We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful host, lovely views”
Review of Tigh na Mara

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh na Mara
Ranked #2 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently. We had the the room with twin beds. The views were lovely. There is a nice enclosed porch where one can sit and enjoy the evening it the weather is inclement. Florence is a lovely lady and she made sure we had plenty to eat, especially as we are vegetarians. Certainly a great value for the money and a nice place to stay. One note: bathrooms are shared by the folks renting the three rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evanstonwallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

I couldn't have asked for more from the delightful Mr and Mrs Flora Morrison. Arriving on a push bike in heavy rain (quite common around these islands it seems...) I got a bit lost - hint for future travellers, it is not where google maps says it is - and phoned for help. Lo and behold, Mr Morrison came out and stood in the road - in the pouring rain - to ensure I could find them. As soon as I arrived, Flora let me drip in their conservatory whilst she took my wet waterproofs etc and dried them overnight. They also have a large shed for bikes.

My single room was on the small side, however guests did have use of a lounge downstairs. The homemade cake on the bedside table was very welcome though - much more so than the normal pack of biscuits you may get! The view out of the window over the Loch was fantastic. Tigh Na Mara is in a very quiet area so I slept well and finished off with a delicious breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimneyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We were very happy to find a room in Tarbert on such short notice at this time of the year. Particularly so, as it was at the Tigh Na Mara that was recommended by the Rough Guide to Scotland. And it was a very nice place to stay at indeed. When our friendly hostess showed us our room we were pleasantly surprised by two pieces of cake next to the kettle. The view from our room was excellent. The B&B is in easy walking distance of the harbour. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_und_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I spent three very comfortable nights with Mrs Flora Morrison at Tigh na Mara.

The bedrooms are compact but comfortable and scrupulously clean. We spent one night in a twin without facilities and two in an ensuite family room and were very happy with both. There is a residents' lounge and Mrs Morrison is relaxed about guests being in during the day, which is real help in bad weather.

We had huge Scottish breakfasts each day and were treated to slices of home made cake in our room each evening.

All in all, a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcdodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived on an early ferry. We were tired, hungry, and needed to wash our clothes. We merely inquired if it would be possible to drop off our things before heading into town for some food. Mrs Flora invited us in and before we knew it she had interrupted her usual schedule, reset the dining room for breakfast, offered us a hearty meal, and proceeded to wash our laundry. Our two short days in cozy Tigh-na-Mara were some of the best in our journey through the Outer Hebrides and we recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank postmechanical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed for just one night. Our room was clean with a good sized window and view of the sea. Breakfast was good with plenty of tea and coffee available. Location was excellent, easy walking distance from the ferry terminal. We headed to the Harris Inn for a drink, which again was local. Decor slightly old worldy but this added to the charm and character of the place. Based on price, I would rate that as reasonable, as we did not have an en suite and it was almost the same price as other B&Bs that we stayed in our visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whereshallwego2next?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Tigh Na Mara it's an excellent place to be in quiet and peaceful Tarbert. Mrs Flora gives you a kind welcome and a treatment with a flavour of yesteryear that fits perfectly with the place. Our room was nice and spacious, with a suitable bathroom and fantastic views. Lounge and dining room are fine, with great views to the coast, as is a lovely veranda on the entrance. Breakfast is good, and you'll find every day a delicious homemade cake in your room. Finally, Mrs Flora's husband was very kind and took us in his car to the ferry station. Only con : as usual in many other B&B in Scotland, here you will find a fitted carpet that could be a problem depending on your hygienic standards. Anyway, a place to recommend if you want to stay some days in wonderful Harris.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Titulcius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tarbert hotels
0 mi away
Ceol na Mara Guest House
0 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
519 reviews
0 mi away
Harris Hotel
Harris Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tarbert
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh na Mara

Address: Tarbert HS3 3DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris > Tarbert
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Mara Tarbert, Isle Of Harris, The Hebrides

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing