We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinlochbervie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinlochbervie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochbervie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I booked the place in Durness with 3 weeks before starting my tour on Scotland. At my arrival the owner Angela turn her back on me saying she did gave the room for somebody else. Even don’t bother to apologize. So I went to the Tourist information and asked for help. They advise Kinlochbervie Hotel 3 stars. This is about 14 Miles from Durness with a nice half hour drive between the amazing mountains. Was fantastic. I was able hardly to find them. No sign where to go and how to find them. My Sat-Nav went ballistic but eventually I reached them. The hotel is old fashioned a little bit dirty but not disturbingly. The room was a little bit smelly due a door right beside mine was going to the kitchen area so all the smell come up to my room. The view was another room window. Despite of my room, the restaurant have a fabulous view. Looking straight to the bay and further to the Atlantic Ocean I was able to witness beautiful sunset which is rare in Scotland. So, thank you Angela from Durness. I you would be nice I would not see this fantastic sunset! Good value for money. The food is ok. They have a pub as well but I did not went there.
In my opinion this is an ok place.
Csilla

Room Tip: Try to book room with view to the bay. Fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Csilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    51
    28
    20
    17
See reviews for
14
57
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This family run hotel is the perfect location for those wanting to visit Sandalwood Bay. We planned a short break with our 12 year old daughter and our Collie puppy Poppy 6 months old. We received a warm welcome on arrival which after 7 hours travelling was great. Next question are we too late for dinner? The response not at all we will get a table ready for you. Our family room was at the back of the hotel so we did miss out on the fantastic views at the front but all in all it was a lovely quiet room. We dined Friday and Saturday evening and the food was excellent! After reading previous feedback I have to say there was plenty fresh fish on the menu which included the special Lobster and seafood platter. We requested a packed lunch for the morning and again that was not a problem for the hotel. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again next year. Fingers crossed we score with the weather again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennydyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latheron
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a week in the delightful North West. Staying in a local cottage we had decided to eat out every night. Kinlochbervie Hotel was our first port of call with a hope of a selection of good fresh fish and seafood dishes. We had booked that morning and were a little surprised when the receptionist declared that she had no note of this - only 2 other tables were occupied so did it matter? We were kept hanging about until we dicovered that a booking had been made by Mr Anderson - my name is Andrews so we suggested that a small mistake had been made. The response was that the boss would have to be asked about this to which I insisted that we would take Mr Anderson's table and fight for it if he appeared - he did not!
We could not believe that in a restaurant within sight of one of the major white fish harbours in Scotland all that was available on the menu fish wise was haddock and chips and prawn cocktail.
Sadly I ordered haddock and chips - I have never had a more miserable version. At the most a mere quarter pound of dubious fish enclosed in an oversized and overcooked shroud of batter was presented along with obvious oven chips and a bit of uninspiring greenstuff - at £11.95 a complete rip off. ( Try La Mirage in Helmsdale for the real thing at less than half the price.)

As a Scot living in Caithness and with an interest in Tourism I find this is a very sad situation and the fact that our important visitors are faced with this unacceptable level of catering is appalling.

We spent the rest of the week driving to the commendable Scourie Hotel and also cooking for ourselves excellent fresh fish from the regular fish van in Kinlochbervie which comes all the way from the port of Scrabster in Caithness!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kinlochbervie hotels

Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The service at the restaurant was slow, but my starter and main course (halibut) were extremely good and quite reasonably priced. The dessert was dry and not too appealing. But, next time I'd simply order ice cream or skip dessert.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Excellent food, excellent value for money! Although we didn't actually stay at hotel the rooms look very comfortable and in good condition! Fairly busy and Fantastic views! Very large bar next to Restaurant but not busy at all!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Redtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A group of 6 of us ate here and had a good meal. The staff are friendly, the views are great. The food isn't Michelin star level but it doesn't claim to be. The dining room is a bit dated but totally fine.
The prices are reasonable particularly given the remote location. I've had far worse meals in Edinburgh at far greater cost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddock4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel is sited in a truly spectacular location above the harbour and not far from great beaches, including Sandwood Bay.
The bedroom, at the back of the hotel, was OK although heating was by a small electric convector heater and so the bathroom was like a fridge.
The lounge area was comfortable and pleasant with good views down to the fishing harbour. Dinning was OK but what a missed opportunity! Despite being next to one of the best fishing ports in the country there was no fish on the dinner menu on the day we stayed. There could have been a choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochbervie
3.4 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
125 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
300 reviews
22.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
321 reviews
24.0 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlochbervie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochbervie Hotel

Property: Kinlochbervie Hotel
Address: Kinlochbervie IV27 4RP , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Kinlochbervie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochbervie
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Kinlochbervie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing