We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functioh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bankton House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Livingston B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel was nice and staff were friendly, however, we had a function there recently and were told the rule on miminum takings for the bar would not be enforced, until we went for our deposit to be returned, suddenly it was.

The function bar was dearer than the main bar and only had Tennants on draught! the person behind the bar then told guests to go to the other bar for any other drink (which does not contribute to your minimum spend of £800.00 for function)

We had to pay for the room (+ deposit) and higher bar prices, should have gone elsewhere where the room was free, then I wouldn't have minded the higher bar costs.

We also had to make sure the room was left clean, and spent most of the night clearing glasses/bottles etc from the tables when we were meant to be enjoying ourselves.

Friends who attended were shocked at the prices, £1.60 for soft drinks £1 for the smallest bottle of Fruit Shoot (available for approx £2 for six at your local supermarket!)

I nor my friends will be back and our Christmas get together will now be somewhere else!

Best yet, our kids were told to keep the noise down for the residents, despite the disco blasting so loud you could hardly hear each other.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Liveurlifeb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renata r, Manager at Bankton House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

With any function higher facility within hotel’s there is a minimum cost that has to be in place, although we always try to be as flexible as possible in accommodating different budgets and requirements
Our function higher facilities within our hotel cater for up to 120 persons with a minimum booking of 80 persons/Bar takings, were the hall deposit can only be waived.
Due to the very low guest number attending your function, and the very low bar takings the deposit cost could not be waived unfortunately.
When choosing the self-catering tariff instead of our Buffet Function tariff, (were all would have been taken care of leaving guests nothing to do but enjoy their evening), it is generally a standard condition within any establishment, (as per our T&C) that when choosing to do the buffet yourselves that all setting/clearing must be done, as it is, as the term implies a ‘self-catering’ buffet,
The price differences of any beverage between a hotel / function establishment for an evening out or entertainment to a supermarket cannot possible be compared.
As the hotel has different facilities which also include our accommodation, the function area taking in the left hand wing of the hotel, self-contained away from the accommodation part of the hotel, we have to respect the enjoyment of all our guests, and where noise levels must be controlled (for the comfort of our residents), as were the children on this evening, which I am sure can be appreciated as to why they were asked to keep the noise down in the foyer of the hotel where the accommodation is directly above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay there and will be happy to come again.
Nice clean room, friendly service great location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orkneyaloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Came across this hotel by chance , directed by a local on my search for a room for the evening.Staff were very helpful and accommodating , room was to a great standard both in cleanliness and comfort, that i have stayed in a while , and a great comfy bed, well worth the £79.00 .
The lounge bar had a great friendly atmosphere, went fab with my fillet steak and a glass of wine. Breakfast was great more than enough and defiantly not over priced at £7.00 , and the gardens are stunning , sitting with my coffee in the morning sun . birds wild life , fantastic spot not a road to be seen great start to my day, I can't believe the reviews of Ali & Cathinia were did you stay ??????????? , I'm amazed! As nothing in your reviews related to the stay i had, and I'm so glad I didn't read them before I stayed, as I would have missed out on a great find, just goes to show you can't believe everything you read'
I loved the age of the building and country surroundings, perfect , home from home. Would defiantly recommend it, and will defiantly be back'... loved 'The bankton House'
Take it from me and put this place on your radar as it's defiantly worth visit'
Great find! Don't miss out well worth a stay! .

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Hotel is tucked away nicely and close to most amenities in Livingston. The Livingston South rail station is nearby so it is handy for visiting both Edinburgh and Glasgow without the hassle of busy city accomodation.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building are a good size and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We have stayed here a number of times now and it is a great place to stay. Warm friendly staff (and locals) , good bar, great food ( dont leave without trying the steak pie!), clean tidy rooms, and what a great location!!! You can be in the centre of Ediburgh in 17 mins from the trainstation 5 min walk away or Glasgow in 50mins. Livingston also has the most amazing shopping centre which is 5 mins taxi ride from the Bankton House Hotel. Like i have already said we have stayed here a number of times and cannot fault this hotel. I would happily recommend this place to anyone, regardless of whether it is a short break holiday or using it as a base to travel further afield in central Scotland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LEE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

beautiful surroundings very friendly,(home for home)
high standard of cleanliness. we will recommed

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ge0rge1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

On arrival no biscuits on tea tray, kettle flex... too short in room only enough milk for 1 hot drink each, no shower gel, continental quilt all torn, When anyone went to the toilet through the night or a shower the plumbing was extremly noisy Breakfast was very very basic, for amount of money paid, no fresh fruit or yogurt offered, a 1/4 of a tomatoe on our plate,1 sausage,2 pieces of bacon, 1 egg some beans, toast cheapest white& brown bread and it was cold All this for £14.00?? Certainly not worth £112.00, Very disappointing, not value for money AVOID AT ALL COSTS Have paid less at other hotels and got more from my money.

Room Tip: Avoid if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank drummerboyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livingston
0.8 mi away
Mercure Livingston
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
567 reviews
2 mi away
Livingston Lodge Hotel
Livingston Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in Livingston
65 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Houstoun House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Livingston
Travelodge Livingston
#2 of 4 in Livingston
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chain Runner by Marston's Inns
3 mi away
Premier Inn Livingston (M8, Jct3) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankton House Hotel

Address: Muireston, Livingston EH54 9AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Livingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Livingston
Price Range: $89 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bankton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The picturesque charm of Bankton House Hotel is not easy to define. Set within its own grounds, linking directly to the foot paths and cycle routes of Murieston waters, the country settings can be easily enjoyed by its guests and visitors.The stately Georgian architecture imbues a feeling of elegance and style while the grounds that surround the hotel insulate it from the day to day, fostering a peaceful ambiance; especially benefiting those city commuters seeking B&B in relaxed accommodation with en-suite rooms that draw in the peace and tranquility of its settings through their Georgian windows adding too each, in their uniqueness, of luxury and comfort. With the cities of Edinburgh & Glasgow a 20 minute train ride away, makes this ideal lodgings, after a day in the hustle and bustle of the city, with the Livingston South railway link only a short 2 minute walk from the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bankton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankton House Hotel Livingston, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing