We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely, welcoming, gorgeous holiday home.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Smarhus Cottage

Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way Living area onto garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Cottage frontage
Cottage drive way
Living area onto garden
Living area
Kitchen/dining area
Kitchen/dining area
Hall
Double bedded room
Soaps & towels
Twin bedded room
Welcome hamper
Shower room
Living area onto deck
Decked area
Cottage from garden
Decked area from garden
Cottage drive way and private parking
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jane08088...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely, welcoming, gorgeous holiday home.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We received a wonderful welcome at Smarhus Cottage from Andrew and Evelyn. They had added many thoughtful touches to their beautiful cottage. It is peaceful, cosy, spotless and very comfortable indeed. It is very handy for visiting Edinburgh and Glasgow. We have already booked again. We loved it here!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady4Lunc...
Aberdeenshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect home from home”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We received a lovely warm welcome from Andrew and Evelyn. They were really helpful and took time to show us around the cottage, explaining where to find everything and how to operate things which meant we settled in very quickly. They have thought of everything with lovely little touches that make a difference. The property is absolutely spotless and is a real credit to them - the photos on the website don't do it justice. It's set in a lovely peaceful location and we were delighted to see deer in the grounds in the morning and evening much to the excitement of our little boy! Just wish we could have stayed longer but hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was just perfect!
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford Suffolk UK
Reviewed September 1, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Far superior to most cottages
Liked least: Mattress too firm (this is matter of individual taste)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ann b
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“5 Star Cottage”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This cottage is the most beautiful place to stay. We stayed for 3 weeks. So clean and relaxing. Andrew and Evelyn could not be any more accomodating if they tried. Easy access to trains to all cities. Close to all ammenities. I recommend this cottage to anyone who likes being spoilt with everything this home has to offer. You will not find any better place to stay whilst in Scotland.
Thank you for making our trip very enjoyable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything it had to offer
Liked least: no faults. it would be impossible to find any
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VixsB
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quiet location in a lovely setting with only a short distance to amenities.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay for our week in May. The property was very clean and had everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Small touches such as washing up liquid and sandwich bags made all the difference. We had a lovely hamper waiting for us on arrival. Beds were very comfortable, lots of towels. The wif-fi connection was good and stable. The location was lovely and quiet with views of the farmland and wooded areas surrounding the property. Although it seemed off the beaten track we were only a few minutes from the closest town and supermarkets. We found this was a really good place in which to explore the surrounding areas and Edinburgh. We caught the train To Edinburgh from Bathgate which has free parking. Also places such as Falkirk weren't very far away. We would really recommend this to anyone wishing to be close to Edinburgh but without the hustle and buslte of the city. The owners were lovely and introduced themselves on the last day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: We had no issues.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting.Peace and quiet yet near to edinburgh.Underfloor heating
Liked least: I only booked a week wish it could of been longer!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
montydog6...
central scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean & cosy comfort in a peaceful setting”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We were extremely well looked after and welcomed to Andrew & Evelyn's lovely cottage, which was well appointed and had great views. The cottage is in a perfect setting to catch Glasgow/Edinburgh/Stirling & Falkirk easily, with St Andrews and the trossachs also within easy reach.
A very handy home from home

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean & comfortable
Liked least: weather!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$148
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing