We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Break”
Review of Poolewe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poolewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed Fri/Sat nights & had a great time with friendly staff, food was excellent, stayed in the annexe, room was perfect bar........no soap dish in shower, not a biggy, but would have been handy, other than that a great stay was had by us both...highly recommended, definately will stay again

Room Tip: Room 10 in the annexe as it has the biggest window looking out over the loch
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Poolewe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight on a saturday. Our room, which was in the Annexe, was very good and it seems all the rooms have recently been refurbished to a good standard. The manager was very helpful and the bar very friendly. The food in general was good pub grub, the cullen skink probably the best I've tasted. The only bad point was my steak was overcooked and tough. I wasn't charged for this after I mentioned it. All in all the stay was a very pleasureable one and the location fantastic. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughcunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Poolewe Hotel has a superb location - looking down Loch Awe and is a perfect for getting to Inverewe Gardens and exploring the surrounding area.
Beware the hyperbolic language advertising the Hotel: the food is not 'excellent' or 'wonderful' - it is good pub food. The selection of local beers is very good and would recommend them.
The srtength of the hotel is the Polish/Scottish waiter who was very patient under pressure{ very busy breakfast room} and very helpful.
The room was disappointing: we left the hotel with a number of bruises - having bumped into just about every piece oof furniture in the room - so avoid room 8!
Overall, the Hotel represented reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed here having visited Inverewe Gardens on a tour of North Scotland. The room was comfortable and recently upgraded. Excellent bath - but would have been nice to have a shower option. We ate in house and the breakfast was good - the evening dinner could have been better as pastry underdone and sticky toffee pudding overdone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Poolewe hotel is situated in a stunning location. Lovely hotel, food and rooms. Only let down was the staff, which is a shame. One young lad with fair hair was making our drinks. I am not sure if he is new but the service was poor. He needs training, I am still not sure what you would have called the beer I was served. Normally in a pub if you are sat at the bar with an empty glass the person behind the bar will ask if you would like a refill, I had to ask even though the lad had looked over a few times and seen I was sat with an empty glass. Another young lad who was working in the kitchen was either drunk or stoned. I was in the car park and he was outside the kitchen smoking in his apron and drinking what appeared to be beer. The other member of staff, an older man, was extremely rude. Did not like his attitude at all, do not know how he's got a job there as his customer service is extremely poor. He shouted at a few customers during my stay. The stay could have been better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 959Anon_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidGS_13, Owner at Poolewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

I am sorry that our service let you down. Your comments are being investigated and hopefully procedures have now been put in place to prevent the issues recurring.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

i have just returned from a touring holiday of northern scotland with a relative and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. i chose it for its location to the Inverewe Gardens which is just across the bay and can be seen from the hotel. it is situated on the shore of loch ewe with lovely views from the restaurant and bar. we stayed in the annexe which has refurbished ground floor rooms. the food is fresh and well cooked and the staff friendly.the hotel is dog friendly. Poolewe is very small but Gairloch is 6 miles away and besides the gardens there are WW2 remains and a beautiful beach to visit further up the road past the hotel.there are also several walks starting from the village in walking distance from the hotel. it makes a good base and a comfortable one

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen57Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is a small hotel close to Inverewe Gardens. The room I had had a beautiful view, was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The bar was friendly, the food plain but very well cooked. I have to say I was impressed and would definitely stay there again. For the price you could not get better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingstmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
4.3 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
270 reviews
7.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poolewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poolewe Hotel

Address: Main Street | Highlands, Poolewe IV22 2JX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poolewe
Price Range: $115 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional highland hotel and restaurant, on the shores of Loch Ewe in sight of Inverewe Gardens. Poolewe Hotel is a 16th-Century coaching inn in the picturesque village of Poolewe on the shore of Loch Ewe near Gairloch on the NW Coast of Scotland. Just 90 minutes of beautiful easy driving from Inverness Airport. Set amidst dramatic Highland scenery, Poolewe Hotel is ideal for anyone wishing to explore this wild and beautiful corner of Scotland. Guests can choose from twelve en-suite bedrooms and suites, most enjoying spectacular views most of the sea or mountains. In addition, Poolewe Hotel boasts a reputation for excellent food with a restaurant, a conservatory dining area, and a bar. Log fires in all the public rooms contribute to the friendly atmosphere of this historic inn. The hotel welcomes dogs; there is ample parking and free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Visit Poolewe whether to relax or to enjoy an active holiday, or a combination of both. • Visit the world-famous National Trust for Scotland Inverewe Gardens situated less than a mile from the hotel, clearly visible from the hotel dining room. • Enjoy hill walking. There are maps available in the hotel outlining the various routes, catering for a wide range of abilities. • Trout and salmon fishing, whale watching, deer stalking, canoeing, climbing, mountain biking, pony trekking, golf are all on offer in the area. • Take in the beautiful and inspiring scenery. • Visit a traditional small highland distillery. • Witness the amazing wildlife of Western Europe's last true wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Poolewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolewe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing