We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pool House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pool House
Ranked #1 of 6 Poolewe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our first time at the Pool House and it is a truly fantastic place, Peter and his family are amazing hosts and made our stay one of the best experiences we have had for a while. We did treat ourselves and stay in the Nairana suite, which was fantastically furnished and decorated throughout with loads of artefacts and pictures. The food was that worthy of a five star hotel in London and was totally delicious, the service was second to none and the wine and drinks menu was extensive. As others have said we just can't fault the place, it may be expensive to some but worth every penny in our opinion and we can't wait to go back. Our stay was in May of this year and out of all the hotels we stayed in, in Scotland even though others tried, none came close to The Pool House well done all keep up the good work and thanks again! Stuart and Deborah.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so its easy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartB228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    9
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
119
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is the second time at this family run hotel, we had first class service from the time we arrived, every need was taken care, our room had a beautiful view across the loch, and the sun sets are lovely, the breakfast filled all needs from light breakfast to full scotish, i can personel recommend the full scotish breakfast.

We are already planning our return trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the place to come for a 100% experience. Everything was delivered with 100% effort, room, food, welcome, activity advice, service, we cannot fault anything. Our evening meals and breakfasts were superb. We felt very comfortable and at home.
Cannot wait to return again, staying gets better with every visit

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent Easter weekend at The Pool House in the Whimbrel room or Boat house as it is sometimes known. This was a bit of a treat for us and we wouldn't normally spend quite as much on a weekend away. However, The Pool House really did feel like it was worth every penny!

The hotel is perfectly placed next to Loch Ewe and I can honestly say I have never experienced such beauty in a location. It was simply perfect with the loch still and peaceful with lots of bird life on and around the water. It felt like we were given exclusive rights to one of the most beautiful spots in Scotland.

The accommodation itself was very well appointed, the bed wonderfully grand and comfortable and the bathroom quite stunning with a deep, luxurious under lit bath. We specifically chose the Whimbrel room for the secluded hot tub from which there are amazing views out over the water. What better way to relax aching limbs after a day walking round Loch Kernsary with a glass of wine in a hot tub?!
Speaking of which, the walk round Loch Kernsary is well worth doing. It's a circular route, suitable for novice walkers and at about 7 miles can be done in around 3 hours - or 4 hours with a couple of picnic stops! Again, the Loch and mountain views really are spectacular and there are are also some very friendly horses about half way round.
Breakfast was of the quality you would expect from this standard of hotel. We can vouch for the full Scottish (exceptional locally produced black pudding and haggis!) and smoked haddock with poached egg and a herb and lemon butter which were mouthwateringly good!
Peter, the host was chatty and knowledgeable but not intrusive and it's worth mentioning the whole family were extremely welcoming during our stay. They even gave us an Easter egg!

We would definitely both give the Pool House a big thumbs up and hope to visit again some day.

Room Tip: The Whimbrel room has a hot tub and is the most secluded of the rooms as it is at the far end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahandDavid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend recently. The hotel itself is like a tardis from the outside it looks quite small but when your inside it has been brilliantly decorated with lovely big rooms. We stayed in the Diadem Suite and absolutely loved the views from the big bay window in the living room and the lovely coal fire was just the thing after a walk in the cold March wind.
There are several coal fires also located in the public rooms. The bar stocks a vast range and also has a snooker table. The whole place is just great to go an relax and have a quiet time. Your made to feel very welcome and very well looked after by the family.
We ate both nights in the hotel and enjoyed an amazing 6 course meal at a very reasonable price.
Would highly recommend if you are looking to just get away from it all, enjoy some great food, nice wines, amazing scenery and lovely long walks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Right, well where do we begin...
We decided to really spoil ourselves by booking a hotel that promised luxurious rooms and service, what we actually got was one of...no, THE worst experience we've ever had. We arrived 45minutes early for check in, the lady at reception, who I believe is the owners daughter was clearly irritated by this and we were asked to come back in 45minutes. Now, I realise we were early but, a luxury hotel (NOT A HOTEL!!) would offer a drink at the bar while we waited, seems we were paying £275 a night ( was supposed to be £295 but they made an error over the email reservation). Why would I expect this? Because my wife and I have hospitality experience for nearly 35 years combined, and that is the norm. Not asking for a free drink but the option of buying a drink and waiting should be offered.
When we were shown around the hotel (NOT A HOTEL!!) it was awkward, creepy and frankly shocking customer service, no rapport with us was attempted and we felt hugely uncomfortable.
It felt like we were staying with the family from the movie The Burbs!!
Now to the room...we have no complaints about it apart from the fact that it is worth around about a third of the price. This was the moment when my wife and I double taked each other...the lady described the bed as, and I quote, "a little vulgar and garish". A fine performance from the person who is supposed to beam with joy and show the place off.
Like I said, the room was fine apart from the price. If you are paying this sort of money you do not expect plastic milk portions for tea and coffee. I know this seems pernickity but think about it. £275 a night with £20 knocked off the price.
The hot tub was immense! Apart from the fact that it's described as private but local fisherman can fish literally 10 metres away with full view of you. Before the manager replies to say they can't stop them, that is completely fine, just don't describe it as private!
SO, we went for dinner, decent grub but considering we ate at the Three Chimneys the night before and had 3 courses for £60, the £50 a head was a joke. I've worked at a top restaurant as a chef for some time, have I cooked a better meal for a 6th of the price? Yes, yes I have.
The owner, Peter I believe is charming and really was a great host, it's just his staff who are severely lacking in personality and charm. The Pool House boasts a whiskey room, and as a lover of whiskey, it is spectacular. A splendid range of wonderful whiskeys. All that was needed was a barman with a hint of charm and we would have bought a nip of the lot! Unfortunately, he was shy and lacked knowledge, not blaming him, blaming his training. He couldn't even tell me how many whiskeys there were, a lot according to him. I don't want to criticise him because it's not his fault.
We must seem like we're going on but I'm not exaggerating at all, I promise. The fact that they cleaned our room when we had dinner sounds nice but I can assure it was creepy and unsettling.
I would really not recommend this place at all, unless you have more money than sense. Ruined our honeymoon and it still angers me nearly 5 months on. I can’t stress how overpriced this place is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Stewart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houseonarock, Manager at Pool House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Well, this is certainly a detailed piece of prose and we can fully understand why it has taken you nearly 5 months of planning before posting your composition. Under the circumstances, you will forgive us for responding at length also.

It would seem we will have to disagree regarding just how early you arrived but it was not at a time that we would usually offer alcoholic beverages. Nevertheless, had you requested a drink, one would have been provided. You were also entirely welcome to sit in the drawing room for tea or coffee whilst the housekeeping staff finished servicing your room as do the majority of our early arrival guests.

Your description of Pool House is rather subjective. As a 300 year old building you may have found it “awkward and creepy”, but most find it quaint and characterful. The member of staff who guided you around the public rooms and took you to your room made every effort to engage you in conversation and to be pleasant. Your comments can at best be described as unkind and a matter for your own conscience.

It was explained to you that the bed is an “exact replica of Napoleon and Josephine’s bed (the original is in Paris). It took a great number of woodcarvers and gilders to reproduce our copy and we are justifiably proud of their accomplishment. Milk portions are indeed in all the rooms for those guests who might like a very early or late beverage. Throughout the day, however, we are delighted to serve tea, coffee, drinks and provide fresh milk to your room at any time. You only had to lift the telephone in your room to make your request as explained during the room tour.

The hot tub is described as private because it is solely for the use of guests staying in that room and not for other residents. It does not indicate that we can preclude other people from enjoying the great outdoors. We were astonished that you would demand we move a solitary fisherman from the river bank outside the boundary of our property and we hope you understand why we were obliged to decline to do so. Indeed it is rather unusual for someone in the catering industry to behave in such an inhospitable manner. Incidentally, we are astonished to discover that a young, newly married couple has accrued 35 years combined experience in catering.

You paid £60 for a three course meal at a well-known restaurant but were clearly unhappy paying £49 for our five-course menu. You state you are a chef at a “top restaurant” offering a superior experience at 1/6 of the price. This amounts to £8 for dinner or £6.80 once the VAT is deducted. This is an unbelievable price for a gastronomic experience. No wonder you found us expensive. On the other hand, are you absolutely certain that you are “not exaggerating at all” as you “promise”?

It is fair to say we are relieved that you were at least impressed with our whisky collection. It is unfortunate that you chose to enquire about our selection from a young man employed just a few weeks beforehand to work in our dining room and we are sorry you were not directed to a member of the bar staff who would have delighted to assist you. In a rather belated response to your query, we have only a small selection of Irish and American “whiskeys”. We do, on the other hand, have nearly 300 bottles of “whisky” as naturally, we prefer to showcase Scottish distilleries.

Why is it “creepy and unsettling” to have your room serviced in the evening, but not a problem during the day? Turndown service is now a widespread practice throughout the industry and expected by the vast majority of guests.

It is always frustrating for any serviced accommodation provider to be on the receiving end of reports such as these, particularly when you take into account that all guests are asked at the time of checkout if everything had been satisfactory with their stay. If you are genuinely in the hospitality business, you above all others should understand the need to raise issues at this time, or preferably beforehand so that the provider can try to rectify the situation. Hiding behind the internet may be easier but it does demonstrate a disappointing lack of professionalism from an industry colleague.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

What a perfect place for a relaxing break. Our room had a fabulous view down Loch Ewe. There's even sherry in a carafe in the room. All areas were spotless. The bathroom was luxurious and huge, with beautiful and plentiful toiletries. Our bed was very comfortable and the sleep quality perfect. The decor has a nautical theme and there is a shed load of history attached to Pool House. Very interesting.
We really enjoyed the meals. Breakfast was sumptuous with a large choice of hot and cold. The Saturday dinner was fabulous, we loved every mouthful of every course. There is no choice, however you are asked prior to arrival for dislikes. On Sunday evening we enjoyed a very tasty BBQ in the bothy, then came indoors for dessert and cheeses. What a fun evening.
All the family and staff were very welcoming and happy to help with any requests. This is a family home, it really feels like you are part of the family. An amazing place and well worth a visit.
Close to Inverewe gardens and several walks from the village. Wildlife is right out side the window... Seals, divers(birds), otters( though we did not see any) and a very busy bird table.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
0.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
168 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
540 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
213 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
206 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House

Property: Pool House
Address: Pool House Highland, Poolewe IV22 2LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Poolewe
Hotel Class:5 star — Pool House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Hotel Poolewe
Pool House Poolewe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing