We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of China Glen - CLOSED

China Glen
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
misselliejay
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

After reading some of the reviews on here I feel I need to stand up for this place.

We travel though here to eat and have loved it every time. We went today. Staff were friendly and the food was great. Especially loved the sausages which melt in your mouth and the noodles, orange chicken, onion rings. Everything! The cakes have lush soft icing too.

We went up for seconds and thirds on the buffet and every time we went more food had been added to the hot plates. We went in at around 3pm. It was busy and everyone looked happy.

Never had a problem with china glen and even my very fussy child loves it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank misselliejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    18
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A poor excuses for a Chinese restaurant.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

A poor meal. Selection of buffet poor and most things tasted the same. Staff were friendly and made a fuss of the grandchildren. Will not go back and would not recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“poor quality”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

drab decor poor service and even worse cold and stodgy food. in a busy location but needs to pay more attention to the quality of food offered.. noisy party and loud swearing at an adjacent table completely ignored by management

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

been here many times when we visit Livingstone, good value, good choice, pleasant staff and good service, roughly £8 for buffet up till 5pm I think, only thing i would change is the way the icecream is served as it is just put out in tubs so can be melted quite a bit by the time you get to it, otherwise top marks, think it is slightly dearer at night for buffet. top tip for owner invest in icecream machine.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank letitia114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This was crap”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Tried it once and wont be back. Cheap food and not that hot. Should have realised that when I went in there was only one other table being used. They have about 50 tables. Very good location though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank findals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Glen also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Livingston, West Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing