We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It was an excellent stay, we would be happy to return."”
Review of Pool House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pool House
Ranked #1 of 7 Poolewe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in Pool House taking advantage of a two night midweek inclusive package for a room named H.M.S. Diadem. When we arrived we were shown over the public areas of the house and were impressed at the standard of decoration. Our suite was fantastic with bedroom, bathroom and sitting room with the most magnificent views over Loch Ewe. Binoculars were provided and we used them to see an otter one evening. One of the many delights of the suite is the Victorian bath, restored with all its original features including side spray and very steep sides.

The evening meal was quite an event, in a good way. We met in the drawing room for apertifs and canapes, dress was smart casual. We chose our wine and perused the menu. There were five courses with no choices, we had previously given any dietery preferences. We were taken through to the dining room and seated at separate tables in the large dining room. The courses were served at a comfortably leisurely pace while we admired the stunning sunset over Loch Ewe.

After dinner drinks could be taken either in the drawing room or, our preference, in the bar with its full length snooker table and walk-in whisky display area. One evening, we were honoured by the attentions of Splodge, the resident 17 year old cat.

The approach roads to Poolewe are narrow, winding but with picturesque views. The southern route is our favourite albeit with a few miles of single track road with passing places.

It was an excellent stay, we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Pool House for only 1 night, but wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms were extremely clean and quite large. We had evening sherry already set up in the rooms, followed by a pre dinner drink downstairs and then onto a delicious dinner. The service was friendly and helpful. It was an absolute delight to experience this part of Scotland and we would highly recommend Pool House for a splurge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWDWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Many reviewers use the description "quirky" for this place. I can just about get that, but our honest review is that "downright peculiar" might be more accurate. We spent 2 nights there, and had we been paying for and expecting a B&B we might have just smiled at the bizarre decoration and eccentric air of servitude of our host. As it was, we felt completely ripped off - the dinner was truly average (an embarrassingly tough pork steak for the main course) with no flair or creativity, and we would completely agree with other reviewers who said that the dining room atmosphere was strained and uncomfortable. No opportunity for intimate conversations here! It is an orchestrated experience, albeit with a beautiful view.
One concrete piece of information that says a lot about the style of this hotel: each room has a laminated sheet with a long and exhaustive list of rules for the guests! One of these is that bringing any food or drink into the room is forbidden. We rather enjoyed breaking this one in our utterly bizarrely kitted out Titanic themed room - being surrounded by doom and disaster was quite unsettling.
So in the end we agree with another reviewer who said that this was a pretentious B&B rather than a special romantic hideaway. The spectacular ratings are utterly bemusing!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at the Pool House Hotel for two nights and I just wish it had been for two weeks!!!!!! From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were treated like royalty by Peter and Margaret Harrison and their wonderful family. Nothing was too much trouble for them and you could not wish to meet nicer people, so I would say to anyone who has read any reviews to the contrary, go and experience the hospitality of the Harrison family for yourself and you will not be disappointed. The food at the hotel is absolutely amazing and I would just like to say a big big thanks to John and also to Mhairi for her wonderful home baking. The accommodation and service is first class and Peter tells some wonderful stories, in fact he should write a book. I could go on and on about the Pool House Hotel and how wonderful it is and how wonderful the Harrison family are, but I will leave it to you to go and experience this fantastic place for yourself.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Diadem Suite, but it really doesn't matter which suite you have because they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We have just returned from Pool House where we spent the second leg of our honeymoon,
we had a wonderful time and were looked after incredibly well. The suite we stayed in was extremely well appointed complete with open fire to curl up in front of on a wet afternoon, heaven. Fantastic location, fantastic room, fantastic food, fantastic service, perhaps a little pricey, but then again in my experience good things quite often are. What more can I say other than a must visit hotel in the highlands!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StonewallEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Have been meaning to write a review since our last visit to Pool House in September 2011, over the past 10 years, my husband and I have stayed and eaten at Pool House many times. We are both well travelled and complete foodies, and this has to be our favourite hotel / restaurant in the world!

We have stayed in various rooms, all of which are unique and beautifully decorated and dressed - all the little touches just help to make our stay pleasurable.

The evening meal (prepared by John) is fabulous - the only time I have been able to cut lamb with a fish knife! Peter is an excellent host, informative and interesting.

In fact all the family who run the hotel are friendly and accommodating.

The porridge at breakfast is a definite!

A must place to stay for a visit to the Highlands - we will be back later this year - and perhaps we'll catch Brad in residence this time!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alohura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Emailed this place to arrange an intimate wedding. Got a rather curt reply to say they did weddings but when did I want it as they are closed some of the year. No mention of this on website. Would it not be better to tell people when they are actually open?
I replied with my preferred date, although mentioned I was flexible. No reply for over two weeks. Email did NOT bounce back. I enquired as to whether they were actually going to bother replying, and informed them I thought it was poor customer service. Here is the reply...

Dear Miss ******,

We did not receive your previous e-mail. Poolewe has one of the oldest telephone exchanges in the U.K. and our internet service is therefore one of the most unreliable. We would have thought that having received no response you might have realized this was the situation and re-forwarded the message. Pool House does not usually permit weddings on the premises. The proprietors had agreed for your wedding to take place on a one-off basis as a favour to you because you are from the Highlands . In view of your extremely discourteous e-mail below, they would ask that you now make alternative arrangements.



Yours sincerely,


How ridiculous can you get? There is no need for the childish tantrum. Needless to say I will be avoiding these amateurs and taking my custom elsewhere. I suggest you do the same. Obviously ideas of grandeur and a severe superiority complex. The comment before mine only compounds this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
13  Thank HebrideanPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poolewe
16.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
6.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
5.1 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pool House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House

Address: Pool House Highland, Poolewe IV22 2LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Poolewe
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Poolewe
Hotel Class:5 star — Pool House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pool House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pool Hotel Poolewe
Pool House Poolewe, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing