We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Airth Castle & Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel(Falkirk)(Great Value!)
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Manor(Grangemouth)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helix Hotel(Grangemouth)
$70
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$138
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leapark Hotel(Grangemouth)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Falkirk Central Hotel(Falkirk)(Great Value!)
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Cladhan(Falkirk)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,173)
Filter reviews
2,173 results
Traveler rating
449
549
491
359
325
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
549
491
359
325
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillboth nightssteam roomfood was lovelyspa areastaff were excellentfrom start to finishjunior suitehaggisturretdiscofacialedinburghfalkirk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,585 - 1,590 of 2,173 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

As title said the part nights gave been well organised with good food but the bedrooms are not 4 star or anywhere near it! Here is a list: chipped furniture, missing fridge and tie backs, broken chair, paper thin walls (can hear everything from next door) , cracking floorboards, no shower cap. Even when requested, taffy towels, shower screen not fiting so water all over floor, not all linen replenished, dirty grout in shower, dusty shelf in bathroom. Shame that should a good faculty is so neglected in the bedrooms. Public rooms are all to a high standard

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzywac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for two night in November with a newborn baby and it was very poor to say the least.

Quick points;

:we were put in the top floor of the castle with a new baby without a lift

: doors have huge space at bottom so not sound proof at all

: expensive

: room walls dirty

: room carpet dirty

: window ledges dirty

: floors extremely Creaky...very loud creaks too!!!

: phone in room not working

: hot water takes 6 minutes to heat up ( we timed it)!

: no salt on outside drive so very bd in ice

That's just a few points I could go on and on. We did inform the mngr of the hotel and we did get significant discount which is why I've not been too harsh with the rating stars.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank nic1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of a corporate event. Reception was good, quick and welcoming. I had a room in the castle which is a 5 minute walk from reception and the main facilities. I thought the room was a bit shabby. The furniture has seen years of being knocked around and I was expecting a bit more luxury.

Tea and coffee making facilities are provided but no wifi or safe. Buffet breakfast was excellent and I did get a good sleep in a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Party of 14. First of all we arrived and rooms were not ready we booked lunch and our table wasn't set up . Then it took nearly an hour to make up sanwiches and chips. Two o'clock only Two rooms were made so 14 of us cramped into one room. Eventually about half five another two rooms were available .Three of our party still had no room and the hotel said all fourteen of us booked in but the other three had no room why this happened we dont know. At 6 the hotel managed to find another room for the remaining party. We arrived at half 12 and it took them to 6 o'clock to get us all a room RIDICILOUS!!!! Our single bed broke several times to. Dinner took ages to get organised and attitude from staff was shocking. Dinner wasnt that great pretty tastless but breakfast was nice. Please dont go here huge disappiontment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

when we checked in we could not have a shower as there was no hot water. then We arrived to a hall that usually serves breakfast and meals, converted into an evening dinner dance. The tables were cramped in at every angle it was verty dark and very lous music and we were just about sitting on each other. We were served our starters and sweets and then given a slot when to go up and get our main course, which was luke warm, when we complained about the temperature of the yorkshire puddings which we had to wait for etc we were told that they were meant to be. The hall was cramped. We were expecting a better venue , thats why we booked the castle in the first place. We were very very disapointed in this venue. next morning we tried to have a shower again, but there was still no hot water, when we went for breakfast we we were told it was due to the number of people in the hotel and a 5 second fire alarm in the morning puting the boilers off - pull the other one. we tried the shower before the alarm. we Tried to have shower after breakfast - still no hot water at all. very dissapointing. complained to reception with no joy. have written to Manager - awaiting reply.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjy1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraHotels, Personal Assistant at Airth Castle & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

I am Personal Assistant to the Chief Executive of The Aurora Hotel Collection. We would be very interested to hear more about your experience and would appreciate it if you could email me on isla.kerr@aurorahotelcollection.com so we can talk futher. Should you not wish to contact me at this time, please contact me should you wish to book again with The Aurora Hotel Collection. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Isla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews