We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant excellent - rooms cramped and poorly cleaned”
Review of The Livingston Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Livingston Inn
Ranked #6 of 7 Livingston B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Restaurant excellent - rooms cramped and poorly cleaned”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I feel as if we stayed in a different hotel to some of the other reviewers. We paid the normal rate for two rooms 1 dbl+ 1 sgl for one night. the dbl rm had a 4ft bed pushed against the wall: it was really a sgl room with a 4ft bed. The cleaning besides and below the lavatory had not been carried out I would suggest for weeks - mould growing on the damp feminine hygene bags. The single room was a good size but towels were all very shabby and the decor clean but tired. I complained but the owner wasn't on site and no one seemed to care having taken our money. The food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced although the service was amateurish - this on a Saturday evening in high season. Would not stay again.

Room Tip: If you wan't a dbl don't let them give you Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshiretraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    12
    12
    33
See reviews for
15
27
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The restuarant and the staff in the restaurant and reception staff were excellent. The room was clean but very basic and the single bed was very uncomfortable with a thin duvet.

I went down for breakfast, no bowls for cereal, no juice, no tea or coffee, I was offered a cooked breakfast but not offered toast or tea or coffee and I suspect some of the breakfast items were reheated in a microwave (pet hate of mine)

I cannot grumble at the price but it would have nice to have been explained how breakfast works as all other extablishments seem to do

Shame as it has the potential to be a cracking pub/resturant with accommodation

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Livingston hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My partner and myself stayed for 3 nights in August. I specified a twin room which I was given. However, this was in an annexe, which in itself was no problem, but the room did not have an en-suite. No other guests were staying in the annexe so we had sole use of the shower and toilet. The room itself did not have a wardrobe and there was not one to be seen in the annexe. When we returned on the second night the beds had not been made up nor the room cleaned. Since it was raining I did not complain until the morning to be told that no member of the management would be there until later. The third night, the beds had been made but the bathroom not touched. Wet towels were still there. I complained to reception and fresh towels were provided. Again, no management available. Since our return three E-mails have been sent and I have not had the courtesy of even an acknowledgement!!!!

Room Tip: Best tip. Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This hotel entrance is in the back of the hotel with steps leading down to the front door. They are not lit and my husband tripped over a small step which could have been extremely harmful. Luckily he knew how to fall and therefore saved himself serious injury - just cuts and bruises. He is 80 years old and the shock could have been fatal. Our relatives had to wake up another guest to let us in to the hotel as there was no emergency number and no one on call. The Manager did not even apologise but left explanations to his staff. THE STEPS TO THE ENTRANCE NEED TO BE LIT

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Me and my husband stay on the 30th of June! The owners lovley! The room perfect for the price! No insects of anything that has been discribed by other people! The staff friendly and extremely helpful! They had a disco the night of our stay and not a sound could be heard from it when we entered out room! On our stay was the first night of there new menu! We had 4 dishes in total and let me tell you they were OUTSTANDING!!!! What a great night great food people place and great prices!!! Would 100% book again and I have no idea where these complains are from did u stay in a different hotel of something???thanks again Livi inn!! Cayleighb@hotmail.com! Xx

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wmcblm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband whilst visiting family, rooms clean but a bit worn, take your own towels, those provided must be at least ten years old. The shower was ok until the dishwasher was turned on, which we could hear, as we were above the kitchen. Leave your car out front as the car park out back is a bit rough with broken glass everywhere. Hotel advertised as including breakfast served 8.30 to 10 on a weekend, we went down at 9am nobody about and the breakfast room locked, we waited half an hour then gave up and went else where. We did get breakfast the next day which was good, the young girl serving was the only the 2nd member of staff we saw all weekend, we think we were the only guests on the first night and unless staff sleep in, the only people in the building, which is probably why we got no breakfast
Overall, we we stay there again, NO

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We booked this for a cheap one night stay to break a journey. It was extremely competitively priced but the rooms were clean, comfortable and pretty spacious. In the quiet Livingston Village (not the New Town) it looks like it would be nice in the summer months, an oldy worldy looking Inn.
Staff were pleasant and helpfull.
We will definitely go back to the resaurant, the evening meal we had was absolutely spot on. A Well done steak without a hint of pink and it was still juicy enough to melt in your mouth, Cheesecake is home made and delicious. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order so was also really nice.
Don't be fooled by the budget price, We have stayed in a lot worse 3 star hotels. I suspect this hotel is not clasified as they don't need to pay the agencies that manage the star rating, they propbably get a lot of repeat custom.

Room Tip: Our room had an adjoining room which was locked from our side so if you were a family you could open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gusngazesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
1.4 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
1.0 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (Bathgate) Hotel
3.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bathgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
6.9 mi away
Norton House Hotel & Spa Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Livingston Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Livingston Inn

Property: The Livingston Inn
Address: 2 Main Street, Livingston EH54 7AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a old listed building were the rooms vary from single to double rooms, no twin rooms available, As the building is listed we have not been able to increase any of the rooms sizes however we feel the rooms are adequate in size and are a bargain at £50 per night including breakfast. All rooms have ensuite within time along with TV's and are all very comfortable. We have a restaurant on site offering a excellent array of foods and wines along with our bar area also which has all live football on our BT sports and Sky package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Livingston Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livingston Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing