We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
105
90
60
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
105
90
60
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three courses family dinner waiting staff night porter only stayed one night staff were all very friendly piping hot set menu haggis pakora my mum fish and chips lounge area full scottish great night central scotland the ground floor wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 312 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

As a local regular restaurant user i found on my last two visits that both food and service standards have slipped .The hotel food was always very good value for money, perhaps the price was to low?but on last two visits we felt that the place had dropped STANDARDS. This is a real pity because the restaurant was a popular place.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank 231Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mareabertolini, Media. at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thank you for your honest review, we are saddened to read that you were disappointed in the food on your last visits. We encourage you to revisit, and please speak to one of our friendly management team who would be more than happy to take care of any issues that you may have. Our food and customer service are two of our highest standards and we would like the chance to regain your confidence in these departments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here on 23rd March. We booked because we were attending an event nearby but we didn’t have high hopes because it cost so little for two of us bed & breakfast, but wow we were so very pleasantly surprised. A little gem of a hotel. Rooms very clean & today with all the facilities you need.
We tried the restaurant for an early dinner and that didn’t disappoint either, good quality food at exceptional prices. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will definitely use again when in the area

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sehmwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mareabertolini, Marketing. at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Hi!

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again one day in the future.

:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the full breakfast was FULL. The rooms were a reasonable size and were clean and fresh.
We only stayed one night but if we are ever in the area again we will stay here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Curvygaitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019 via mobile

Very poor selection especially if you are catering for food intolerances.
Clueless waiting staff & chicken like rubber. Probably a fair indicator when there was only one other (small) group in the restaurant.
We were trying to cover all ages (baby to granny) & it was convenient hence the decision to go there.
Now have a child with food poison & I can safely say she got it there. Couldnt cut the chicken it was so tough. Never again ! Avoid!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mareabertolini, Public Relations Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear Chris,

Thank you for your review, please let us apologise for any inconvenience - we hold our service and food quality with the highest regard and you will see from our previous reviews that this is not a common occurance.

We were not asked for a menu to accomodate any food intolerances on the evening, had we been approached about this it would not have been a problem to assist, as we do in many cases per week with a variety of requests.

Please let us firstly apologise that the chicken was not to your satistfaction, we did not have any complaints. Neither the Restaurant Manager or the General Manager were approached on Sunday evening, if they had been your issues could have been resolved seamlessly at the time.

While we respect your opinion, please refrain from posting slanderous comments regarding food poisoning without proof provided from Environmental Health Officer from our Local Authority. Your comment is your opinion and not fact, and while we understand it may have looked quiet while you were in, this isn't a fair indicator of our numbers as we served over 100 customers on Sunday and have had no contact from any guests regarding being ill. Further to this we served staff meals and have had no staff complaints of illness here either.

If you have, in fact, been in contact with the EHO and wish to discuss the matter further or wish to speak to the hotel management about your issues on Sunday evening, please do not hestitate to call the hotel on 01506 633366 and we will happily address any further comments.

Regards, Cairn Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

The Cairn is ideally situated near the main M8 motorway, ideal for Edinburgh (approx 30 mins drive) and Glasgow. Edinburgh Airport is closer at 20 mins drive.

The rail station at Bathgate is also available for links.

This is a 1960's era, roadhouse building originally for travellers on the main road between Edinburgh and Glasgow. It has remained popular with locals for lunches, dinner and, more recently, wedding receptions.

There is ample parking. Reception lady was friendly and welcoming.

Rooms are fine, fairly basic, with comfortable bed, TV and bathroom with shower. Certainly not luxurious but clean.

There is a large bar/lounge on the ground floor, again clean, leading on to the dining area.

The barman (Dave) was friendly and efficient - a good ambassador for the hotel.

Breakfast is buffet with cereals/juices and, additionally, cooked traditional breakfast is available. Again, the staff were friendly and happy to cook-to-order.

The only negative I have is that, despite the "do not disturb" tag on bedroom door, hospitality staff seem to knock on every door at 9.30am which renders the tag rather pointless.

If you're looking for a good-value hotel, within easy reach of Edinburgh, Glasgow and central Scotland, with no frills but clean and with staff who make you feel welcome - this is ideal.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tarka00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mareabertolini, Marketing. at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Thanks for your awesome review! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews