We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!,, please read.”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Livingston B&B and Inns
edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never again!,, please read.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Livingston inn at the weekend for 1 night only.....thank god!!!!
Booked online as it looked like a nice place.
Got to the "Inn" ....yes it looks like it may have been a good place once...... 50 years ago!
The car park looks like a council estate car park.
The entrance is poorly lit & very shabby.
The receptionist was on the phone to somebody for 15 minutes while we stood like lemons in the foyer.
Then eventually checked us in.
Room 7 double with an ensuite. Got to the room to find the window held open with an empty plastic water bottle.
Window blinds that had no cords to pull them down.
Had a look at the bed covers to see brown stains on the duvet cover, the sheets looked like they had been on the bed all week!
The ensuite bathroom was very shabby.shower head hanging of the wall, glass screen nearly falling of the wall.
Towel rail with bits missing, silicone seal around the bath absolutely disgusting.
2 hand Towels that had been washed recently as still smelled of detergent!
Flat screen TV that was on the wrong wall....at the side of the bed not at the end??
We didn't eat dinner as we were going to a party locally.
Breakfast was hilarious. Served between 0830-0930 said the receptionist the night before
Went down at 0910 to find all the set tables taken so sat at en empty table for at least 15 minutes before we were offered 2 place mats 2 napkins & cutlery each. Then asked by the young & obviously very inexperienced waiter if we would like a full breakfast each,yes please but no mushrooms......
The table with orange juice, milk & cereal was at the entrance to the room but no glasses or orange juice available.
We sat for 20 minutes before the waiter brought us 2 mugs & saucers & asked if we wanted tea. No offers coffee?
We asked for some orange juice & it duly arrived but there was only one las left so we shared.
There were 10 other people in the room & we thought they had all eaten. The waiter appeared 10 minutes later with 2 plates, brought them to us & we noticed there were mushrooms so we said there not ours, he then proceeded to wander around the other 5 tables asking if they had ordered the full breakfast. Eventually he found the "owners"!!
While waiting you could clearly hear a microwave going on & off in the kitchen.
He the arrived with another plate that the recipient asked has this been microwaved...".no all freshly cooked"
He eventually arrived with 2 plastic tea pots & proceeded to pour 2 Luke warm cups of tea. No sugar or milk on the table & no instructions as to where it might be hiding!!
We then realised that all the other people in the room were al waiting for their breakfast!
One guy asked for some toast & the waiter took it off another vacated table & handed it to the guy!!!!! WTF!
Ours & everyone else's breakfasts arrived within 2 minutes of each other & the same story, the poor young waiter walking round asking who wanted what!,
The couple behind asked for more tea & were blessed with the reply " we're waiting for the kettle to boil"!
They also asked if there was any more margarine to which the reply was"I'll have a look but not sure where it might be hiding"
The atmosphere in the room was comical with guest looking at each other making faces, eyes rolling etc.
The "Chef" appeared from the kitchen & my first impression was is that "Stig of the dump" he looked filthy.
To be fair the young waiter did say there was only home & the Chef on that morning & apologised for the delay.
The management ( if there is any) really need. To get a grip of the place or it will close down. Very short staffed, cleanliness & maintenance clearly lackin.
Never again will I set foot close to the place & I suggest you don't either.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nizooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    12
    12
    33
See reviews for
15
27
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place was the worst b&b I have ever experienced.

To start with the outside of the building looks very tatty, hanging baskets with weeds growing in them and dead plants, signs needing to be realigned as they're wonky, cladding falling off the walls etc. But the restaurant didn't look too bad so we thought it might be ok.

We were wrong. Part of the ceiling is falling off as you head up the stairs to the rooms, the light in the hall was broken so we had to walk in darkness to our room. We had requested an early checkin and were told thus was fine, however our room was not ready and a girl came walking in without knocking and said that the room wasn't ready so we were asked to give her 15 mins. We did and found clean linen had been put on the bed (which was falling apart).

However this did not make up for the horrendous room. It clearly had not been fitted out since the 70s or 80s. The fitted wooden headboard had turned white due to age and the chrome fittings were all tarnished or rusty and had cobwebs. The walls had been painted magnolia in an attempt to modernise however they had just painted over the wallpaper and border underneath. The tv was flat screen but was held stable on the wall by a water bottle shoved behind it so it didn't fall off.

Nothing in the bathroom had been fitted properly, towel rail and toilet roll holder etc were all loose. There were yellow stains down the back of the door, round the bottom of the shower had clearly not been cleaned for some time as there was a lot of dust and hairs. The extractor fan just went to a hole in the roof and I presume because the rain had been allowed to fall onto the fan it didn't work so the bedroom steamed up a lot when the shower was used.

The worst part was that our window didn't shut. The handle had broken and therefore it was totally insecure and as it was first floor it really wouldn't have been hard for someone to climb in. How any place can hire out a room like that is entirely beyond me.

I did wonder whether some of the rooms were being refurbished but after hearing some of the other guests at breakfast i don't think this is the case.

I asked for toast at breakfast and got some made from bread that clearly went stale days ago.

I have to say the staff were very friendly and helpful but I seriously get the impression that this was out of pity as they knew what our rooms were like. This place needs closing down for a complete refurb especially as the pictures of rooms on various websites show clean modern rooms.

My advice is to avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misskiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livingston hotels

scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at Livie inn on Saturday 3rd august 2013 ,in room three ,pane of glass held in by nails no putty. The shower curtain was filthy. Ran out of orange juice at breakfast on sunday and the butter jam was shared between six tables. Place could do with a good makeover .

Room Tip: Do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here on 20th July 2013 for 2 nights, on our arrival we were greeted by Terri, who was the most helpful person I ever met in this industry. She checked us in straight away and told us about a beautiful farm/adventure playground place just around the corner, which we went to that afternoon. My daughter had a fantastic afternoon there.

We had dinner, which was really lovely and was served by a very nice young man who couldn't do anymore to help us enjoy out lovely meal.

We slept very well in our wonderfully clean room...the bed was extremely comfortable. Our breakfast was really lovely, we went for the 'fry up' option but could of had anything we wanted. The breakfast was yummy! And so much of it!

I could not recommend the livingston inn more! And I will be returning at the next opportunity!

Thank you so much for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisabarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed her on the night of the 7th June, booked a meal in the restaurant for 6 of us, it was the most attrocious service i have ever received in my life, the food was cold when it finally arrived on cold plates served by a poor guy who had clearly had no training. We were informed that there would e a delay in our meals arriving as the chef was so busy!! Only 2 other couples in the restaurant!! we weren't in a hurry so it wasn't really a problem untill we had finished our meals and the same guy came to clear our dishes, scrappe food from one plate to another on the table and manged to stab my daughter whose birthday it was with a steak knife and then said we couldn't have dessert because the kitchen was now closed!!! I Complained to the manager about the poor service, cold food and delays and was told the kitchen was not closed and we could have desserts! These then took another 20 minutes to arrive and weren't great either, despite my disappointment with the meal noting was deducted from the bill we were in fact still charged for a starter that we had to send back because it was in edible!! My advice.....don't go here its rubbish

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Arrived on Saturday am with a large group, all good and staff friendly enough. Stopped in apartment anex and the room was very large and bed really comfortable, but a bit sparse no toiletreys etc Black marks on bed sheet and no lock on the toilet door, good job we could all sing in the party. Breakfast was ok but no dishes for cerials, beans cold but everything else ok. Dining room had hosted a party the night before and the floor was littered with bits of food etc. The hotel is a lovely place in a great location. The owners just need to give it a bit of TLC and motivate the staff to deliver excellent service instead of average service and this place could be a gold mine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickHughes1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been here twice with work colleagues for lunch. Very friendly- can't do enogh for you. They do soup and sandwich for £5 - so much food. Chips etc are amazing. Very very good pric e for the quality of food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkSleepyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
1.4 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.9 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 2 Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a old listed building were the rooms vary from single to double rooms, no twin rooms available, As the building is listed we have not been able to increase any of the rooms sizes however we feel the rooms are adequate in size and are a bargain at £50 per night including breakfast. All rooms have ensuite within time along with TV's and are all very comfortable. We have a restaurant on site offering a excellent array of foods and wines along with our bar area also which has all live football on our BT sports and Sky package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livingston Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing