We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service, good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lime Kiln

The Lime Kiln
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Livingston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Lime Kiln is a child- friendly licensed restaurant, right across from Livingstons designer shopping outlet. We have a large capacity dining area, a bar area, outside dining area,a childs outdoor playarea, and Tots TV room to keep the kids happy. Our menu has a wide and varied selection of meals to suit all tastes, as well as a number of deals to suit all budgets! These include: 2 main meals for £9.95 all day every day, Fish night on a Wednesday, Grill night on a Thursday, Fajita Friday and our popular Sunday Roast deals.We can cater for large parties- if you have an occasion coming up then please contact us about our special occasion tables or if you would like to organise a set menu or a buffet.We look forward to seeing you soon!
east lothian
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly service, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

we visited here on the 27th april for dinner and on the 28th for breakfast. my mum and i had the steak pie which was beautiful,a bit on the small side but enough for us, my partner had the fish which came with 3 large pieces, kids menu was great. there was a group of 10 adults and 6 kids for breakfast on the sunday, adults ordered the big breakfast which was a bit misleading cos it wasnt very big by any means, the haggis was hard as itd been microwaved, filled a hole but the men ended up eating the kids leftovers as they were still hunger, we were overcharged for a round of toast which was missing from the big breakfasts but was clarified quickly with the waitress. bit pricey too

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jambosarah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    123
    95
    106
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you're looking for a nice family lunch out, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE TO GO! Myself and my partner ordered the steak pie and when we got it it was disgusting! Congealed gravy with two pieces of steak in soggy pastry! Needless to say we returned it, the second attempt was no better, more steak but the same disgusting congealed gravy and soggy pastry, this time it was returned and asked for it not to be attempted again, the manager was worse than useless, no attempt to make us happy, had the cheek to allow us to pay for the rest of the food and we left hungrier than when we went in. Extremely poor customer service will never step foot inside this excuse for a restaurant again! Should have know since we had went two previous times for breakfast and they had none of the breakfast items, they need to take a good look at themselves!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lime_Kiln, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review, I believe that you also emailed us with your complaint on Sunday, one of our managers is currently investigating your complaint and will be in touch with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Staff Fabulous, food, all wrong.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Never been to Livingstone before and needed a place to have lunch. Came across The Lime Kiln and since it looked inviting we decided to give it a try. Charlotte our server was a complete joy, nothing was too much trouble. However, two of the three meals we ordered we had to send back. It was the omelettes with baked potatoes. The potatoes were brick hard. They were returned to our table after about ten minutes with the omelettes re heated. The potatoes were still rock hard. We sent them back for a second time and the same result, returned to our table still rock hard. Charlotte was very apologetic and said we could have a discount. £4 discount was forthcoming. Not a lot when you consider that two of the meals were not fit for eating, and indeed were not eaten to any extent. The omelettes by the third visit to our table were burnt. Our advice to the management of the Lime Kiln is this. When a meal is sent back to the kitchen, don't reheat it two times in the hope it will get better. Re do the order. With an alternative ordered if required. We will not be back and I hope the good people of Livingston complain until The Lime Kiln gets it right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Golgamesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lime_Kiln, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to leave feedback, both here and on our customer survey, my apologies that you felt that the complaint wasn't dealt with properly at the time, we have since put actions in place to rectify the issues with the baked potatoes, and we hope that you change your mind and do decide to return to The Lime Kiln
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bit Hit or Miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Have had quite nice meals here but have also has some really dire ones. Have twice had meal for free due to length of tome awaiting service

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brand63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Lime_Kiln, Manager at The Lime Kiln, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thankyou for your review. We appreciate you have recognised that there have been enjoyable visits to the Lime Kiln, and any issues that have occured have been rectified and not put you off coming back to dine with us. We look forward to seeing you at The Lime Kiln soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Long Wait for a terrible meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was looking forward to a good fish dinner in the above restaurant,after taking our drinks order it took 20 min this was after reminding them, the restaurant was not busy, when also had to ask how long was the food going to take, this was going on for 40 min since the order, when it cam it was like a plate of batter, put me off fish for a long time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tictac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lime Kiln also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Armadale, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Been to The Lime Kiln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing