We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”
Review of Pool House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pool House
Ranked #1 of 7 Poolewe B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply superb”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Pool House for two nights in mid September, in Diadem. The hotel and the suite were simply stunning, really excellent in every respect. When we drove up we had some initial trepidation, as from the road side the hotel looks very unassuming. Once welcomed in and shown to our room we were both simply blown away by the luxury, comfort and attention to detail. Dinner was superb, too, as was breakfast the next morning.

All told we wished we'd booked a longer stay, as this really is a fantastic place to stay. Best of all, it's not that expensive for what you get - we've paid far more to stay in hotels that were significantly worse.

I have a feeling we may well be going back for a longer stay before too long!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the sea - the view across Loch Ewe is simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    10
    4
    9
    4
See reviews for
1
126
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved it! The food was fantastic. The rooms were huge with beautiful views - we stayed in Diadem which was filled with memorabilia from the Titanic. If you stay here you'll never want to stay in a bland corporate hotel chain again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StewartMacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

When our children were small we camped near this hotel and looked in at the windows with longing, we always promised ourselves that one day we'd go back and stay here. Many years later and we went for a two night break and what a treat it was, definitely worth the wait! Everything about it was delightful, beautiful suites that were all full of character, charm and attention to detail. Fantastic views, we sat in our room in the evening and watched otters swimming in the bay as the sun set. Dinner was excellent and the service was attentive and friendly. It is a small and family run hotel so if you want modern, bold and brassy then don't stay here, but if you want to enjoy the beauty of real hospitality and individuality then definitely worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We agree with most of the positive comments already made so we are making just a couple of points here which don't seem to have been made so far. 1.It's a small, 6 bedroomed, family run hotel so has a very personal feel about it. 2.Dinner is at 7pm with just one set 5 course meal. The food we had was superb on each occasion ( we stayed 4 nights) but on one evening we were the only guests so there is not the atmosphere of a busy bustling restaurant - if that is what you want or expect 3. The comment made in May this year about there being a set of rules you have to abide by was completely misleading and untrue. There is an information sheet but it simply provides practical information about the hotel. Overall a first class small hotel in a fabulous position with great rooms and service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ollie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had a great 4 night stay at Pool House. As other reviewers have said this is a stylish hideaway with top class service and attention to detail. Yes it's a bit quirky- the themed rooms are fabulous- if very theatrical- you'd probably not have them at home but that's the whole fun of somewhere like this on holiday! We stayed in the boathouse and it's true you do get otters and seals outside the window! Despite rainy windy weather we had a fantastic break and the house and service are second to none. It is run very much as a private house with rooms and Peter takes his role as host seriously and is always on hand as are other family members. You really don't want for anything and home baking and cups of tea and coffee are always only a few minutes away when you get back in from exploring the local area!. We had dinner every evening and the chef is excellent. The menus were balanced and interesting and the ingredients fresh, local and top quality. The food is a standard you'd get in a top city restaurant and although some reviewers have described it as pricey I think for that standard of food - its v good value all round. Loved it and can't wait to go back- such a relaxing place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Wow.. fantastic hotel in a beautiful location. Individually themed rooms, beautiful views (including otters coming out to feed) and lovely food.. yes - it was a long drive from Edinburgh but the welcome and relaxing atmosphere of this hotel was more than worth the effort, and the surrounding area has so much to offer.. thanks to Peter and his family for a great stay..

Room Tip: HMS Campania - luxury, spacious and fab view from every room over Loch Ewe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is no cookie cutter hotel and in my opinion is all the better for it. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. It is very unique and Peter the host and his family are totally friendly and welcoming. There wasn't a question I asked about the area that they couldn't answer and I came away richer for that. It really helped us to feel a part of that area of Scotland.
The decor in rooms is certainly different and quite eclectic, but for some reason it works. You need to embrace the hospitality and service that Peter offers and his lively chats on numerous subjects were thouroughly enjoyable.
We only dined here one night and coming from Australia are still getting used to the Scottish habit of dining in hotels at a set time. Make the effort and join the other guests for a drink first and you will be rewarded with a lovely evening and excellent food.
I love that this hotel has a soul and wish there were more out there that did. This is no formula, this is special and different, and the view is awesome too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyannaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
4.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
312 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
155 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
153 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House

Property: Pool House
Address: Pool House Highland, Poolewe IV22 2LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Poolewe
Hotel Class:5 star — Pool House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Hotel Poolewe
Pool House Poolewe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing