We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly Recommended”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Westcraigs

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Lounge
Kitchen
Entrance
Shower Room
Countryside Views
Evening Shot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beny18
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed December 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We recently stayed at this holiday house. It was absolutely beautiful! The house has been professionally decorated and has great garden and field views.
The facility is first class all the way through. You will be thrilled with your choice if you choose to stay here.
We were completely impressed with all phases of our stay.

Date of stay: December 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 13, 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Sharon, Colin and Megan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Hi John, Thank you so much for your review of our property, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kevj81
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, couldn't ask for better”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2016 when visiting family nearby. The accommodation is excellent, beautifully decorated and high standard finish throughout. Views are amazing and beds super comfy! The arctic cabin was an added bonus and went down well with the family when they visited for a BBQ. The garden is massive and great for our son (4years) it is shared with the owners but this was not a problem in the slightest, they were so accommodating and welcoming. The accommodation was well catered for with washing up liquid, kitchen roll, toilet roll, dishwasher tabs etc. The Second bedroom is on the ground floor so handy to note if you are travelling with smaller kids. This is a pretty central location and if you have a car there is so much to do close by. Kelpies and Falkirk wheel, almond valley heritage centre, 5 sisters zoo, MacArthur glen shopping centre, numerous country parks and Edinburgh and Glasgow close by too. We will definitely be back. Thanks to Sharon, Colin and Megan for such a relaxing and enjoyable stay!

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
We really appreciate your positive comments and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay I'm pleased that you found the beds so comfortable! We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Many thanks Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N4744MGka...
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Had a fantastic stay in your cottage it was so close to family. We felt very at home. Once again thanks Sharon
Kathy stephen maddi and Brodie
From Geelong Australia

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2016
Thank you so much and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards

Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack R
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here for a friends birthday and was everything we could have wanted and more. Superb location only 5 minutes from Bathgate, house was stunning and very modern. Sharon and her husband were more than accommodating, would recommend for anyone looking for a quite getaway.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2016
Hi Jack,
Thank you so much for your review, it is very much appreciated and I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Westcraigs.

Kind regards
Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheNomes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Attention to detail”
Reviewed December 30, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Westcraigs for Christmas this year as we have family that live close by. We travelled with our 4 year old and 1 year old twins. We were really impressed by the house especially the attention to detail in regards to the fixtures, fittings and extras. We really did find it a home from home. Nice and quiet location yet really close to Edinburgh and Glasgow. Master bedroom is huge and easily fit both our travel costs for the twins which was great. Owners really helpful whenever we requested any extras etc. Not sure if it was me not checking properly but we were unaware that the twin room was on the ground floor and the master bedroom is on the top floor which isn't great with a four year old so one of us slept with the 4 year old. As we stayed at Christmas the owners left a gingerbread house and mince pies on the table for us which was a nice touch.

Only negatives that we had is there could be more kitchen utensils and saucepans etc especially when visiting for Christmas. There were only 3 drinking glasses and three very small saucepans. To be fair the owners did rectify this when asked on Christmas Day so that was good but could do with some more cups, glasses and saucepans

The bedding in the master bedroom was torn on the pillow which was a shame as looked rather shabby and the sloping roof in the master bedroom isn't easy to negotiate with a baby in arms but apart from that it was fantastic.

Not sure I would class it as ideal for a family with young children due to the furniture and layout of the house but had a fantastic trip so thank you Sharon!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds they were so comfy
Liked least: Sloping ceiling in master bedroom
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic, beautiful accommodation..”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We flew to Edinburgh in August to see the tattoo. We arrived early in the morning. But received a very warm welcome west Craig was beautiful. Very comfortable, clean and very well kept. Loved it. Would recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thank you so much for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you should you visit Scotland again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing