.
On arrival we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel with only a view of a flat roof and a very near wall. We immediatly complained to reception and although initially they told us there was nothing they could do we reminded them that another coach was due so there were currently many rooms empty. We were relocated to a good room a the front of the hotel.(room 60) A missing TV Remote was replaced on the second day and the room needs a little more maintenance. A Wardrobe door needed repairing and although reported - nothing was done. A light in the bathroom was not working and a cold tap needed securing. A simple room check would have put the room in order. It was well furnished and clean with room service daily.
Meals were good with 3 choices on both the A la Carte and Table de Hote menus. One need to book an early meal (6-30pm) to be able to get a seat in the entertainment Lounge.The service was.excellent overseen by Ian, a long serving and probably long suffering Restuarant Manager.
In February we had an excellent Driver in Geoff. Unfortunately this time we were not so lucky. Our driver had not been to the hotel and probably the area previously and that was indicated by his almost non existant commentry (He had to be told were the hotel was situated). He could have done a little research into places of interest prior to setting out but it was obvious he had not. He was also lacking a sense of humour. He seemed to have a very tight schedule, which he scaringly kept reading whilst driving, He was a competant driver but his speed did not really allow one to enjoy the ride or apppreciate the wonderful countryside which after all which is why we had gone to Scotland.
The half day excursion lasted an hour - it was only 6 miles from the hotel to the Linn of Dee.
Obviously the hotel is not involved in the transport arrangements or the tours and offer good value for money.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room ask for an alternative - they may be able to assist
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jane b, General Manager at The Invercauld Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for posting another great review, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us, ive looked at room 60 and have had maintenance rectify those small issues, im extremely sorry this was not done during your stay with us, look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future
Regards
Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.2 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moorfield House Hotel
Moorfield House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Braemar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
13.2 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
24.2 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invercauld Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invercauld Arms Hotel

Property: The Invercauld Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Braemar AB35 5YR, Scotland (Formerly Bay Invercauld Arms Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Invercauld Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive baronial style of The Invercauld Arms is set against the stunning backdrop of the Grampian Mountains. The Castle view Restaurant with its impressive windows and wood paneling adds to the character of the hotel and makes for an informal dining experience with us. The Rebel Lounge comes alive most evenings with our talented entertainers offering a relaxed style of entertainment for you to enjoy. In the winter months there is a traditional coal and log fire burning in the front lounge providing a warm welcome for weary travelers. The intimate atmosphere of our Slante Bar provides a very cosy and relaxed setting for unwinding at the end of the day. The Invercauld Arms is ideal for those looking to partake in outdoor activities, explore the Highlands or just relax and enjoy the unrivaled world famous Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Invercauld Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invercauld Arms Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing