We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for some, but not others.”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for some, but not others.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend were staying only for the night and we are both in our twenties.

Hotel Overall - Very clean, tasteful decor and convenient.

Individual Room - Rather small for a double room but did its purpose.

Area - Smack bang on the M8 so was a bit to difficult to sleep for a while. Realistically would require a taxi anywhere so area not great for needing to get into town/city centres.

Service - Mixed bag. 90% staff very helpful and pleasant. We did encounter a grumpy barman and we were slightly over-pestered at dinner. Otherwise, very pleasant people.

Price - Was cheaper than the local Premier Inn so can't complain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIDraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    71
    47
    27
    23
See reviews for
68
51
9
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Having been booked into the hotel at the last minute by work I was not sure what to expect. The postcode provided does not take you direct to the hotel but a little further along the road so keep eyes peeled.

Upon arriving I was informed of a mix up and that I had been upgraded to a 'deluxe' double room for no extra charge. Considering as I was waiting at the desk they had to turn people away for being full, this was a nice thing for them to do.


The room itself was not very deluxe but did have an ensuite with a shower and bath. The double bed was comfortable. The blackout curtains were one of the best features in this weather, they completel blocked out all light and most sound from main road.

The restaurant only served an evening meal in three courses. Three courses for 12 pounds however is not that bad and the food was really tasty. Bar prices are normal hotel prices.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a one night stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkie666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on business . The room was clean and comfortable with a nice shower/bathroom. Dining was ok, it's a 3 course set menu for £12, I enjoyed all courses although the apple crumble was more like a crunch. Reasonable sleep quality and a nice enough breakfast. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice lunch,adequate menu,not too expensive and the meal can be adapted to GLUTEN FREE, my better half had ribeye steak served with chips and vegetables,with a cream sauce with mushrooms,i had beer battered haddock with chips and peas,.one of the bigger portions of fish i have had in a while.Both meals very tasty.
My one quibble is not about the meal itself but with all restaurants is;i have yet to find a restaurant that actually has a GLUTEN FREE,VEGAN or a VEGETARIAN menu,quite a few i have been in the last year or so say we can "amend or adapt our menu to suit,when actually asked they all seem to fly back to the kitchen to see the CHEF.
Restaurants out there ,if you can do dietery food please print a menu ......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annoyed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, West Lothian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I live locally, and was looking for a venue for my wedding. I walked into the reception to ask about availabilty, cost etc, and was basically looked up and down by the receptionist when she eventually stopped her coversation with another staff member. Once she got a good eyeful, she handed me a brochure and continued her conversation. Needless to say, I decided against giving them my custom. I then went along to the Hilcroft Hotel in Whitburn with the same questions. The reception couldn't have been any different! The woman I spoke to seem genuinely excited for me, got the diary out, and went over available dates (pointing out the cheaper options as she had found out that it was a VERY big wedding, and cost was an issue).

Room Tip: Go to the Hilcroft Hotel along the road in Whitburn - far friendlier, helpful staff!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimPark198006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not bad at all.
Allthough situated on a industrial area, the hotel has a nice ambiance and the rooms are comfortable and cosy. Beds are superb.
The staff is helpfull and nice.
The food is not as good as it could be. (Or should be...)
Menu's are almost the same every day, and often its cold and not very tastefull

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Only stayed 1 night in this hotel.
My room was clean and quiet, all the staff were pleasant and professional. Food and drinks were excellent and very reasonably priced.
Lovely place, only problem I had was accessing the property. Although I could see the hotel from the main road it took me three attempts at finding the entrance.
I would not hesitate staying here again if I am in this area.

Room Tip: Keep a look out for hotel when in area as not well signposted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRC370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Blackburn Road, Bathgate EH48 2EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairn Hotel is centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh just off the M8. There is now a new Railway Station in Bathgate with direct links to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The 61 en suite bedrooms have all been tastefully decorated to a 3 star standard and combine traditional comfort with up to date facilities to make your stay a pleasurable and productive one. The hotel also offers free parking and houses a lounge, bar and restaurant where the friendly atmosphere makes for a relaxed and casual dining experience. As soon as you arrive at the Cairn Hotel the staff will strive to meet your every feasible wants and needs with a friendly and courteous approach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing