We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly hotel”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“friendly hotel”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We have just returned home from a 4 night Christmas break with the coach holiday.
what a lovely hotel we were made wecome from the time we got there till we left.
The room was lovely and cleaned every day has was the rest of the hotel.every member of the staff were very friendly and worked extremley hard with it being Chrismas but all staff had a smile
The food was excellent to plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal
would definately recommend this hotel .
thank you Cairns hotel for a lovely Christmas break

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egghead10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    47
    27
    23
See reviews for
68
51
9
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

First time we have stayed at this hotel and found it fantastic value for money. Room was very nice and comfortable food was excellent and staff were very professional especially young Hungarian guy who was called boo boo i wish more hotels had staff like him. The manager Bernie is a really nice guy and very professional and Sussane was also the same and they both did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. will definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palanga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B_Korycki, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding you recent visit to our hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairn Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bernie Korycki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2010

from outside I thought oh dear but when you get inside its good. I understand it has been run by the receiver for last 8 months when the new owner arrives I would expect this place to take off

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebeeneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

If you are looking for decent accomdation in budget price this is the hotel you can choose.First Location very good, very near to motorway and close to edinburgh and glasgow.
We booked valentine's package which included 2 nights accomdation+Breakfast+One night dinner+champaigne bottle+choclates for £178 and i think it is value for money.

The room is pretty small and the distance between foot end of bed and the wall is around 2-3 ft and the dressing table and chair are in the way to walk around.So it was a disappointment initially.
Reception staff were ok the other staff are very helpful.
Decent breakfast and the Meal was good.

I think just Bed and breakfast costs less than £50pn which is very good price for the quality of the service.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpt_Man_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exmouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

My partner and I went on a Christmas coach holiday to this hotel.We arrived very late at night due to adverse weather,traffic problems etc.but were warmly greeted by the manager Trevor and his deputy and treated to hot soup and a buffet !
Every effort was made to make the festive season happy and memorable (the snow was a bonus!),the staff were friendly and efficient ,Peter deserves a special mention as does the indefatigable Lisa !

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor_Duffy, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding you recent visit to our hotel during the festive period, we have received some fantastic reviews and I look forward to welcoming many of our guests back again this year.

The team at the Cairn would like to thank all the Baker Dolphin Group for making our Christmas an enjoyable and memorable one too.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairn Hotel in the near future or if not we will see you during the festive season again. If you require a further assistance in booking a room please do not hesitate to contact me on manager.cairn@mckeverhotels.co.uk or alternately on 01506 633 366.

Kind regards,

Trevor Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 3 night break to bring in the new year & had a great time. Entertainment,, staff & food was great. Hope to do it this year again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor_Duffy, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding you recent visit to our hotel during the festive period, we have received numerous comments from fellow guests regarding what a great time they had and are all looking forward to returning next year.

We have a number of events planned for the forthcoming year, such as Valentines and an ABBA Tribute night in February, where we offer discounted rate to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairn Hotel in the near future. If you require a further assistance in booking a room please do not hesitate to contact me on manager.cairn@mckeverhotels.co.uk or alternately on 01506 633 366.

Kind regards,

Trevor Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Although not the grandest of hotels from the outside, inside cannot be faulted. Restuarant and bar staff very polite and helpful. Where the double bedrooms lacked in size, they made up for with perfect facilities, very smart bathroom and very clean and tidy throughout. I had a quiet room even though there was a party downstairs on the Saturday night, there was no noise (apart from the guests returning to rooms afterwards!!). Excellent value for money, menu good with hot fresh meals (although menu doesn't seem to change at allover the 3 night stay). Would return when in the area again. Only downside was I was told on telephone each bedroom had wifi access when in fact it is only in bar and lounge area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HmillerLPool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor_Duffy, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our hotel, we are looking into upgrading and repainting the outside, as we have also received comments from fellow guests regarding our appearance.
We receive comments like yours of the clean, slick and relaxed service which we deliver at the hotel.
Free Wifi is available in all our public areas, and some ground floor rooms.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Cairn Hotel in the near future. If you require a further assistance in booking a room please do not hesitate to contact me on manager.cairn@mckeverhotels.co.uk or alternately on 01506 633 366.

Kind regards,

Trevor Duffy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Blackburn Road, Bathgate EH48 2EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairn Hotel is centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh just off the M8. There is now a new Railway Station in Bathgate with direct links to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The 61 en suite bedrooms have all been tastefully decorated to a 3 star standard and combine traditional comfort with up to date facilities to make your stay a pleasurable and productive one. The hotel also offers free parking and houses a lounge, bar and restaurant where the friendly atmosphere makes for a relaxed and casual dining experience. As soon as you arrive at the Cairn Hotel the staff will strive to meet your every feasible wants and needs with a friendly and courteous approach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing