We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Airth Castle & Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Premier Inn Falkirk North Hotel(Falkirk)(Great Value!)
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grange Manor(Grangemouth)
$105
$102
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Helix Hotel(Grangemouth)
$83
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leapark Hotel(Grangemouth)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,202)
Filter reviews
2,202 results
Traveler rating
459
556
498
363
326
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
556
498
363
326
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillboth nightssteam roomfood was lovelyspa areastaff were excellentfrom start to finishjunior suitehaggisturretdiscofacialedinburghfalkirk
Filter
Updating list...
1,656 - 1,661 of 2,202 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay for 2 for £159 with Glasgow's Great Deal. Breakfast included on both days and £50 towards dinner on first night. Hotel is lovely. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. Room was nice and clean but not like the pictures on the website although we didn't stay in the castle. Dinner was delicious and not over-priced. Breakfast was really nice and set you up for the day. Used the pool and steam room which were lovely. Gym looked great although we didn't use it. As we only booked a few days before we went we were unable to get any treatments as the spa was fully booked which was disappointing but overall we had a great time in a lovely hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Airth castle hotel was an amazing experience . We booked our break using laterooms and got a good deal. For £99 we stayed in the castle part of the hotel and got dinner and breakfast. My wife loved staying in the old castle which some say is haunted. The resturant and bar are in a modern building a 5 minute walk down the road. The deal included a £50 allowance for the dinner which was first class . The resturant has a special grill which gives the food a great flavour. The whole experience felt special and well worth the money.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here for an overnight and found it a very relaxing break. Room was lovely but was cold when we arrived as heating was completely turned down . Not good at this time of year - the corridors were absolutely freezing too. However very clean and had everything you need.
Dinner was ok , but we found the restaurant very dark to the point where we could hardly read the menu! Breakfast was very good , and served till 10am on a Saturday which is perfect.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Bit more light in dining area and turning the heating up would merit one more star.

Room Tip: Nice big picture windows on top floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Modlangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If castles are your thing, do consider staying at Airth Castle. There are "renovated" rooms in the original castle, but there is some downside as well. Or room was large and comfortable, but without any dresser or drawers. The castle is apart from the renovated stables which serve as the main hotel and where the reception desk is located, so that for one staying in the castle itself there is no security other than a locked door and a buzzer system. It worked fine for us, but you should be aware of it. Also there is no wi-fi or computer connectivity in the castle.

The hotel itself is located a ways outside of Edinburgh and is not convenient if that is where you want to be, but it is near to several historic sites like Sterling Castle. It seems most guests use it as their destination for either weddings or conferences and the like.

The dining area is lovely to look at, and we had wildly different experiences in the two nights we ate there. Night one: everything perfect. Service spectacular, food divine. Night two: could be waited on for love or money and the food was simply uneatable. How to explain this discrepancy, I do not know We did however inform the manager on night two of our disappointing meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellynvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As described, a night away with my partner minus our teenagers (hooray)!

The hotel has a modern interior with an ancient exterior and is therefore a very nice contrast. The bar and restaurant area were as one, open plan. Half of the extensive roof is glass so very light and bright.

We ate in the restaurant - lovely food. We had a steak platter which consists of 3 steak types for 2 people which was cooked to perfection - delicious!

I meant to add we had an afternoon tea which was also quite delightful, and reasonable value with enough tasty bits to satisfy without leaving you stuffed.

The staff were also very courteous and helpful.

Our room was modern and spacious. The night we stayed, there was a wedding on. We were ground floor and... Inevitably some of the guests were also ground floor so it was a wee bit noisy until about 1.00 a.m. As we are on vacation, at wasn't a problem, but if I was there per-business I would be checking where most of e wedding guests were staying. It did not detract from our stay as the wedding was just getting started when we arrived (bride looked lovely) so we anticipated some joyous people partying.

My wife used the spa - it got an ok - nothing breathtaking but given e quality that exists today that should not be taken too negatively

All in all a nice hotel, good restaurant and decent bedrooms.

Room Tip: See main report - it is a very popular wedding site given the castle next door so maybe choose an upper-level floor to avoid noise?
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHarte1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews