We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A great value family outing

Three generations of our family visited on a Saturday. The 3 and 5 year olds loved it. Lots of... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
David K
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
A wonderful mix of history and FUN!

An outstanding place to take the kids for a fun / educational day - great value too. This place... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
O6325CBstevew
via mobile
Read all 514 reviews
  
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
324
145
31
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
324
145
31
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tractor ride soft play go karts sand pit bouncy castle farm animals entrance fee all ages guinea pigs play area jelly belly great family day annual pass young children family ticket my son local history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Three generations of our family visited on a Saturday. The 3 and 5 year olds loved it. Lots of animals, lots of things to climb on, lots of slides, indoors and out. When the rain came there was plenty to do under cover. The museum was interesting and the drawing area was enjoyed by both our girls who liked that they could hang their "art" for others to see.

The food in the cafe was well prepared and reasonable in price. They allowed us to bring in the 3-year olds birthday cake. The homemade soup was especially good. Though we meant to, there was so much to do that we never got around to the train and tractor ride.

Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An outstanding place to take the kids for a fun / educational day - great value too. This place has so much to offer - farm animals, trampolines, heritage buildings, shale mining museum, carting, flying fox, soft play center, riverside walks and more. Spent 6 hrs there that just went by so quickly - kids didn’t want to leave. Great cafe on site to enjoy lunch or snacks. A day of pure fun for the kids (and the grown ups too - highly recommend the Nutty Bouncer!)

Thank O6325CBstevew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always a great day out with the kids and now the grandkids. The kids always enjot it and find something of interest. Generally very good value if you have "friends" membership.

Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a chance to go here on a saturday with our children. Never seen this before and my three kids usually love farms. So a farm and play areas together is a good choice/combination. Cant comment on food as when we went to go in it was overbusy so no space and then looked at price and decided against it, next time will bring a picnic. Tractor ride was short and sweet but nothing else expecred for 50p kids enjoyed it and got to see the animals. Very clean place. Staff are really welcoming and helpful.

Thank NicholaH143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

Over all the kids had a great time. But if you want to see animals it's a bit or miss. But the kids didn't mind as the play areas was a lot of fun .

Thank Phoebe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

Took grandchildren age 7 and 5 weather was kind so had a fab day out. Very friendly professional staff who take time with the kids to explain what's going on. Kids had a ball go carts, static play trains, animals you could be interactive with, tractors to ride on. Took picnic, plenty space available. Kids loved trampoline pillow, huge area for bouncing on. If wet quite a few things to do indoors. Recommend wellies for kids and adults as muddy in some parts. All in all fab day.

Thank joycewoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

Went here for the first time today was really good the kids had a great time on the tractor ride and the train loved seeing all the animals and playing at the park and on the trampolines. Very well laid out was quite busy but didn’t feel overcrowded. Nice cafe with reasonable prices and the cakes were delicious! Noticed it’s dog friendly too which is a bonus!

Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Had a great day out here, spent about five hours wandering around and feeding the calves. My granddaughter absolutely loved it. Plenty to do and see and an excellent museum too. Super cafe, not too expensive either. Really lovely friendly helpful informative staff. Altogether a brilliant place to visit, and good value for money. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Thank Pinklepinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

Been twenty years since I’ve been so was very interested to see this now! Fascinating museum and obviously loads of outside space for exploring.

100% geared for children.

Thank stevencarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

I took my two boys here after not having been for a while. We all had a great time and spent at least 4 hours here seeing all the attractions and animals, including the maze. You can eat at the cafe or bring a picnic as there are plenty of spots to eat it. My boys had a great day out and enjoyed the museum. The loss of star is only because parts of the museum are no longer in use (the shop) or have become rather worn out. Whilst I appreciate not everyone comes here for the museum (my boys love museums), it shows how large a part mining was in West Lothian and I think that is important. Overall a great day out for all the family.

Thank Cazdanmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews