We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top quality hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moorfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Certificate of Excellence
rhos on sea
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top quality hotel”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in the family room recently. What a treat, it is like having your own private detached accomodation. Warm cosy room beautifully furnished and the most comfortable bed. Top quality food prepared by an award winning chef. If you want breathtaking scenery and an excellent location, this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhosOnSeaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    49
    10
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
150
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Moorfield hotel for 3 nights in April 2013. Rates are very reasonable, and we really enjoyed the wholesome, appetising and well presented food. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the bar (with local real ales) is great. Iain made us very welcome and was very knowledgable about the local area.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank richardWhickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Following a really pleasant visit last year, we decided to make a return trip back to Moorfield Hotel. So glad that we did, the atmosphere is relaxed, food is still great and drinking beer/whiskey by the fire is spot on. Iain and Elspeth are great attentive hosts. Hope to come back next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked a room and when we arrived we were put in the cabin across the car park and not in the hotel as I thought we were ? the room was Ok but freezing ! they knew we had been skiing all day and never put the heating on until we arrived at 5.30pm ! I told them I was not happy I did not like there attitude so decided to leave. To book the room I had to give my card details (big mistake..) and they told me the room was £90 and we will lose our deposit ? what deposit I asked nothing was mentioned on the phone about a deposit ? the owner said it was mentioned and he was entiled to 50% of the full price of the room, so an argument broke out because I was furious about there atitude toward us and what they were trying to do with our money. It was there fault we were put outside of the hotel (freezing cabin) and we were going to pay for it !
To make matters much worse.. this owners had already taken the full amount out of our card account when he realised that we were leaving ! and then gave us back £50 cash... he was aggressive & very rude and ripped us off for nothing in return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOORFIELHOUSE, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Really all I can say is if anything it was this individual who was attempting a 'Rip off'.
You may also be surprised to note that this review has been written almost a year later.

If indeed we were behaving in a dishonest manner as he suggests from his review '' Headline'' his card company would have had no hesitation in refunding his money.
As far as we were concerned there were no issues with the room and indeed at the time his 'complaints ' were unspecified ,and the bottom line was that having entered into a contract with us for no good reason he decided to leave.
The heating issues is a red herring as the room is very well insulated and there are approx 7kw of heaters in the room and the bathroom has underfloor heating which is on 24/7
Given that we had on that afternoon turned someone else away who wished to book the family room I was not prepared to give a refund . Moreover he conveniently forgets to mention that by the time he decided the room was not what he wanted the toilet, hospitality tray had been used, and the bed crumpled .
This guy was very aggressive and after along argument I ( very reluctantly) give him a partial refund only to get rid of him.
Our family room is very popular as it can be used for up to 3 adults a family of four or as a twin or double.The majority of guests appreciate the privacy and additional space afforded by this room which is well insulated and has adequate heating.
Fundamentally the issue here is someone who did not read the booking conditions nor the description of the room,turned up cold and tired after a days skiing and decided on a whim to change their plans and expected me to foot the bill. They were not as he says 'put out to the family room' - he chose the room and booked it !!
The reality is that he got a partial refund which he really was' not actually entitled to - so I can't really see how that is a rip-off ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perfect hotel for a quiet relaxing break, no matter what the weather is, stayed here on a 2 night break, warm and friendly hospitality from Iain, excellent food both nights and hearty breakfasts, compliments to the chef, I will be back for the risotto !! best I have tasted, the woodburning stove in the bar a real bonus, and a well stocked bar, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Iain was very helpfull with his knowledge of the local area, and esp when the weather turned, offering us a room if we got stuck, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to the area, first class.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOORFIELHOUSE, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you , your comments are very much appreciated!., and we would be delighted to welcome you back !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a fabulous stay here on a weekend break. Iain was so welcoming and such a wonderful host. The room was perfect, comfortable, cosy and extremely clean. We are both foodies and the food served by the restaurant was equivalent to a 5 star restaurant (in fact, better than most hotels)..compliments to the Chef! It was delightful to see 2 red squirrels playing in the garden (not to mention the very friendly pheasant) whilst having our breakfast and looking out over the superb view. All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel and it will certainly be our first choice when visiting this area again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FairandSquare007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOORFIELHOUSE, Owner at Moorfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you ! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed a night after skiing in Glenshee (to which it is very close). Loved the hotel, the location and decor, and enjoyed our breakfast. We stayed in Room 4, which a has a great view of the sports ground, and a roomy shower in the en suite. Iain was a very helpful host, and gave us invaluable tips on the weather and on where to go to practice our winter mountaineering skills.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingMendicant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braemar
0.5 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Invercauld Arms Hotel
12.9 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
352 reviews
14.2 mi away
Deeside Inn
Deeside Inn
#3 of 4 in Ballater
599 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Craigendarroch Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorfield House Hotel

Property: Moorfield House Hotel
Address: Moorfield Chapel Brae, Braemar AB35 5YT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Braemar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Braemar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorfield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park is run by Grant & Maria Mason and sits in a secluded location within the historic village of Braemar in Royal Deeside. Surrounded by mountains the hotel overlooks the famous Braemar Highland Games Gathering arena and is only yards from the Royal Pavilion. Recently refurbished the hotel offers a warm and friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation, fresh home cooked food and is the ideal base for outdoor activities all year round. Our fully licensed restaurant which is also open to the public offers a locally sourced and freshly cooked menu which changes on a daily basis. Our bar which is open to the public is a warm and comfortable area to enjoy a relaxing evening by the log burner. We have a fully stocked bar with various real ales, lagers, ciders and a large collection of Malt Whisky’s. We have a TV showing sporting events from Sky & BT Sports. Evening meals can be served in the bar and we are dog friendly so your four-legged friend can enjoy an evening with you. We also have an outside seating area where drinks & meals can be enjoyed (weather permitting) with fabulous views over the Highland Games arena. Dogs are also welcome in this area. There is ample parking in our private car park for cars, Mini Buses and motor cycles, and we have drying facilities for wet clothing and lockable storage for bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and Hotwire so you can book your Moorfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorfield House Hotel Braemar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing