We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moorfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So Quiet”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Moorfield House Hotel for one night last week. The service was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. What struck us more than anything was how quiet it was. We slept with the windows open because of the heat and there was not a sound all night. We would certainly stay here again in Breamar.

Room Tip: We slept in a family room in an out-building. It was very nice inside. Outside plenty of flowers had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    52
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
153
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a long weekend stay in Braemar that due to my last minute planning meant staying in a Shearings hotel in the village. I had intended to book into the Moorfield but missed the chance, my own fault.

Anyway, we were fortunate enough to make it up the hotel on our last night in Braemar, a short walk up a not too steep hill, we dropped in unannounced for food, we were shown into the friendly bar, drinks orders were taken and we were left to digest the menu. The hotel owner Iain took our order and we enjoyed our drinks in the bar. The Stag on tap was a good choice!

When our food was ready we were taken through to the cosy dining room where we enjoyed a really nice three course meal, the steak was superb and probably the best meal of our long weekend. After dinner we returned to the bar for coffee.

We could not fault Iain on his welcome, manner and quality of service, the only reason I haven't given five out of five here is that we havent had the chance to stay in the rooms, yet!!

I would recommend the Moorfield to anyone staying in Braemar, in the winter I am sure this would be a great base for the ski season as well. Thats probably going to be our next stay, everybody start doing the snow dance now!!

Room Tip: This is not a negative review with no comments on rooms, we just havent had the opportunity to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianrdocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of nights at the Moorfield House Hotel and loved every minute of it. The room was quiet and comfortable with a modern en suite and a lovely view. We enjoyed meeting some of the fellow hotel guests and locals while we were hanging out in the hotel's bar and loved the full breakfast we had in the hotel's restaurant in the morning. We also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant and it was superb- all plates were freshly made on site and dessert happened to include some of the fresh strawberries from the garden. My boyfriend and I loved the quaint and friendly town of Braemar and our stay at Moorfield House Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndzeh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Travelling through the town, we chose the moor field for our evening meal as food is freshly prepared and served in the lovely dining room overlooking the Highland gathering ground. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed at the Moorfield last week and had to give this the write up it so fully deserves. My breath taken away going up the drive when I saw the view directly over the Braemar gathering site and the grounds of the hotel were stunning. Met with the owners Iain and Elspeth who were the perfect hosts giving me coffee and biscuits before I had even been shown to my room. My room was perfect with en suite and very well appointed. I ate in the restaurant and have to say not only was the food superb and plentiful but also really reasonable. Had a couple of drinks in the bar before bed and slept the sleep of the just. Couldn't believe the size of the breakfast as well. Left with a glow and will DEFINATELY be back. Superb

Room Tip: All rooms lovely and quiet you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Moorfield House Hotel (23 June 2013) when visiting with his parents. Ian's hospitality was wonderful. We also had our very well behaved Border Collie with us which, unlike in the rest of Braemar, he was more than welcome at Moorfield House (including in the room and bar but not the restaurant which was not a problem at all).

We had the family room behind the hotel which was very comfortable and exceptionally roomy and with no tv, it gave us a good excuse to dine in the onsite restaurant with the fabulous food. Prior to this, we wiled away a few hours in the bar with open fire which was very welcomed after the cold and miserable day we had!

Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and excellent value for money - a choice of a 2 or 3 course meal and as I was a vegetarian, the chef did not disappoint - with a goats cheese tart for me, and plenty of meaty options for my husband and his parents.

The breakfast the following morning was excellent with fresh fruit, cereals and a cooked breakfast which set us up for the remainder of the day!

Thank you to Ian for a fabulous stay and we'll sure to be back - sans inlaws!

Room Tip: As we had our dog, Ian put us in the family room with a double bed and 2 single beds due to this roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SchnooksScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay, all within a few miles of Balmoral and Braemar castles. Next door to the Braemar Showground where the highland games are held that the royals attend in September. Iain the proprietor was helpful, welcoming and very easy to chat to. The meals were excellent and would say to anyone staying there to eat in their restaurant as you could not find anything better, in the local town as we tried and regretted it. We stayed 3 nights and the first and last we ate in their restaurant, freshly cooked with lovely vegetables and good choices. The Sticky toffee pud was to die for! The bedrooms are lovely and the beds very comfy. Highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#2 of 4 in Ballater
615 reviews
20.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
361 reviews
24.7 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House Hotel

Property: Moorfield House Hotel
Address: Moorfield Chapel Brae, Braemar AB35 5YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park is run by Grant & Maria Mason and sits in a secluded location within the historic village of Braemar in Royal Deeside. Surrounded by mountains the hotel overlooks the famous Braemar Highland Games Gathering arena and is only yards from the Royal Pavilion. Recently refurbished the hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation, fresh home cooked food and is the ideal base for outdoor activities all year round. Our fully licensed restaurant which is also open to the public offers a locally sourced and freshly cooked menu which changes on a daily basis. Our bar which is open to the public is a warm and comfortable area to enjoy a relaxing evening by the log burner. We have a fully stocked bar with various real ales, lagers, ciders and a large collection of Malt Whisky’s. We have a TV showing sporting events from Sky & BT Sports. Evening meals can be served in the bar and we are dog friendly so your four-legged friend can enjoy an evening with you. We also have an outside seating area where drinks & meals can be enjoyed (weather permitting) with fabulous views over the Highland Games arena. Dogs are also welcome in this area. There is ample parking in our private car park for cars, Mini Buses and motor cycles, and we have drying facilities for wet clothing and lockable storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Moorfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing