We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Lunch,still get minor problems getting a GLUTEN FREE menu” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch,still get minor problems getting a GLUTEN FREE menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice lunch,adequate menu,not too expensive and the meal can be adapted to GLUTEN FREE, my better half had ribeye steak served with chips and vegetables,with a cream sauce with mushrooms,i had beer battered haddock with chips and peas,.one of the bigger portions of fish i have had in a while.Both meals very tasty.
My one quibble is not about the meal itself but with all restaurants is;i have yet to find a restaurant that actually has a GLUTEN FREE,VEGAN or a VEGETARIAN menu,quite a few i have been in the last year or so say we can "amend or adapt our menu to suit,when actually asked they all seem to fly back to the kitchen to see the CHEF.
Restaurants out there ,if you can do dietery food please print a menu ......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annoyed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    71
    47
    25
    21
See reviews for
66
51
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, West Lothian
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I live locally, and was looking for a venue for my wedding. I walked into the reception to ask about availabilty, cost etc, and was basically looked up and down by the receptionist when she eventually stopped her coversation with another staff member. Once she got a good eyeful, she handed me a brochure and continued her conversation. Needless to say, I decided against giving them my custom. I then went along to the Hilcroft Hotel in Whitburn with the same questions. The reception couldn't have been any different! The woman I spoke to seem genuinely excited for me, got the diary out, and went over available dates (pointing out the cheaper options as she had found out that it was a VERY big wedding, and cost was an issue).

Room Tip: Go to the Hilcroft Hotel along the road in Whitburn - far friendlier, helpful staff!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimPark198006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Not bad at all.
Allthough situated on a industrial area, the hotel has a nice ambiance and the rooms are comfortable and cosy. Beds are superb.
The staff is helpfull and nice.
The food is not as good as it could be. (Or should be...)
Menu's are almost the same every day, and often its cold and not very tastefull

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Only stayed 1 night in this hotel.
My room was clean and quiet, all the staff were pleasant and professional. Food and drinks were excellent and very reasonably priced.
Lovely place, only problem I had was accessing the property. Although I could see the hotel from the main road it took me three attempts at finding the entrance.
I would not hesitate staying here again if I am in this area.

Room Tip: Keep a look out for hotel when in area as not well signposted
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRC370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Cairn Hotel to attend my brother's Silver Wedding. Had horrendous journey up from the Midlands and reached hotel as it was getting dark. Rose on reception was a welcome sight and couldn't have done more for myself and my Mum. She's a lovely lady and true asset to the hotel. All the staff are friendly, chatty, pleasant and work very hard to make your stay special. Breakfast is very tasty and varied and the three course dinner on the Saturday night was excellent, lovely service and food was delicious but could not finish it as very full. Sticky toffee pudding was to die for, so if its a favourite, don't forget to try it as amazing!

Rooms on small side but very comfortable bed, exceptionally clean and good sized towels. I love cosy look in rooms but would have been nice to have option of brighter light in room to see what I'm doing when getting ready and could do with extra power point as only one for kettle, hair dryer and mobile chargers.

Would recommend this hotel as good value for money, very comfortable, lovely food and exceptionally nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justjoyce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights last week, and had thoroughly enjoyable stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Menu was varied and very, very reasonably priced, there was a 3 courses for £12 option!!! Hard to beat that!
Cost of the stay was also very reasonable, and would not hesitate to return.
The only possible negative I can offer, is the fact that it, although being a few miles from town, it is a fairly remote area on the edge of an industrial estate, so, if one wished to go out for the evening, would require taxis both ways. This was not an issue in my case, as was attending a wedding in the area, so, just required a base for the duration of the stay.
I would not be at all put off by this, and will undoubtedly return, as, my stay was most enjoyable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinerolo, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I went at Cairn Hotel for a short business trip in a single room. At first sight the room didn't seem sufficiently big but in the end was enough! Great foods and drinks at the restaurant that offers 3 courses menu at 12£! Very good and not so expensive! Free wifi in common areas and also in the rooms near the reception! I suggest this hotel for a business budget solution!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anetshesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Blackburn Road, Bathgate EH48 2EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Bathgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bathgate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cairn Hotel is centrally located between Glasgow and Edinburgh just off the M8. There is now a new Railway Station in Bathgate with direct links to Edinburgh and Glasgow. The 61 en suite bedrooms have all been tastefully decorated to a 3 star standard and combine traditional comfort with up to date facilities to make your stay a pleasurable and productive one. The hotel also offers free parking and houses a lounge, bar and restaurant where the friendly atmosphere makes for a relaxed and casual dining experience. As soon as you arrive at the Cairn Hotel the staff will strive to meet your every feasible wants and needs with a friendly and courteous approach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Bathgate, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing