We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing haven.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Goose Cottage

Goose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Goose Cottage
Living / dining area with arched window facing West Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Goose Cottage
Living / dining area with arched window facing West
Second bedroom
Living / dining area
Living / dining area with window to private garden
Living / dining area
Woodburning stove
Main bedroom
Shower room
Kitchen
Private enclosed garden
Goose cottage from garden
Views to Edinburgh from both bedrooms
Private enclosed garden
Fields surrounding the steading
Fire guard for young children on request
Winter 2010 in the surrounding countryside
View from the bedrooms in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bathgate, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Caroline...
Hopwas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Relaxing haven.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Stayed here recently for a week and used as a base for the Fringe Festival. We were always so glad to get back to the peace and quiet of Goose Cottage after the hustle and bustle of the city.The cottage itself was very clean and had everything you needed.The homebaked scones on arrival and welcome pack were most welcome! The beds and pillows were so comfy too. The owner Lisa was on hand if we had had any probs but didn't need to trouble her. All in all I would highly recommend it .Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style of property
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2012
Hi,

Thank you so much for your positive review. I'm really glad you had a great stay and hope that if you are in the area again you'll come back !

Kind Regards,

Lisa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick_Burt...
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed October 3, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

This is definitely the cleanest holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. Off the beaten track but very convenient for exploring Edinburgh and its environs as it is fairly close to arterial roads and only 5 minutes from local train station.

We were greeted with a spotlessly clean cottage, a home baked cake for our stay (baked that day), a hospitality basket containing local produce and a comfortable bed with cotton bedlinen and lovely fluffy white towels. The cottage was quiet and comfortable and we slept like logs every night. It also has a small enclosed garden to the rear which would be very safe for children.

Lisa McAleese, the owner was very helpful and hospitable and we would recommend this cottage very highly - you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoelmond
Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Weston5
Weston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic home from home, child friendly, stunning views and very peaceful.”
Reviewed June 23, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
9
people found this review helpful

Goose Cottage is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean, the downstairs comprises a spacious open plan lounge/dining and kitchen area with wood burning stove and access to an enclosed rear garden. It is equipped with everything you could need - truly a home away from home.

The bedrooms provide fantastic views over the neighbouring fields and on a clear day it is possible to see Arthur's Seat in the distance (the beds are also the most comfortable we have ever slept in).

We spoke to the owner a few days before arrival and she suggested that we order our groceries online from a nearby supermarket and offered to take in the delivery for us - on arrival our shopping had already been unpacked and we also had help unloading our luggage from the car (a lovely welcome after a long drive).

We stayed with our 15 month old son and found the property to be very child friendly, a stair gate had been fitted for us and there was a high chair available. We could even fit his baby bath in the large shower unit!

Gazing out of the windows on both sides of the property makes you feel like you are set alone in your own little wilderness. Staying at Goose Cottage gives you the best of both worlds, you can relax in it's rural location and still be within easy reach of Edinburgh. We can recommend parking at nearby Uphall Station and catching a train into the city centre, parking is free and the return train fare is around £5, much less stressful than driving and having to park.

We can't praise this property enough and will definately be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter F
2 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Great to hear you had a wonderful week and were happy with the cottage. I hope to see you again in the future. Thanks for your review !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing