We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit Disappointing”

Almond Valley Heritage Centre
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-friendly museum on a peaceful riverside site with friendly farm animals, working watermill and interactive displays. Explore fields and woodland walks, join in daily demonstrations and activities, and let the kids go wild in playgrounds, pedal carts and trampolines. Take a trip by tractor, ride the narrow-gauge railway, explore the museum, or bounce around in the indoor soft play area. There is lots to see and do at Almond Valley indoors and out.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited on a sunny Saturday in March and although we had a good day overall thought the few things let it down. We had redeemed our Tesco clubcard points so it didnt actually cost us anything otherwise would have been very annoyed at entry price for what was actually included.

Positives
Well signposted and easy to find.
Museum was well laid out and interesting
Food in tearoom was good but pricey
Loads of things for kids to play on ie ground trampolines, sandpit, bouncy castle, air cushion
Good handwashing facilities dotted around site.

Negatives
Tearoom - just not big enough to cope with the numbers wanting to use it. I mean it was March and it was queued out so would hate to think what it would be like in the Summer. £17 for baked potato with chill, lentil soup, kids tuna sandwich, coffee and a scone. Bit on the pricey side and had rather a lengthy wait (25 minutes) for order. Took 15 minutes to stand in queue as only 1 person on till. Would have made more sense to have a queue for food orders and another for those just wanting to pay for bottled drinks etc

Softplay - There were birthday parties so softplay just looked jammed with parents and children.

Tractor ride - didnt seem to be running at all

Animals - 2 horses, 1 cow, 1 pig, geese, ducks, goats, chickens, guinea pigs and rabbits. Very disappointed as thought would have been more animals and more variety.

Toilets - All down at the main gate and tearoom and nothing further down the site so not good when LO needs toilet.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tomandjerryGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avht, General Manager at Almond Valley Heritage Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I'm really sorry that you were a bit disappointed by your visit to Almond Valley. The day of your visit was a glorious spring Saturday in early March when Almond Valley was exceptionally busy, and work was still ongoing to complete new facilities in time for Easter. These improvements for Easter will include a new catering kiosk that will cut down on the tearoom queues, and "Wings and Whiskers" a brand new small animal display building. A major extension to the tearoom will be constructed towards the end of this year, once the site gets quieter. I'm sorry that you seem to have missed the goats, donkeys, highland cattle and other animals that are resident on the farm site that extends for almost half a mile - we'll see if we can improve our signposting. So sorry again that you felt your visit was less than perfect, we're always working to extend and improve Almond Valley and welcome your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    115
    25
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fun for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We visited the centre whilst staying in Livingston for 2 days.
Museum itself offers information about our past and great exhibits.
Lots of friendly animals and staff polite and helpful.
A gem of a place - we will be returning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan186518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“a great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

There is so much to do here for children-animals, bouncy castle, tractor / trailer ride, train, giant sand pit, trampolines, ride-on tractors - and that's not all. Friendly staff and good child-friendly cafe. Annual family membership is great value

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnneLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fab day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfect for the kids fun for parents, the trampoline and the petting zoo is great. we all loved it so much we are hoing again .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mariana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun for all the family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Brilliant sunshine helped the whole family, including kids of varying ages, to enjoy an interesting, fun filled day for everyone. Good value, good shop and plenty areas to enjoy a picnic.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheelagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond Valley Heritage Centre also viewed

 
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to Almond Valley Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing